AUDIO

The Apple Orchard

10 CDs. library ed. unabridged. 12 hrs. Brilliance Audio. 2013. ISBN 9781455836932. $69.97; 1 MP3-CD. library ed.; Playaway digital; digital download. F
COPY ISBN
The hospitalization of a grandfather she never knew brings Tess Delaney in contact with an unknown half-sister and a new world in which the two women discover they are destined to inherit jointly the old man's estate provided they can stave off the local bank's foreclosure. As she seamlessly switches from Irish brogue to an Italian American accent to unaccented mainstream English, Christina Traister employs a broad voice range that makes listening and character identification a breeze regardless of the character's sex and age.
VERDICT A heartwarming story of family roots, personal growth, love, and the value of memories, this title will appeal to fans of Wiggs and Fern Michaels.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month