Junot Díaz Relinquishes Position as Pulitzer Chair | Book Pulse

Junot Díaz relinquishes his position as Pulitzer Chair and both The Pulitzer Prize board and the university where he teaches have opened investigations. The Shirley Jackson Award nominees are announced.EarlyWord and LibraryReads post their new suggestions.

More Fallout for Junot Díaz

Junot Díaz relinquishes his position as Pulitzer Chair; he will “remain a part of the body,” reports the NYT, “The Pulitzer Prize board has opened an independent review of sexual misconduct allegations,” the paper continues, noting that “M.I.T., where Mr. Díaz is a writing professor, has begun looking into allegations of sexual misconduct [as well].” Vox has a further report on sexual harassment in publishing.

Reviews

The NYT reviews The Wife’s Tale: A Personal History by Aida Edemariam (Harper), writing it has a “capacious, warmly beating heart.” Also Every Other Weekend by Zulema Renee Summerfield (Little, Brown): “comes as close as any novel I’ve read to capturing post-divorce depletion, and she does so from a child’s perspective, which is exactly as gut-wrenching as it sounds.” The Shortlist focuses on the rise of violent white extremism and the paper gathers “Enchanting New Picture Books.”

NPR reviews Free Woman: Life, Liberation, and Doris Lessing by Lara Feigel (Bloomsbury: Macmillan), “a combination of memoir and Doris Lessing biography [that] … takes shape around [the] question, as asked by women to the men they love: How have you made me less free?

The LA Times features The Last Cowboys: A Pioneer Family in the New West by John Branch (W.W. Norton), writing “what Branch focuses on so beautifully is how one remarkable American family navigates the situation of wanting to do dangerous, peculiar and deeply impressive kinds of work. ‘All they wanted,’ Branch writes, ‘was something much like what their ancestors had done: raise cattle and build something together.'”

A review in The Wall Street Journal (subscription only) is sending In Defense of Troublemakers: The Power of Dissent in Life and Business by Charlan Nemeth (Basic Books: Hachette) soaring up the Amazon charts.

Briefly Noted

The 2017 Shirley Jackson Award nominees are announced.

Kayo Chingonyi wins the Dylan Thomas award for his debut poetry collection Kumukanda (Random House UK).

EarlyWord has posted the summary and titles from its May GalleyChat.

The June LibraryReads list is out. Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris (St. Martin’s; LJ starred review) is the top pick.

The Hollywood Reporter interviews Jake TapperThe Hellfire Club (Little, Brown: Hachette).

Shondaland interviews Ilyasah Shabazz about her new children’s book, Betty Before X (FSG; SLJ starred review).

The NYT profiles Franchesca Ramsey, Well, That Escalated Quickly: Memoirs and Mistakes of an Accidental Activist (Grand Central) and Isabella Rossellini, My Chickens and I (Abrams). Also a profile of Ian McEwan‘s work as a movie consultant.

Seanan McGuire writes about the racism of H.P. Lovecraft and how Ruthanna Emrys’s Winter Tide and Deep Roots (both from Tor.com: Macmillan) “provide a view on the Mythos—which was, after all, never solely Lovecraft’s to begin with—that says we are all welcome, and they do so within the framework of brilliantly plotted, effortlessly paced, utterly human stories.”

Time features Barracoon: The Story of the Last “Black Cargo by Zora Neale Hurston (Amistad: Harper). History.com has a story too.

To Kill a Mockingbird is cleared for Broadway after a dueling set of lawsuits were settled yesterday, reports the NYT.

USA Today has a list of “10 great gift book ideas for Mother’s Day.” Most of the choices highlight the new buzzy lifestyle, biography/memoir, and travel books of the moment. The LA Times features related book, American Mom: A Celebration of Motherhood in Pop Culture by Meredith Hale (Sterling).

Paste has a list of the 10 best YA books of May.

Chelsea Clinton is publishing a book for children about activism. Start Now! You Can Make a Difference (Penguin Young Readers) will come out this fall.

io9 has the cover reveal and an excerpt of Brandon Sanderson’s new YA book Skyward (Delacorte: Random).

The LA Times asked readers what book changed their life, and posts some of the answers.

Keeping on with the bookstore/library list theme, and in a ready-made display, Signature offers “12 Libraries in Fiction We Wish We Could Visit in Real Life.”

For advisors looking for read-alikes for Oliver Sacks, three trade journals, including LJ in a starred review, have paired him to Unthinkable: An Extraordinary Journey Through the World’s Strangest Brains by Helen Thomson (Ecco: Harper).

Authors on Air

John Green talks about the Looking for Alaska adaptation.

The Guardian reports on the woman filmmakers leading the next wave of superhero films.

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan (Penguin, July 2018) might be headed to screens. The same for Lawrence Osborne’s Beautiful Animals (Hogarth: Random).

Mayim Bialik, Boying Up: How to Be Brave, Bold and Brilliant (Philomel: Penguin) will be on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert tonight.

Adaptations opening today and over the weekend include:

The Seagull. Rolling Stone loves the performances but not the film. The Guardian calls it “brisk and funny.”

Patrick Melrose. The NYT offers a reading list and calls Benedict Cumberbatch “Peerless.”



Little Women
. Vanity Fair calls it “Thoroughly Un-Modern” and writes “Maybe you can’t successfully adapt a Victorian novel without addressing progress.”

CLICK HERE to receive daily Book Pulse alerts in your inbox

No Comments to this Article. Be the first user to comment.

RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.