SFF

A Dance with Fate

Ace: Berkley. (Warrior Bards, Bk. 2). Sept. 2020. 512p. ISBN 9780451492807. pap. $17. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
When young warrior Dau is blinded by his comrade Liobhan in an exhibition bout, the pair are forced to leave their training retreat at Swan Island to return Dau to the care of his family. Dau must confront his abusive brothers and withdrawn father, and face demons from his past as he copes with his new disability. Meanwhile, as penance for causing Dau’s injury, Liobhan must endure a sentence as an indentured servant in the dysfunctional and dangerous household. As the pair uncover evidence of a conspiracy, they’re forced to search for allies they can trust.
VERDICT Marillier’s (“Blackthorn and Grim” series) latest novel in the “Warrior Bards” series (after The Harp of Kings), set in a fantasy world inspired by mythic Ireland, is a brisk and engaging read with vivid characters and a satisfying conclusion that makes this work as a standalone. Recommended for fans of Katharine Kerr’s “Deverry” books or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicles” series.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?