FICTION

Conversations with Friends

Hogarth: Crown. Jul. 2017. 304p. ISBN 9780451499059. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780451499073. F
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarDEBUT Best friends who were formerly a couple, Frances and Bobbi attend university and perform spoken-word pieces in Dublin. Melissa chronicles the urban Irish arts scene as an established photojournalist and wants to cover these talented young women and their work. As Melissa's social circle closes around the younger women, Frances initiates an affair with Melissa's sickly husband, Nick. This relationship, as well as Frances's burgeoning literary reputation, attenuates the bonds among everyone involved. Ultimately, Frances's art drives Bobbi away, even as Nick's improving health and intimacy with his wife push Frances to the brink of mental and physical disaster. By book's end, everyone has achieved a precarious equilibrium, though readers are left to wonder if it can last. Narrated by Frances, Rooney's satisfying first novel artfully traces the emotional intricacies that draw people together as well as the social vicissitudes that complicate these connections. Frances is a tricky narrator, brilliant and analytical yet somehow unknowable to herself and others.
VERDICT Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut. [See Prepub Alert, 2/13/17.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.