Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News | Book Pulse

The Flight Attendantby Chris Bohjalian leads holds this week and the TV show Rise is also making noise (it is inspired by a book). Netflix buys the US rights to the film version of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society but has yet to announce its air date.

Big Books for the Week

The Flight Attendant by Chris Bohjalian (Doubleday: Random; LJ starred review) takes off with the most holds going into this week.

Other titles in demand include:

The Rising Sea by Clive Cussler and Graham Brown (Putnam)

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney (Flatiron). Check your holds, nationwide it is currently showing an almost 6:1 ratio.

Caribbean Rim by Randy Wayne White (Putnam)

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh (Berkley: Penguin)

Fade to Black: A Doug Brock Thriller by David Rosenfelt (Minotaur: Macmillan)

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh (Berkley: Penguin) is the #1 LibraryReads pick for March: “For readers who enjoyed Mackintosh’s I Let You Go and I See You, you most certainly will enjoy her latest suspenseful thrill ride. Anna has been struggling to get on with her life after her parents’ suicides when she starts to receive clues that maybe her parents did not carry out the heinous act that everyone believed they committed.”—KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT

Two more LibraryReads publish this week, both already racking up holds as noted above:

The Flight Attendant by Chris Bohjalian (Doubleday: Random; LJ starred review): “Cassie Bowden is a flight attendant with a drinking problem. Rock bottom comes when she wakes up in a hotel room in Dubai with a dead man next to her. Warning: do not read this on a plane!”—Marika Zemke, Commerce Township Public Library, Commerce Township, MI

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney (Flatiron: Macmillan): “For fans of the recent psychological thrillers, The Woman In the Window and The Wife Between Us, comes another one that will keep you on your toes. I felt like I needed a whiteboard to keep track of the twists and turns.”—Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, Salem, OR

Feeney’s novel is also on the March Indie Next list: “I feel messed up after finishing this, which is what I look for in a thriller. The twists and turns are dizzying, leading to an ending you won’t see coming. Amber is recovering from a car crash, and since she’s not quite out of her coma, we get to see flashbacks of her life and the events that brought her to where she is today. Everything—her radio job, her writer husband, and her perfect sister, Claire—is not what it seems. But then, neither is Amber. A perfect thriller to discuss and deconstruct with your book club!” —Kate Towery, The Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA

Also on the Indie Next list is Anatomy of a Miracle by Jonathan Miles (Hogarth: Random): “A priest, a doctor, and a reality TV producer walk into a convenience store… Actually, the notable walker in this story is Cameron Harris, a paralyzed soldier who inexplicably rises from his wheelchair and starts walking in the Biz-E-Bee parking lot. Anatomy of a Miracle follows Harris and the aforementioned sundry characters in the aftermath and dissection of this reported ‘miracle.’ Was it science? Was it divine? Was it a hoax? Will it make for a hit TV show? Jonathan Miles’ charming—and often humorous—novel explores the varying perspectives on faith, truth, and the unexpected consequences of the miraculous.”—Lelia Nebeker, One More Page Books, Arlington, VA

These books and others publishing the week of March 12, 2018, are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet: Book Pulse 3_12_18

In the Media

In a double issue, Entertainment Weekly features Becoming Madeleine: A Biography of the Author of A Wrinkle in Time by Her Granddaughters by Charlotte Jones Voiklis and Léna Roy (FSG: Macmillan) in the books section. Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney (Flatiron) and Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh (Berkley: Penguin) are reviewed together with EW writing “There’s an almost freakish amount of shared surface area between” them. Just the Funny Parts: … And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking into the Hollywood Boys’ Clubs by Nell Scovell (Dey Street: Harper) and Stealing the Show: How Women Are Revolutionizing Television by Joy Press (Atria: S. & S.; LJ starred review) are also jointly featured.

The magazines heads their “Must List” with Rise, the new TV show inspired by Michael Sokolove’s Drama High: The Incredible True Story of a Brilliant Teacher, a Struggling Town, and the Magic of Theater (Riverhead: Penguin). They offer TV RA with a list of other shows to watch if Rise strikes a chord. The Sparsholt Affair by Alan Hollinghurst (Knopf: Random; LJ starred review) is #7, “a queer classic so achingly powerful, you’ll savor every page.” How to American: An Immigrant’s Guide to Disappointing Your Parents by Jimmy O. Yang (Da Capo Press: Hachette) is #8: “a hilarious blend of memoir and self-help.” The soundtrack for Love, Simon makes it at #9 and the film gets a profile. It opens on March 16 and is based on Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (Balzer + Bray: Harper); a tie-in is out. The rest of the issue is largely devoted to Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War. Tomb Raider does get a nod as does the film adaptation of The Leisure Seeker by Michael Zadoorian (William Morrow: Harper); there is a tie-in.

Laura & Emma by Kate Greathead (S. & S.) is People‘s Book of the Week. Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney (Flatiron) and Everything Is Horrible and Wonderful: A Tragicomic Memoir of Genius, Heroin, Love, and Loss by Stephanie Wittels Wachs (Sourcebooks) both get attention as well. Shaya: An Odyssey of Food, My Journey Back to Israel by Alon Shaya (Knopf) stars in the recipe section and Juniper: The Happiest Fox by Jessika Coker (Chronicle) gets coverage in a feature devoted to famous Instagram animals. People opens their “Picks” list with Rise, followed by The Leisure Seeker. I Have the Right To: A High School Survivor’s Story of Sexual Assault, Justice, and Hope by Chessy Prout with Jenn Abelson (S. & S.) gets coverage as well.

Reviews

The Washington Post reviews Chris Bohjalian’s The Flight Attendant (Doubleday: Random; LJ starred review): “Filled with turbulence and sudden plunges in altitude [it] is a very rare thriller whose penultimate chapter made me think to myself, ‘I didn’t see that coming‘.” Also Russian Roulette: The Inside Story of Putin’s War on America and the Election of Donald Trump by Michael Isikoff and David Corn (Twelve: Hachette), deciding it “delivers no real bombshells [but] performs an important service.” Carl Hoffman’s The Last Wild Men of Borneo: A True Story of Death and Treasure (William Morrow: Harper) is “a work of remarkable empathy.” Blue Dreams: The Science and the Story of the Drugs that Changed Our Minds by Lauren Slater (Little, Brown) is called “a raw and honest memoir … [with] details both lyrical and crushingly painful.” The paper circles around to Niall Ferguson’s The Square and the Tower: Networks and Power, from the Freemasons to Facebook (Penguin), writing it “will not disappoint readers who have come to expect from Ferguson ambition, erudition, originality and expansive historical panoramas” and reviews How to Fix the Future by Andrew Keen (Atlantic Monthly): “a courageous attempt to offer some constructive solutions to a world already filled with monoliths.” Finally, The Post offers a list of books it missed but thinks readers should not.

Briefly Noted

The April Indie Next list is out, headlining with Tangerine by Christine Mangan (Ecco: Harper).

Brian Castner, author of Disappointment River: Finding and Losing the Northwest Passage (Doubleday), writes a NYT opinion piece about ideas and timing.

Need to refresh the decorating collection? The NYT surveys some new choices.

Michio Kaku picks “five books to help you understand the future.”

Lisa Halliday lists her “Top 10 parallel narratives.”

Tor.com offers the best genre-blending novels of the month.

The NYT interviews David Steward II, the chief executive officer of Lion Forge, on diversity in comics.

Entertainment Weekly interviews Jimmy O. Yang, How to American: An Immigrant’s Guide to Disappointing Your Parents (Da Capo: Hachette).

Sherman Alexie declines the Carnegie award from ALA. His publisher postpones the paperback release of that Carnegie winner.

The NYT has obituaries for poet Lucie Brock-Broido and scholar Hayden V. White. The Guardian has one for Peter Temple, the Australian crime writer.

Authors on Air

Junot Díaz will be on The Daily Show with Trevor Noah tonight.

The NYT suggests three books to read after seeing A Wrinkle in Time. Entertainment Weekly offers eleven.

Netflix has bought the US rights to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. There is still no air date.

Kristen Wiig will play the villain Cheetah in the sequel to Wonder Woman, coming in 2019. Vulture has an explainer.

NPR’s All Things Considered interviews Elaine WeissThe Woman’s Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote (Viking). Weekend Edition Saturday interviews Jesse Ball, Census (Ecco: HarperCollins), and Peter Carey, A Long Way from Home (Knopf; LJ starred review). Weekend Edition Sunday interviews Rania Abouzeid, No Turning Back: Life, Loss, and Hope in Wartime Syria (Norton). Look for it to get a great deal of attention, with further interviews and reviews scheduled all this week, including a feature on NPR’s Fresh Air today.

CLICK HERE to receive daily Book Pulse alerts in your inbox

No Comments to this Article. Be the first user to comment.

RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.