MEDIA

At Grave's End

8 CDs. library ed. unabridged. 9 hrs. Blackstone Audio. 2010. ISBN 9781441768971. $52.50; 8 CDs. retail ed.; 1 MP3-CD. library ed.; Playaway digital; digital download. F
COPY ISBN
In this fast-paced, fun, and sexy third entry in Frost's (www.jeanienefrost.com) New York Times best-selling "Night Huntress" series—following One Foot in the Grave (2008), also available from Blackstone Audio and narrated by Tavia Gilbert (www.taviagilbert.com)—half-vampire Cat Crawfield is happily involved with her undead lover, Bones, when her identity is uncovered by some pretty scary bloodsuckers. After a woman from Bones's past appears seeking vengeance, Cat solicits help from characters who appeared in the previous two titles, though there is enough detail to ensure that listeners new to the series will not be confused. Gilbert is a strong reader; her pacing and inflections are especially good. Her only weakness is the not-so-convincing accent she gives to Bones. For fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter novels.—B. Allison Gray, Santa Barbara P.L., Goleta Branch, CA
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?