Little, Brown

64 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler

Donner’s meticulous research and novelist’s sensibility make for a riveting biography of a remarkable and brave woman; there’s also good insight into the German Resistance. Readers of Erik Larson’s biography In the Garden of Beasts will appreciate Donner’s different perspective on the same historical events and figures. Recommended to all who enjoy engaging narrative nonfiction.
PREMIUM

Learning in Public: Lessons for a Racially Divided America from My Daughter’s School

The author’s choice to share her own story is laudable, and her work effectively unpacks the ways white Americans engage in racist and economically disadvantaging structures. It is, by design, a largely one-sided narrative, but one that many readers, especially parents of young children, will appreciate.

In the Shadow of the Empress: The Defiant Lives of Maria Theresa, Mother of Marie Antoinette, and Her Daughters

While there are fascinating details here about royal childhoods, courtships, marriages, and extramarital love affairs, this meticulously researched collective biography is best for serious readers of 18th-century European politics and history.
PREMIUM

Golden Girl

Another great read from Hilderbrand, sure to please her many fans and new readers alike.

The Icepick Surgeon: Murder, Fraud, Sabotage, Piracy, and Other Dastardly Deeds Perpetrated in the Name of Science

A lively, compelling addition to the true crime and popular science genres. Morbidly curious readers may also enjoy Gory Details, by Erika Engelhaupt.
PREMIUM

The Vanishing Point

Brundage carefully outlines the tangled relationships of love and ambition among three students in stylized prose; her central concept of photography is evocative both literally and metaphorically. Starting out slow-paced and character-driven, the story picks up speed once there’s the mystery of Rye’s disappearance. Recommended for readers of Anne Tyler or William Boyd.

All the Colors Came Out: A Father, a Daughter, and a Lifetime of Lessons

With strong appeal for book clubs, this heartbreaking, yet strongly inspirational memoir is very highly recommended for all public library collections, and deserving of a wide readership.
PREMIUM

The Double Life of Bob Dylan: A Restless, Hungry Feeling, 1941–1966

Dylan remains an enigmatic figure. Heylin’s book will be appreciated by devoted fans and is another valuable addition to a puzzle that might never be completed.

How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America

An excellent travelogue and introduction to slavery’s impact on both the United States and its people. It will hold the interest of readers who are only starting to grapple with the topic.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?