MYSTERY

Black Sun

Doubleday. Jul. 2019. 320p. ISBN 9780385543408. $26.95; ebk. ISBN 9780385543415. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
DEBUT “Now I am become death, the destroyer of worlds,” warned Robert Oppenheimer when the first atomic bomb exploded in 1945. Its awesome power led the Soviet Union to race to build the most lethal bomb. In 1961, at a secret site devoted to accomplishing this goal, Soviet scientists live with perks and comforts. Even so, a genius engineer dies from radiation, apparently a suicide. The KGB sends special agent Alexander Vasin to investigate, and though cooperation is absent—the lethal monster is set to blow in just days—Vasin’s probing bears fruit. He theorizes that the engineer was killed because the chief scientist opposed his project. Can the chief scientist foil the KGB’s meddling? The nugget of truth hidden in the conflict is a stunning surprise. Based on the lives of real dissident Soviets, this first novel by journalist and historian Matthews balances technothriller realism with human ambition, greed, and, ultimately, love. In a taut yet discursive style, this title resurrects the paranoia of the Soviet mind-set.
VERDICT Fans of Jason Matthews’s “Red Sparrow” series and Tom Rob Smith’s Child 44 will relish this incendiary take on nuclear weapons and the people who made them.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.