FICTION

Me for You

Touchstone: S. & S. Mar. 2019. 288p. ISBN 9781501179129. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781501179143. F
COPY ISBN
Fifty-four-year-old Rudy Knowles was downsized from his Silicon Valley tech firm. His hospital pharmacist wife, Bethany, is supportive as Rudy takes a job playing the piano at Nordstrom in the mall. Then 54-year-old Bee dies in her sleep. Nearly a year later and still overcome by grief, Rudy can't quite see any reason to get out of bed—not his wonderful if buttoned-up daughter Cecelia; his effervescent young granddaughter, Keira; not even his Nordstrom coworker Sasha, a Hungarian émigré who loves Rudy's renditions of Chopin while contending with her own unimaginable loss. Now the police think Bee might have been murdered by a hospital employee. A rest for Rudy is definitely in order. Winston (Good Grief) continues to drive home the entangled feelings of loss and loneliness following a tragedy. She allows Rudy his self-pity and anger as his emotions are part of learning how to go on without the love of his life.
VERDICT Fans of Jonathan Tropper and Winston's other books will want to see Rudy safely along his journey. [See Prepub Alert 10/1/18; library marketing.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.