MYSTERY

Little Voices

Thomas & Mercer: Amazon. Oct. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9781542092265. pap. $15.95; ebk. ISBN 9781542092289. M
COPY ISBN
[DEBUT] The day Devon nearly dies in childbirth, her friend Belina is murdered, the crime shocking the residents of Providence. Lawyer Devon promises her husband that she won’t practice after the baby is born. However, while in the fog of postpartum depression, Devon discovers more details of Belina’s murder and starts to work on the case, putting her family, home, and emotional stability on the line. Devon met with Belina the day she was killed, and unknowingly to Devon, Belina had slipped her day planner in Devon’s purse. With a baby strapped to her chest, and the voices of postpartum psychosis running through her thoughts, Devon retraces Belina’s last days. When Devon’s friend Alec emerges as the prime suspect, Devon, contradicting the cruel voices in her head, doesn’t believe that Alec is Belina’s killer. She pieces together evidence indicating that the true killer is still at large—though Alec might not be completely innocent.
VERDICT Fast paced and psychologically complex, this debut mystery has plenty of twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.