'The Red Book' by James Patterson & David Ellis Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

'The Red Book' by James Patterson and David Ellis tops this week's holds list. Two LibraryReads selections arrive this week along with three Indie Next selections. Festival Days by Jo Ann Beard is People's 'Pick of the Week.'  Tributes pour in for Beverly Cleary and Larry McMurtry. George R.R. Martin signs a massive deal with HBO. Scholastic pulls book by Dav Pilkey for 'passive racism'. Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge gets attention. Plus, Sarah Maas, A Court of Silver Flames, will adapt her series for Hulu.

 

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.


Big Books of the Week

The Red Book by James Patterson & David Ellis (Little, Brown) leads holds this week.

Other titles in demand include:

Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly (Ballantine)

Of Women and Salt by Gabriela Garcia (Flatiron)

Wilde Child by Eloisa James (Avon)

No Way Out by Fern Michaels (Kensington)

These books and others publishing the week of March 29, 2021 are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet.

 Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

Two LibraryReads selections arrive this week:

Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge (Algonquin)

"Libertie is a Black girl living with her mother, a doctor who helps slaves in their run to freedom. Libertie thinks her mother is herself enslaved by her work, but after she marries and moves to the Caribbean, things seem less clear. For readers who enjoyed Washington Black and Underground Railroad."—Marie Byars, Sno Isle Public Library, Oak Harbor, WA NoveList read-alike: Jam on the Vine by LaShonda K. Barnett

It is also the #1 Indie Next choice for April:

“Libertie is a beautifully written, immersive historical novel inspired by the story of a Black doctor and her daughter who lived in a free Black community in Brooklyn during the Reconstruction era. It is also a profound meditation on what it means to be truly free — whether born free or formerly enslaved, whether in America, Haiti, or Liberia — while struggling against grief, sexism, racism, colorism, or classism. Libertie’s quest to forge her own path is a much-needed inspiration!”—Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books, Beverly, MA

Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly (Ballantine)

"Kelly ends her trilogy tracing The Lilac Girls protagonist Caroline Ferriday’s family with a story centered in the Civil War era. Kelly weaves her careful research into a compelling novel with fascinating depth and a nod toward the impactful role of women throughout history.” —MarySue Waterman, Westport Library, Westport, CT

There are two additional Indie Next picks:

Of Women and Salt by Gabriela Garcia (Flatiron)

“Gabriela Garcia has delivered a gripping novel that moves between modern-day Miami and revolutionary and post-revolution Cuba to tell the stories of four generations of women whose past traumas continue to play out in current times. It’s a story of strength, immigration, and the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters. Of Women and Salt took my breath away on multiple occasions and continues to take hold of my thoughts.” —Pat Rudebusch, Orinda Books, Orinda, CA

A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance by Hanif Abdurraqib (Random: LJ Starred Review) 

“Using Black performance as a loose organizing principle, Abdurraqib has written a brilliant, expansive, insightful, and personal book. There is something of Montaigne’s penchant for humility and brilliance in equal measure; of Susan Sontag’s use of cultural criticism to understand history and the self; of Zadie Smith’s verbal wizardry, playfulness, and wide-ranging curiosity; and Ross Gay’s sensitivity, sense of beauty and poignancy, and, ultimately, joyfulness. Another gift from this magical writer!” —Jeff Deutsch, Seminary Co-op Bookstore and 57th Street Books, Chicago, IL

In The Media

The People "Picks" book of the week is Festival Days by Jo Ann Beard (Little, Brown: Hachette). Also getting attention are Plunder by Menachem Kaiser (Houghton Harcourt) and Are We There Yet? by Kathleen West (Berkley). A “Star Picks: The Last Book I Loved” section highlights Into the Magic Shop: A Neurosurgeon's Quest to Discover the Mysteries of the Brain and the Secrets of the Heart by James R. Doty (Avery: Random House), Last Girl Before Freeway: The Life, Loves, Losses, and Liberation of Joan Rivers by Leslie Bennetts (Little, Brown: Hachette), and The Sleepwalker by Chris Bohjalian (Doubleday: Random House). The "Picks" section also features The Falcon and the Winter Soldier and Invincible, which have associated titles. Glenn Close is up for a SAG award for Hillbilly Elegybased on the book by J. D. Vance, Anthony Hopkins for The Father, based on Le Père by French playwright Florian Zeller, and Viola Davis for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, based on the play by August Wilson. Frances McDormand is up for an Oscar for Nomadland, based on the book by Jessica Bruder and Leslie Odom Jr. for One Night in Miami, based on the play by Kemp Powers. People profiles icon Rickie Lee Jones, Last Chance Texaco: Chronicles of an American Troubadour (Grove), and Samantha Busch, Fighting Infertility: Finding My Inner Warrior Through Trying to Conceive, IVF, and Miscarriage (Health Communications: S. & S.). Plus, Michael Silverstein, New Keto Cooking (Page Street: Macmillan) shares a recipe.

Reviews

The NYT reviews: You Made Me Love You by John Edgar Wideman (Scribner): “Six or eight of the stories in “You Made Me Love You” are destroyers. Read “Across the Wide Missouri” if you want to see what this writer can do. Others, especially from later in his career, meander.” Also, The AOC Generation: How Millennials Are Seizing Power and Rewriting the Rules of American Politics by David Freedlander (Beacon Press): “At the center of his story is Representative Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, who may need no introduction but still might blush to read this glowing portrayal by a reporter who lives in her New York City district and appears to have interviewed only people who share his sentiments.”

The Washington Post reviews The Beauty of Living Twice by Sharon Stone (Knopf): “Writing with zeal and urgency, Stone argues for a stronger legal system, for rape kits on police shelves to be processed, for better training for teachers and pediatricians. Above all, she offers a hopeful glimpse of life beyond trauma.” Also, Children Under Fire: An American Crisis by John Woodrow Cox (Ecco): “an important book and should be read by as many people as possible.” And, Laundry Love: Finding Joy in a Common Chore by Patric Richardson with Karin B. Miller (Flatiron): “For Richardson, laundry is an act of love, and “Laundry Love” is his treatise to America’s laundry rooms and the clothes that tumble in them.” Girlhood by Melissa Febos, (Bloomsbury): “whether examining adolescent bullying and the etymological roots of the word “slut” or exploring the evolution of consent against the backdrop of cuddle parties, Febos illuminates how women are conditioned to be complicit in our own exploitation.” The Barbizon: The Hotel That Set Women Free by Paulina Bren (S. & S.; LJ Starred Review): “a story as much about 20th-century women seizing agency, in fits and starts, as it is about a hotel, and Bren tells it skillfully.” The Hardest Place: The American Military Adrift in Afghanistan’s Pech Valley by Wesley Morgan (Random; LJ Starred Review): “future generations would also do well to read Morgan’s book. There is no romance in it. Only a tragedy.” We Own This City: A True Storyof Crime, Cops, and Corruption by Justin Fenton (Random): “It’s an old story line that somehow never gets old: the travails of gritty Baltimore, a city with more than its share of poverty, drug addiction and violent crime.” Useful Delusions: The Power and Paradox of the Self-Deceiving Brain by Shankar Vedantam & Bill Mesler (Norton; LJ Starred Review): “We’re constantly fooling ourselves — and that’s (mostly) okay.”

USA Today reviews Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge (Algonquin): Overall, however, "Libertie" shines as a deeply moving portrait of two very different women and the fraught but loving intertwining of their lives.”

Briefly Noted

Tributes pour in for beloved author Beverly Cleary: The NYT has an obituary. Also, USA Today has a rememberance and Entertainment Weekly posts this. The Washington Post offers this perspective.  People has the story of how Judy Blume exchanged letters with Beverly Cleary after getting each other’s fan mail. Plus, LitHub has a piece on “How Ramona Quimby Taught a Generation of Girls to Embrace Brashness.”

New of Larry McMurtry's passing also came this weekend: The NYT has an obituary and an essential reading list. USA Today has an obituary, as does The Washington Post.

“Morris Dickstein, Critic and Cultural Historian, Dies at 81,” The NYT reports.

USA Today picks 5 books for the week.

CrimeReads suggests 10 new books coming out this week.

The Millions has “The Nine Best Campus Novels.”

BookRiot has books to read after you’ve watched Moxie, My So-Called Life, or Felicity. Also, the best 5 books to get started with Jhumpa Lahiri. And, 9 sapphic graphic memoirs. Plus, reflections and a reading list for the 10th anniversary of the Great East Japan earthquake and tsunami.

Bustle has a Women in STEM book list. Also, BuzzFeed has Must-Read Spring Romance Novels and Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books With Powerful Women Protagonists.

ElectricLit lists 8 Nonfiction Books About Women Trailblazers in Male-Dominated Fields. 

The L.A. Times interviews Kirstin Valdez Quade about her debut novel, The Five Wounds (Norton; LJ Starred Review).

LitHub has a reading list to close out Women’s History Month. Also, GMA Book Club authors share their picks.

Deadline reports that “Captain Underpants’ Spin-off Book Pulled By Scholastic For ‘Passive Racism’." USA Today also reports.

The NYT asks if the Pandemic would stop Paul Theroux, Under the Wave at Waimea, (Houghton Harcourt), from traveling?

George Takei discusses how to fight anti-Asian violence for the L.A. Times Book Club.

The Guardian talks with Maggie O’Farrell on “on the life‑threatening virus that shaped her writing, the superstitions that held her back, and why her prize-winning novel Hamnet speaks to our times”

The Washington Post talks to Sarah Pinborough, Behind Her Eyes (Flatiron), “about that controversial twist.”

Allyson Dinneen talks about her new bookNotes From Your Therapist (HMH) with Shondaland.

The Duchess of Cambridge and the U.K.'s National Portrait Gallery are turning the 100 winning photos from COVID-19 community photo project into a book. USA Today has the story.

The Bookseller reports a three book deal for Bernadine Evaristo.

Authors On Air

“George R.R. Martin Signs Massive Five-Year Overall Deal with HBO.” The Hollywood Reporter has the exclusive.

Sarah Maas, A Court of Silver Flames (Bloomsbury: Macmillan), will co-adapt A Court of Thorn and Roses as a tv show for Hulu, Entertainment Weekly reports.

Jennifer Lopez is attached to star in an adaptation of Isabella Maldonado’s novel The Cipher, Deadline reports.

CBS Sunday Morning features Senator Tammy Duckworth, Every Day Is a Gift (Twelve; LJ Starred Review). Also, book reviews from Ron Charles.

NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday talked with Luke Epplin about his new book, Our Team: The Epic Story of Four Men and the World Series That Changed Baseball (Flatiron), and “How Black Players Propelled Cleveland's Baseball Team To Win The 1948 World Series.”

NPR’s Alt.Latino features “From The 'Cosmic Barrio' To 'Despacito,' Two Latin Music Books We Love.”  And, Pop Culture Happy Hour has “Beverly Cleary's Essential Books.”

The Hollywood Reporter posts “'Godzilla vs. Kong' Stomps to Pandemic-Best $122M Foreign Start.”

Giada De Laurentiis, Eat Better, Feel Better: My Recipes for Wellness and Healing, Inside and Out (Rodale) is on Drew Barrymore today.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?