MEDIA

Destined for an Early Grave

8 CDs. library ed. unabridged. 13½ hrs. Blackstone Audio. 2011. ISBN 9781441771216. $45; 8 CDs. retail ed.; 1 MP3-CD. library/retail ed.; Playaway digital; digital download. F
COPY ISBN
Frost's (www.jeanienefrost.com) fourth entry in her "Night Huntress" series—following At Grave's End (2010), also available from Blackstone Audio—begins with a much-needed Parisian vacation for half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her vampire lover, Bones. Suddenly, Cat begins having bizarre and vivid dreams featuring Gregor, a vampire who is so powerful that he can steal Cat away from Bones, if only she dreams her acquiescence. Those who enjoy the spicy relationship between Bones and Cat will be disappointed by their lack of togetherness through most of the novel, but the story involving Gregor and the character of Vlad Tepes will keep them enthralled. Series narrator Tavia Gilbert (www.taviagilbert.com) maintains her usual brisk pace; she lends heat to the spicy parts and effectively renders Bones's anguish over his perceived relationship with Cat. For fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter novels. [The Avon pb original, published in 2009, was a New York Times and USA Today best seller.—Ed.]—B. Allison Gray, Santa Barbara P.L., Goleta Branch, CA
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?