MYSTERY

The Cats Came Back

Berkley Prime Crime. (Magical Cats, Bk. 10). Sept. 2018. 304p. ISBN 9780399584596. $24; ebk. ISBN 9780399584602. M
COPY ISBN
Librarian Kathleen Paulson's cats, Hercules and Owen, are so well known in the small town of Mayville Heights, MN, that photographer Ruby has cast them in a fundraiser calendar. It's Hercules's actions at a local marina that lead Ruby to a body. At first, Kathleen and Ruby think the dead woman is singer Emme Finley, but soon they realize it's actually her look-alike assistant, Miranda. While Kathleen's love interest, Det. Marcus Gordon, investigates for the police, a few of Kathleen's friends push her to ask questions. Even Marcus agrees that people will talk to Kathleen when they won't talk to him. Kathleen has to discover if the intended victim was Emme or Miranda. The cats' abilities to walk through walls and disappear lead Kathleen to several suspects and rescue her from danger. Kelly follows A Tale of Two Kitties with another amusing mystery featuring the duo of magical cats.
VERDICT Fans of Jenn McKinlay's and Dean James's library mysteries may appreciate this series. However, with its large cast of characters, this latest entry is definitely for those who have already read the other books in this heartwarming series.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.