LibraryCon Live! 2019

A Virtual Festival for Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, SF, and Fantasy


Join Library Journal and School Library Journal for our third annual LibraryCon Live! We're excited to offer a day-long celebration of fandom-beloved stories and characters, featuring the creators behind mind-bending speculative fiction, innovative comics, and fan-favorite graphic novels. You'll also learn from librarians and industry insiders on how to plan and host your own Comic Con-style event.

Plus, network online with other fans and explore our virtual exhibit hall where you'll hear directly from publishers about their newest books and engage in live chats with featured authors. Whether you're a public or school librarian, an educator of teens and young adults, or a superfan of graphic novels and sf/fantasy, don't miss this chance to meet and interact with some of your favorite stars across these genres.

 

Register
 

We look forward to seeing you on November 6. Can't make the live date? No problem! All the sessions will be archived, and the virtual environment will be accessible for up to three months.
 

Platinum Sponsor
 

Diamond Book Distributors  


Gold Sponsor
 

Diamond Book Distributors  

 

 

 

 

Andrews McMeel
 
Andrews McMeel Andrews McMeel BOOM! Studios
BOOM! Studios
 
Dark Horse DC Comics First Second
First Second

Junior Library Guild

Junior Library Guild Junior Library Guild
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

 


   

 

11:00 AM - 11:30 AM | Opening Keynote | Sam Maggs and Delilah Dawson in Conversation

Two comics writers discuss crafting narratives and characters for Marvel Action, writing for middle grade and YA readers, and being on both sides of the "fangirl" experience. Sam Maggs is the author of The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy and Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History. She is also currently writing a middle-grade "Marvel Action: Captain Marvel" series for IDW. Delilah Dawson, a NYT bestselling author, writes the "Marvel Action: Spider Man" series and is currently penning a YA series for IDW called "Star Pig."
 

11:30 AM - 12:15 PM | Panel 1 | World Building

Mystical Viking warriors. China in 484 A.D. A ruthless galactic empire. A modern Gothic nightmarescape. A secret society of black magicians. While wildly different, each of the works highlighted by the authors and artists on this panel share a common trait: exemplary world-building. Creators discuss how they construct intricate and believable fantastic worlds.
Natasha AltericiHeathen, Vol. 2 (Diamond)
Hannah TemplerCosmoknightsGLOW vs. the Star Primas (Top Shelf/IDW)
Brandon ThomasExcellence, Vol. 1 (Image)
Sherry ThomasThe Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan (Lee & Low)
 

12:15 PM - 12:30 PM | Break
 

12:30 PM - 1:00 PM | Lunch Keynote

Henry BarajasLa Voz de M.A.Y.O Tata Rambo (Image)
In La Voz de M.A.Y.O.: Tata Rambo, Henry Barajas tells the true story of how his grandfather, Ramon Jaurigue (a.k.a. Tata Rambo), co-founded the Mexican, American, Yaqui, and Others (M.A.Y.O.) organization, which successfully lobbied the Tucson City Council to improve living and working conditions for members of the Pascua Yaqui and led to federal recognition of the Yaqui tribe.
 

1:00 PM - 1:45 PM | Panel 2 | Stories That Engage Young Readers (and Beyond) 

Relatable heroes, adventure-filled journeys, and laugh-out-loud truisms define these narratives for middle grade and teen readers. In this panel, authors and artists will discuss how they craft the highly engaging stories that young readers crave.
Drew Brockington, “CatStronauts” series; Hangry (Little, Brown)
Will HenrySnug Harbor Stories: A Wallace the Brave Collection (Andrews McMeel)
Lucy Knisley, Stepping Stones (RHCB)
Sarah KuhnShadow of the Batgirl (DC) 
Christine Taylor-ButlerThe Lost Tribe: Trials (Move)
Jen WangStargazing (Macmillan)

 

1:45 PM - 2:15 PM | Fast Learning Session 1: How the Arlington Public Library Does Their ComicCon Program 

Thinking about hosting a ComicCon-style event at your library? Hear Tamera Miller, Program Specialist at the Arlington Public Library (TX), discuss her library's highly successful model, and learn how to plan, market, and run your own Con. 
 

2:15 PM - 2:45 PM | Fast Learning Session 2: Comics Nerd Expert Picks

Nicholas Allen, comics writer and co-founder of Rexco Comics, will talk about some of the must-have, under-the-radar new and forthcoming comics titles librarians need to know about, including his favorite web comics.
 

2:45 PM - 3:00 PM | Break
 

3:00 PM – 3:45 PM | Panel 3 | Portrait of the Artists

Though their styles and techniques vary greatly, the artists on this panel share a commitment to excellence in visual storytelling. This panel will offer a behind-the-scenes deep dive into their artistic processes.
Erin NationsGumballs (Top Shelf/IDW)
Becky CloonanReaverBy Chance or By Providence (Image)
Gabriel Rodriguez, Locke & Key series; Tales from the Darkside (IDW)
Koren ShadmiThe Twilight Man: Rod Sterling and the Birth of Television (Humanoids)
 

3:45 PM - 4:15 PM | Closing Keynote

James Tynion IV, Something Is Killing the Children (BOOM! Studios)
Best known for his work on the "Batman" series with DC Comics, GLAAD Award-winning writer James Tynion IV now delves into horror with a brand-new limited series, Something Is Killing the Children, about "staring into the abyss to find your worst fears staring back."

 

Keynote Speakers

 

placeholder image

Henry Barajas is a Latinx author from Tucson, AZ. He is best known for his graphic memoir about his great-grandfather Ramon Jaurigue titled LA VOZ DE M.A.Y.O. TATA RAMBO. He has contributed to anthologies that benefit mass shooting Route 91 victims and The Southern Poverty Law Center such as WHERE WE LIVE and The Good Fight. Currently, Barajas is the Director of Operations at Top Cow Productions—and he lives with his roommate’s cats Ophelia & Morticia in Los Angeles, CA.

placeholder image

James Tynion IV is a comic book writer, best known for his work on the Batman franchise for DC Comics. James has served as the showrunner of two consecutive weekly comic series, Batman Eternal and Batman & Robin Eternal, followed by writing the massive crossover project Batman / Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and subsequently taking the reins of Detective Comics. In addition to the 2017 GLAAD Media Award-winning series The Woods with Michael Dialynas, James has also penned the critical successes Memetic, Cognetic, and Eugenic with Eryk Donovan, The Backstagers with Rian Sygh, and Ufology with Noah J. Yuenkel and Matthew Fox. An alumni of Sarah Lawrence College, Tynion now lives and works in New York, NY.

 

 


Speakers

 

placeholder image

Natasha Alterici is a comic creator living in Tulsa, Oklahoma, best know for the hit queer Viking fantasy Heathen. She's also contributed her writing and art to projects such as Gotham Academy: Yearbook, Grayson Annual, The Lez Film Review, Dinosaur Project, Mixed Signals, The Wilds, Killswitch, The Good Fight, Vagrant Queen, Forgotten Home, and more. When not working on comics, she enjoys gardening, baking, and playing video games with her wife and their two cats.

Drew Brockington has flown a Space Shuttle, repaired the International Space Station, and served in Mission Control; all during a week at Space Camp. CatStronauts is his first series. He lives with his family in Minneapolis.

Becky Cloonan is a writer, artist, and self-publisher. At Image Comics, she writes SOUTHERN CROSS.

Will Henry is the creator behind Ordinary Bill and Wallace the Brave, both distributed on GoComics.com. His professional career began with his strip Room Mates, which was published in The Daily Campus during his time at the University of Connecticut. He draws his inspiration from everyday life and in the age of the smart-phone, he aims to re-create a world in which kids “still collect bugs and fly kites and eat ice cream cones upside-down.” He lives in Rhode Island with his wife, his cat, and his mistress, the sea.

Erin Nations was born in St. Louis, Missouri in 1982. In 2014 he began self-publishing zines and comics. His work has appeared in Original Plumbing magazine, Full Bleed, and the We're Still Here anthology. He is a frequent contributor to the quarterly comics newspaper Vision Quest. His solo series Gumballs launched in 2016. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

C. Taylor-Butler (Christine Taylor-Butler), an MIT trained Civil Engineer, is the author of more than 70 books for children, including Sacred Mountain: Everest. She has won the Best Children’s Book of the Year Award and a host of other awards. When not conducting various science experiments for many of her books the author has traveled to remote places, such as the Tongas National Forest in Alaska, to scout unusual locations for her science fiction/adventure series, The Lost Tribes. She lives in Missouri where she is responsible for the care and feeding of a spouse, college kids, cats, fish and a very needy 104-year-old historic house.

Hannah Templer is a queer cartoonist and graphic designer. In addition to writing and drawing Cosmoknights, she is the artist for GLOW (IDW Publishing, Netflix), and has also worked as a colorist, cover artist and interior artist on well-known titles such as Samurai Jack, Tomb Raider, and Jem and the Holograms. She enjoys life with her trusty dog Thistle and grumpy cat Noodle, and plays tabletop roleplaying games as often as she can.

Brandon Thomas is the critically-acclaimed writer and co-creator of comics series Horizon (Skybound/Image) and The Many Adventures of Miranda Mercury. Previous works includes the award-winning series Noble (Lion Forge) and Voltron (Dynamite). He lives in Southern California with his wife and son.

placeholder image

Sherry Thomas (The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan) is the author of nineteen novels across multiple genres, including the acclaimed Lady Sherlock mystery series, a YA fantasy trilogy that began with The Burning Sky, and more than a dozen romance novels, which have twice won her the Romance Writers of America's prestigious RITA® Award. Born in China, she learned English as a second language, and now lives and writes in Austin, Texas. Visit her website at sherrythomas.com and follow her on Twitter at @sherrythomas and on Instagram as @writersherrythomas.

Jen Wang is a cartoonist, author and illustrator living in Los Angeles. She is the author of Stargazing,The Prince and the Dressmaker, Koko Be Good, and co-author of the New York Times-Bestselling graphic novel In Real Life with Cory Doctorow. Her work has also appeared in Los Angeles Magazine, The Believer, Hazlitt, Slate, and McSweeney’s. She has also written for the Adventure Time and Lumberjanes comic series. She is the co-founder and organizer of the annual festival Comics Arts Los Angeles.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.