ROMANCE

Home Improvement: A Love Story

Dreamspinner. Jul. 2019. 200p. ebk. ISBN 9781644055410. $6.99. M/M ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Gabe Mason put his life on hold when he became a teen father after trying to deny he was gay, and now that his daughter, Ellie, is close to graduating from high school, he won’t do anything to endanger his custody arrangement with his ex-wife. While working at the local home improvement store, Gabe meets Jerry, a tall, awkward young man who hides behind sunglasses and a beanie. Gabe quickly realizes Jerry doesn’t have a clue how to restore the house he bought, and after Gabe tries to steer him in the right direction for expert help, Jerry hires Gabe to handle the renovations. Gabe believes Jerry is in over his head and is concerned about his finances, while Jerry worries he’s attracted to a married man. When their secrets are revealed, some are easier to handle than others, and Jerry’s could destroy Gabe’s family.
VERDICT Lain (“Love in Laguna” series) writes a tender hidden-identity romance with appeal for fans of Heidi Cullinan, Alexis Hall, or Annabeth Albert. Recommended for all libraries.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.