FICTION

Are We There Yet?

Berkley. Mar. 2021. 352p. ISBN 9780593098431. $26. F
COPY ISBN
Suburban angst is at the center of this new novel by West (Minor Dramas and Other Catastrophes). It features Alice Sullivan and the clique of moms who have been friends since their children were in kindergarten, but friendship is a tenuous thing here as the moms are all secretly judging one another. As the children enter middle school, things begin to change; the good girl isn’t quite as good, the good boy is acting out, and the bad boy is getting better. Social media is at the forefront here and is wreaking havoc among all these families. Alice also has to deal with a boss who promised her a partnership and now seems to be pushing her out and her attorney husband, who is working a case that takes him out of town all week, leaving her to deal with the kids. But it is her mother’s secret that is the final straw for Alice.
VERDICT First-world problems abound in this Midwestern family drama, but West makes the most of her material. For readers who enjoyed Bruce Holsinger’s The Gifted School, Lauren Weisberger’s When Life Gives You Lululemons, and Laura Zigman’s Separation Anxiety.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?