BIOGRAPHY

Atomic Spy: The Dark Lives of Klaus Fuchs

Viking. May 2020. 416p. ISBN 9780593083390. $30. BIOG
COPY ISBN
With this newest work, Greenspan (The End of the Certain World) tells the complex and captivating story of Klaus Fuchs (1911–88), a German physicist who fled a Nazi manhunt to France and then Britain and, ultimately, came to work in the secret world of nuclear research during World War II and the early Cold War years. The portrait she draws of Fuchs is of a careful man, righteously impulsive in his younger years but passionately dedicated to what he saw as the noble cause of communism against the rise of Nazism. This experience, including time in a British and Canadian internment camp, added to his convictions and undoubtedly influenced his later decision to pass details of British and American wartime nuclear research over to Soviet agents. This continued through to his time at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico. From student to scientist to spy, Fuchs is portrayed as a careful and quiet yet passionate man who nevertheless persisted.
VERDICT Thoroughly supported by a wide array of archival research, Greenspan’s detailed and authoritative yet equally interesting and readable study will appeal to readers of World War II and Cold War history, espionage, and nuclear history.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?