Found Sisters: Tales of Family and Sisterhood | Fiction

Dolan's humorous, heartfelt family story was worth the wait; filled with intense life conflicts that avoid being over-the-top, Novak's heartwarming story of sisters who bond as adults will please many
Dolan, Lian. The Sweeney Sisters. Morrow. Apr. 2020. 304p. ISBN 9780062909046. $27.99. F
The Sweeney sisters’ lives revolve around their father, Bill Sweeney, a much-heralded literary lion. When he passes away suddenly, they gather at the old homestead. Liza, the eldest, lives nearby with her boring husband and runs a successful art gallery that showcases some work by middle sister Maggie. Maggie is a free spirit who has had trouble with adulting. The youngest Sweeney, Tricia, is a fiercely competitive New York City lawyer. The girls gather for the reading of the will, and they learn that owing to one of those ubiquitous home DNA tests, there is another Sweeney sister, a half sister, DC journalist Serena Tucker. Bill’s publisher is threatening to sue over an overdue memoir; the sisters are tearing the house apart to find it while simultaneously trying to process their newest family member, their parents’ marriage, and all their other problems, with a lot of love and laughter. VERDICT It’s been a while since Dolan’s last novel, Elizabeth the First Wife, but this humorous, heartfelt family story is worth the wait. Will appeal to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]—Stacy Alesi, Eugene M. & Christine E. Lynn Lib., Lynn Univ., Boca Raton, FL
 
Novak, Brenda. One Perfect Summer. Mira: Harlequin. Apr. 2020. 464p. ISBN 9780778309468. pap. $16.99. F
DNA tests reveal that three strangers—Serenity, Reagan, and Lorelei—are half sisters. Although initially shocked, they become friends and decide to meet in person. Serenity’s family cabin in Lake Tahoe provides the perfect locale for the sisters to bond and try to solve the mystery of how they are related. Each woman is dealing with her own life-altering drama. Serenity is recovering from finding out her now ex-husband is a criminal; Reagan recently had an affair with her married boss. And Lorelei must decide if she should divorce her husband, who has been cheating on her with her best friend. It becomes clear that one week is not enough time even to begin to find solutions, so their spring getaway turns into spending the whole summer together. But will their newfound familial connection provide the support they need to move on, or will it create even more damage? VERDICT Filled with intense life conflicts that avoid being over-the-top, this heartwarming story of sisters who bond as adults is sure to please the many fans of Novak (“Evelyn Talbot” series; Before We Were Strangers) as well as those who enjoy books by Susan Mallery and Debbie Macomber. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]—Karen Core, Detroit P.L.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month