PERFORMING ARTS

Survival of the Thickest: Essays

Gallery: S. & S. Dec. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781982122584. $27. performing arts
COPY ISBN
In this book of essays, stand-up comedian and actress Buteau showcases her humor, perseverance, and honesty. The host of two podcasts (Late Night Whenever; Adulting), she seems to have it all figured out, but readers will realize that her journey has had its challenges. Buteau opens up about her rocky road to making it as a comedian but also sheds light on personal challenges. Whether finding out that a friend was racist, struggling with IVF, or taking pride in her heritage as a Haitian Jamaican woman from New Jersey, Buteau tells each tale with style and wit. She is unflinching as she discusses body image and the shame she felt as a young teen whose developing body attracted negative attention. Readers will feel as though they are listening to a good friend tell stories of her life; Buteau’s writing is inviting and unbelievably hilarious.
VERDICT This wonderful offering can be read in one sitting or savored one essay at a time. Fans of Ali Wong or Mindy Kaling will appreciate this heartbreaking and hopeful volume.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?