LAW & CRIME

The Falcon Thief: A True Tale of Adventure, Treachery, and the Hunt for the Perfect Bird

S. & S. Feb. 2020. 336p. ISBN 9781501191886. $26. CRIME
COPY ISBN
Hammer (The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu) here documents the twin lives of a criminal egg thief and smuggler and the officer from the National Wildlife Crime Unit destined to capture him. Hammer explores the illegal global falcon egg trade and the thrill-seeking opportunists willing to provide eggs to the highest bidder. His writing style is gripping and fast-paced, but never short on facts and accuracy. The narrative follows enigmatic Jeffrey Lendrum, from his youth snatching eggs in Zimbabwe to cliffs in Wales, providing the air of an adventure story to this true crime narrative. Officer Andy McWilliam applies his precise knowledge of birds and their eggs with surgical accuracy while compiling the case against Lendrum; he feels like the real-life equivalent of a subject specialist on shows such as Bones or CSI.
VERDICT This stranger-than-fiction story is as engrossing as a fast-paced action-adventure, and is sure to hold the attention of a variety of readers. Fans of Jennie Erin Smith’s Stolen World or Craig Welch’s Shell Games will be piqued.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month