REVIEWS+

Senseless

Zebra: Kensington. Jan. 2011. c.416p. ISBN 9781420110197. pap. $6.99. F
COPY ISBN
Ten years after surviving a brutal attack that led to her subsequent arrest and ten-year imprisonment because of the death of her attacker, Eva Rayburn returns home to Alexandria, VA, to rebuild her life. Only now bodies are being discovered, and they're somehow related to that long-ago crime, an event she could never fully remember. Homicide detective Deacon Garrison must battle his attraction to Eva and figure out whether she's involved in these new killings, and if so, why.
VERDICT In the first of two linked novels, rising romantic suspense star Burton (Dying Scream) gives us a fast-paced thriller with a touch of romance. With hard-edged, imperfect but memorable characters, a complex plot, and no-nonsense dialog, this excellent novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Gardner and Lisa Jackson. [Merciless, the second book, will be published February 2011.—Ed.]
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?