SFF

Boneset & Feathers

Broken Eye. Nov. 2020. 172p. ISBN 9781940372594. $34.99. HORROR
COPY ISBN
In her second novel after winning numerous awards for The Rust Maidens, Kiste introduces readers to Odette, the last of the witches. Odette has banished herself to a magic-free life of isolation on the outskirts of a small town after the Witchfinders came from The Capitol five years earlier, violently burning every witch, except for Odette, who would not burn. When dead birds start falling from the sky, Odette is forced to stop hiding, confront her extreme loss and trauma, stop living in fear of the future, and seek out justice, no matter the cost. Kiste’s writing style moves fluidly back and forth through time with lyrical language describing awful things. Readers will hang on every word, cringe and cheer through the action, and passionately root for Odette.
VERDICT Kiste casts a spell with this original and suspenseful horror story, but it holds more than meets the eye. Clearly influenced by Shirley Jackson, this will appeal to fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power, Alexis Henderson’s The Year of the Witching, or Zoje Stage’s Wonderland.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?