FICTION

Paper Chains

Morrow. Sept. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9780062952165. $26.99; pap. ISBN 9780062413543. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062413550. F
COPY ISBN
Moriarty (The Fifth Letter) returns with a story of friendship, family, and broken hearts. India is a traveler drawn to those who seem damaged, determined to draw out deep secrets and fix all the broken people she can before moving on to the next town, the next country, the next continent. When she encounters Hannah in a museum shop, frozen with panic at a young child’s temper tantrum, it looks like her next project is being delivered on a platter. Hannah turns out to be a tough nut to crack, though, and both women are in for surprises on this journey of their newfound friendship. The bond of Aussie transplants living in London is a connection that forges their initial alliance, but will it hold up as India pushes to learn Hannah’s secrets? Will India’s free-spirited nature withstand Hannah’s insecurity and resolute self-punishment? While the two grow closer, India sends letters out into the world in an unconventional manner, starting a romantic movement.
VERDICT By turns delightful and heartrending, this is a lovely read for fans of Marian Keyes and Jane Green.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.