FICTION

Only Ever You

Thomas Dunne: St. Martin's. Mar. 2016. 304p. ISBN 9781250068910.$25.99; ebk. ISBN 9781466877702. F
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarA three-year-old girl named Sophia vanishes from a playground for about 45 minutes, frantically worrying her mother, Jill. Everything appears fine, and life moves on until about three months later when the child vanishes again, this time from her bed in the middle of the night. Jill immediately becomes the prime suspect in Sophia's murder, though there is no body. Frustrated by the police's lack of motivation to find the truth, Jill investigates on her own, digging into secrets that should have stayed buried. Can she prove her innocence and save her daughter?
VERDICT Making her hardcover debut, Drake (The Dead Place) has written a gripping domestic thriller about a parent's worst fear. Jill's persistence and patience will resound with readers, and the payoff only adds to the overall reading experience that is a must for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?