MYSTERY

Mr. Nobody

Ballantine. Jan. 2020. 368p. ISBN 9781524797683. $27. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
An injured man is found on a beach with no identification and unable to speak. Called Matthew by hospital staff and Mr. Nobody by the press, he soon attracts national attention. Neuropsychiatrist Emma Lewis is tasked with assessing if this case is true memory loss or if he’s faking it. Emma has an identity issue of her own—she’s living under an alias after a terrible incident years earlier in the same town where, perhaps not coincidentally, Matthew was found. Matthew regains his ability to speak and refers to Emma’s secret past, but she’s certain she’s never met him before. When her previous identity is revealed, Emma’s life is in danger, but she doesn’t give up on discovering Matthew’s true identity as he may be the key to understanding what happened to her years ago.
VERDICT Steadman (Something in the Water) strikes an engaging balance between character development and action in this satisfying, intricately plotted thriller that will appeal to fans of Sarah Pinborough and Ruth Ware. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month