BIOGRAPHY

Blood: A Memoir

Da Capo: Perseus. Oct. 2019. 320p. ISBN 9780306922688. $27; ebk. ISBN 9780306922671. MEMOIR
COPY ISBN
In 1986, at 14, Grammy-nominated country singer Moorer woke to two gunshots fired outside the house she shared with her mother and older sister in Mobile, AL. Her father had shot and killed their mother on the front lawn before turning the weapon on himself. Moorer’s memoir explores the events leading up to this tragic incident and her relationship with her sister, Shelby Lynne, also a successful singer-songwriter. The narrative reads like an intimate journal with meditations on objects the author remembers from her childhood, such as her father’s brown cowboy hat or her mother’s purse. Interspersed photographs and pieces of ephemera help tell the history of her family’s unraveling. But what follows the murder-suicide is the formation of an unbreakable bond between sisters, as they forge onward from their trauma.
VERDICT Fans of Moorer or Shelby Lynne’s music will recognize this story from their country songs. Recommended for libraries where country musicians’ biographies are popular.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.