ROMANCE

Not Like the Movies

Berkley. (Waiting for Tom Hanks, Bk. 2). Jul. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781984804044. pap. $16. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
All eyes are on Chloe Sanderson. Despite her and her boss being the inspiration for best friend Annie’s romantic comedy, Coffee Girl, Chloe knows that real life isn’t like the movies. Chloe’s an optimist, but she has no room in her life for a relationship, especially with her boss, Nick Velez. From caring for her father with early onset Alzheimer’s, helping Annie with wedding planning, studying for her business degree, whipping up delicious pies, and working at Nick’s coffee shop, there just isn’t enough time in the day for romance. So why can’t she stop thinking about Nick and reading articles praising his perfectly gruff but sensitive demeanor? Chloe will have to be convinced that swoon-worthy love can happen offscreen, too.
VERDICT The sparkling dialog and hilarious banter in this second in Winfrey’s series (after Waiting for Tom Hanks) will dazzle readers craving a self-aware rom-com. Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Nora Ephron.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month