SFF

The Dark Above

St. Martin’s. (Darkest Time of Night, Bk. 2). Jul. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9781250147288. $27.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250147295. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
This follow-up to Finley’s The Darkest Time of Night continues the alien abduction story of William Chance and his grandmother Lynn Roseworth. It’s been 15 years since Lynn brought young William home to safety, but the alien enemy is still out there, and the emotional scars and family rifts have not healed. Clunky exposition rehashes family drama, but when the true nature of the power William and others who have been taken reveals itself, the nail-biting adventure begins, resulting in an exciting race to save endangered innocents full of hairpin turns. Some key characters from the first novel, especially William’s extended family, are underdeveloped here, but William and his fellow abductees are captivating, responding to supernatural events with fully realized emotions and motivations.
VERDICT Fans of Justin Cronin’s The Passage, TV’s Stranger Things, and all versions of Stephen King’s IT will want to sit under summertime stars to binge this quick read. Any teen or adult fan of sf thrillers will enjoy this story, although they may want to read the first installment before jumping in.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.