GRAPHIC NOVELS

Jujutsu Kaisen. Vol. 1

Viz Media. (Jujustu Kaisen, Bk. 1). 2019. 192p. ISBN 9781974710027. pap. Rated: Teen+. manga
COPY ISBN
In this new series launch from Akutami (Tokyo Metropolitan Magic Technical School), Yuji Itadori is sucked into the world of curses when his friends inadvertently become the target of supernatural monsters hell-bent on retrieving a powerful relic that the students recently stumbled upon. When Yuji swallows the relic in order to keep it out of the hands of evil, he finds himself imbued with the spirit of an immensely powerful demon. This sets the scene for Yuji’s upcoming adventures as a Jujutsu Sorcerer, in which he learns to control the diabolic energy within him to fulfill his grandfather’s dying wish—that his talents be used to help others. This overwhelming theme of death and resisting the negative energy of curses is made palatable by moments of kindness, humor, and inspiration to live a life without regret. Yuji is unconventional in his problem-solving methods, often not thinking twice about leaping into action and using comical amounts of force to achieve simple tasks. Similarly, his curse-fighting companions are also unique, from the self-obsessed and capricious Nobara to the logical but still moody Megumi. This blend makes for a well-balanced, enjoyable story now in its seventh installment.
VERDICT Recommended for fans of Tite Kubo’s Bleach or Hitoshi Iwaake’s Parasyte.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month