ROMANCE

Ignite on Contact

Berkley. (Brotherhood by Fire, Bk. 2). Feb. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9780440001379. pap. $16. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Rafe Donovan loves being a firefighter—it saved him and his brothers from the streets. But when a blast knocks him unconscious, the only action he’ll see is from inside his house. That is, until his neighbor comes to check on him, and, suddenly, a week of convalescence doesn’t seem so bad. Between her job as an ER nurse and acting as a caretaker for her grandfather, Carmen Lewis doesn’t have time for fun, let alone for love. Especially with the charming playboy firefighter next door. But as she gets to know Rafe and her walls come down, Carmen wonders if she can give up the control after all, and maybe—just maybe—trust Rafe with her heart.
VERDICT Despite overly descriptive passages that slow down the pacing, Burton (Hot to the Touch) delivers a steamy story with two relationship-shy neighbors whose stubbornness fans their passions. For fans of Erin McCarthy and Bella Andre.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month