MYSTERY

The Falling Woman

Algonquin. May 2020. 336p. ISBN 9781616208578. $26.95. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
DEBUT National Transportation Safety Board investigator Charlie Radford gets his big break investigating the explosion of a passenger jet mid-flight over Kansas. But rumors of a lone survivor—the falling woman—might undermine his success. Erin Geraghty receives surprisingly good news about her cancer treatment, but cheating death—or at least postponing it—has not left her as elated as one might expect and she leaves her family to spend time at a cancer survivor retreat to think about her options. When she cheats death a second time by surviving a plane crash, she decides not to be found, and to die in peace. As Charlie seeks the truth, Erin works hard to avoid it. But maybe the two have more in common than they realize.
VERDICT Former pilot Farrell’s skillfully written story of hope, love, and regret contemplated amid a fast-paced, high-pressure major airline accident investigation will appeal to readers who enjoyed Michael Crichton’s Airframe, Gregg Hurwitz’s The Survivor, and Noah Hawley’s Before the Fall.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?