MYSTERY

A Bad Day for Sunshine

St. Martin’s. (Sunshine Vicram, Bk. 1). Apr. 2020. 400p. ISBN 9781250149442. $27.99. M
COPY ISBN
Sunshine “Sun” Vicram moves back to her hometown of Del Sol, NM, she’s elected as the new sheriff in a race she never entered, thanks to her well-meaning parents. While Sun faces her first day on the job, her 14-year-old daughter Auri starts at the local high school, where she is soon targeted by bullies. Events rapidly deteriorate for the new sheriff, with a missing deputy, an escaped prisoner, and an abducted teen. With the help of various deputies and other law enforcement officers, and Auri, Sun must unravel all the mysteries and find the missing teen. As the investigations continue, Sun is also forced to face her own history and tell her daughter the truth about their past. Jones (Summoned to the Thirteenth Grave) departs from her usual paranormal fiction and creates a smart and sassy mother-daughter team in a small-town setting where anything can happen.
VERDICT Though readers may find it difficult to keep track of the minor characters, this series opener provides plenty of action. Recommended for fans of Linda Castillo and J.A. Jance.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month