FICTION

Last Tang Standing

Putnam. Jun. 2020. 416p. ISBN 9780593187814. pap. $16. F
COPY ISBN
DEBUT You might think that the most stressful aspect of 33-year-old Andrea Tang’s life is her nonstop work in pursuit of a partnership at a high-powered law firm. But work, and the annoying coworker who shares her office, takes a back seat to the relentless family pressure to find a husband. She is, after all, the last of the current generation of Tangs to marry, which makes her a disappointment to the more traditional members of her extended Chinese Malaysian family. Andrea’s friends encourage online dating, which leads to several awkward encounters, and her nights out leave her with hangovers she has to disguise at work. An encounter at a bizarre (and uproariously funny) book club connects her with billionaire Eric Deng—an impressive catch who would certainly silence any concerns about her spinsterhood. As Andrea’s relationship with Eric heats up, an unexpected twist in the form of her frenemy office mate Suresh complicates matters.
VERDICT The combination of an appealing lead, a glamorous setting, and relatable, funny portrayals of relationships and workplace politics make this debut one of the must-read escapist pleasures of the summer. Fans of Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will be dazzled.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month