MYSTERY

Missing Person

Mulholland: Little, Brown. Sept. 2019. 480p. ISBN 9780316396646. $27; ebk. ISBN 9780316396639. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Shaun Ryan leads a quiet, nondescript life in Wicklow, Ireland, but wishes he could gather the courage (and the funds) to leave for somewhere more exciting. A man named Johnny disrupts his placid existence by claiming that his long-dead uncle Teddy has really been in the United States, which throws Shaun into a search for kin that might accept and claim him. His remaining family refuse to do more than admit that they have lied about Teddy’s supposed death for more than 20 years and intimidate Shaun into dropping his search. After linking Teddy to an unidentified body found in the States, Shaun joins an online community of amateur sleuths to track down the truth of what happened to his uncle.
VERDICT Lotz’s (The White Road) clever novel includes a judicious use of formats such as messaging transcripts and web comments to move along the plot while providing insights into the Missing-Linc.com crew. Suggested for fans of authors such as Ruth Ware, Jennifer McMahon, Gillian Flynn, and Nic Joseph.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.