MYSTERY

A Madness of Sunshine

Berkley. Dec. 2019. 352p. ISBN 9780593099131. $27. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
Seven months after her husband’s death, Anahera Rawiri returns to Golden Cove, a remote New Zealand coastal town from which she couldn’t wait to flee, a community now reeling from the disappearance of local woman Miriama. Cop Will Gallagher is determined to find out if Miri’s disappearance is voluntary or foul play. He reaches out to the recently returned native Ana because there are similarities between Miri’s disappearance and the case of three female hikers who vanished 15 years ago. Singh’s latest is an excellent melding of thriller and romantic suspense showcasing New Zealand’s isolated savage beauty, breathtaking landscapes, and rich, colorful characters, especially the aboriginal Måori. Will and Ana are steadfast, stubborn, and bull-headed, and their slow-burn romance takes a backseat to the shocking mystery. Singh (“Psy-Changeling” and “Guild Hunter” series) draws readers into the steady-paced story with spot-on crime scene and forensic details, rewarding them with a chilling and unexpected finish.
VERDICT Fans of Lisa Gardner, Michael Connelly, and of both crime dramas and romantic suspense will find this novel hard to put down. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.