'Are You Listening?' by Tillie Walden Wins Eisner Award | Book Pulse

The Eisner awards are announced. Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden wins Best Graphic Album – New, while Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki, Rosemary Valero and the Invisible Kingdom series by G. Willow Wilson, Christian Ward win the most categories. Deadlock by Catherine Coulter leads holds this week. People’s “Book of the Week” is Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell. The nominees for the 2020 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards are announced. Comic-Con@Home gets wide coverage. O: The Oprah Magazine will cease regular print publication as of December 2020. George Clooney is in negotiations to direct the Amazon Studios's adaptation of J.R. Moehringer’s The Tender Bar. A stage musical adaptation of Hidden Figures is on the board at Disney.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week

Deadlock by Catherine Coulter (Gallery Books: S. & S.) leads holds this week.

Other titles in demand include:

1st Case by James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts (Little, Brown: Hachette)

The End of Her by Shari Lapena (Pamela Dorman Books: Penguin)

Playing Nice by JP Delaney (Ballantine: Random House)

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Evolution by Brian Freeman (G. P. Putnam’s Sons: Penguin)

These books and others publishing the week of July 27, 2020, are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

There are two LibraryReads picks for the week:

Playing Nice by JP Delaney (Ballantine: Random House)

“Two babies are switched at birth in the NICU. One has severe disabilities, the other doesn’t. Two years later, the families learn of the mistake and their lives--and lies--become more entangled. Highly recommended for fans of psychological thrillers who are tired of typical plotlines.” —Kelly Verheyden, San Diego Public Library, San Diego, CA

Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir by Natasha Trethewey (Ecco: Harper; LJ starred review)

"Explores the author’s relationship with her mother, piecing together events that led up to her mother's murder at the hands of her stepfather. For fans of No Visible Bruises by Rachel Louise Snyder and The Red Parts by Maggie Nelson." —Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA NoveList read-alike: Blood by Allison Moorer

It is also an Indie Next selection:

“Natasha Trethewey was 19 when her mother was murdered by her stepfather in 1985. For decades, she hid the event, and memories of her mother, in the recesses of her mind while she went on to win a Pulitzer Prize and become the Poet Laureate of the United States. Now, decades later, she opens herself up to her past to produce a harrowing yet beautiful memorial.” —Mike Hare, Northshire Saratoga, Saratoga Springs, NY

There are six Indie Next selections for the week as well:

Flyaway by Kathleen Jennings (Tor.com: Macmillan; LJ starred review)

“I’ve never read anything quite like this book. The prose is confident—it’s like an iron backbone on which strange and beautiful flowers grow. Jennings’ use of syntax is utterly unique. Words that should bump and snap at each other instead morph and burst into unforgettable sentences. This is a... fairy tale? An allegory? A murder mystery? I’m not entirely sure. It doesn’t matter. Trying to categorize this wonderful novel would be like putting a unicorn into a horse box. It wouldn’t fit and the horn would shatter the wood. Best to leave it unbound and wild, admire it for what it is, and wonder at what it’s not.” —Aimee Keeble, Main Street Books, Davidson, NC

Hieroglyphics by Jill McCorkle (Algonquin: Workman)

“Jill McCorkle’s latest novel, Hieroglyphics, tackles early loss and how its memory persists in the minds of those who experience it. McCorkle weaves the stories of four unassuming characters and their individual traumas into a braided cord of empathy, revelation, and survival. Her storytelling skill is in high gear in this quiet yet deeply insightful drama that will remain in the reader’s mind long after the final page.” —Linda Kass, Gramercy Books, Bexley, OH

Crossings by Alex Landragin (St. Martin’s Press: Macmillan; LJ starred review)

“Whoa! I am blown away by this book! A few wandering souls travel over time and space from the early 1800s to WWII in this truly unique story of love, struggle, and the desire to make things right. This book can be read two different ways: from cover to cover or in a page order mapped out at the beginning. It is a completely different reading experience depending on which way you choose. The atmosphere of Crossings is one of Sherlock Holmes written by a David Mitchell-esque character with a love for literature and Paris. This novel is beyond explanation—just read it!” —Danica Ramgoolam, Townie Books, Crested Butte, CO

Empire of Wild by Cherie Dimaline (William Morrow: Harper)

“Cherie Dimaline’s latest novel packs a wallop of a story. Absolutely stunning in every way, this latest offering follows the story of Joan, whose husband has disappeared, and her courage when confronted with truths and lies. She and her husband, Victor, live in a Métis community, close and tight knit. As Joan deals with the fallout of her emotions after Victor disappears, she comes across another man, Eugene Wolff, who bears her husband’s face. He does not carry Victor’s memories and insists he has no idea who Joan’s husband is. Turning over rocks to find the truth, Joan reaches out to whomever she can in her community for help. What waits for her at the end of her quest is incredible. This novel will have you at the edge of your seat!” —Annie Carl, The Neverending Bookshop, Edmonds, WA

The Butterfly Lampshade by Aimee Bender (Doubleday: Random House)

“I absolutely loved reading The Butterfly Lampshade. We’re escorted through Aimee Bender’s novel by Francie, who as a child is removed from her mother’s care because of mental illness. Throughout the story, Francie questions her own sanity as she deeply believes she witnesses phenomena that defy nature. Increasingly, she withdraws from the world, owning next to nothing and working hard to remember the events of her life. This book and this amazing character are astonishing.” —Mark LaFramboise, Politics and Prose Bookstore, Washington, DC

I Hold a Wolf by the Ears: Stories by Laura van den Berg (FSG: Macmillan)

“Laura van den Berg’s new collection of stories, one of the most unique I’ve read in recent years, navigates a space between the outer and inner world and takes unexpected turns that, like her novel, The Third Hotel, seem to bring in aesthetics of literature outside our time and place to tell stories that are very much grounded in our present. These stories are thrilling, timeless, and get better when you reread them. I’ve read ‘Hill of Hell’ more than five times by now.” —Fernando Flores, Malvern Books, Austin, TX

In the Media

People’s “Book of the Week” is Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell (Knopf). Also getting attention are Musical Chairs by Amy Poeppel (Atria/Emily Bestler Books (S. & S.) and Filthy Beasts by Kirkland Hamill (Avid Reader Press: S. & S.). The “New in Nonfiction” feature showcases The Well-Gardened Mind: The Restorative Power of Nature by Sue Stuart-Smith (S. & S.), This Is Major: Notes on Diana Ross, Dark Girls, and Being Dope by Shayla Lawson (Harper Perennial; LJ starred review), and Raising a Rare Girl: A Memoir by Heather Lanier (Penguin). The “Teen Pick” is Kobe Bryant’s Geese Are Never Swans, written with psychologist Eva Clark (Granity Studios). Making People’s “Pick” list are The Alienist: Angel of Darkness, Normal People, and Mrs. America. Rosamund Pike, starring in Radioactive, has a Q&A. There is a feature on Rep. John Lewis, the March trilogy (Top Shelf), Walking with the Wind: A Memoir of the Movement (S. & S.), and Across That Bridge: A Vision for Change and the Future of America (Hachette). Also, a feature on Alex Trebek, The Answer Is . . . : Reflections on My Life (S. & S.). The recipe for the week comes from Heirloom Kitchen: Heritage Recipes and Family Stories from the Tables of Immigrant Women by Anna Francese Gass (Harper Design).

Reviews

L.A. Times reviews Intimations: Six Essays by Zadie Smith (Penguin): “She is a spectacular essayist … I never doubt her voice on the page.”

NPR reviews The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Cartoonist by Adrian Tomine (Drawn and Quarterly: Macmillan; LJ starred review): “what Tomine has managed to do so well here is reveal something that few artists are able to discuss without sounding unaware or falsely humble: the incredibly hard, exhausting, and often can't-see-the-trees-for-the-forest kind of work involved in building a career in the arts."

USA Today reviews A Star Is Bored by Byron Lane (Henry Holt: Macmillan), giving it three stars and calling it “a fizzy new novel that upends celebrity culture with an insider’s look at the care and feeding of big stars.”     

The NYT reviews Alice Knott by Blake Butler (Riverhead: Penguin): “Don’t expect a conventional reading experience ... a meditation on art and perception whose form seems to serve as both a meta-comment on the function of the novel, and a challenge to the expectations that a reader should bring to one.” The Time of Green Magic by Hilary McKay (S. & S./Margaret K. McElderry Bks; SLJ starred review): “utterly enchanting.” Ghosting the News: Local Journalism and the Crisis of American Democracy by Margaret Sullivan (Columbia Global Reports): “a brisk and pointed tribute to painstaking, ordinary and valuable work.” “The Shortlist” gathers “Novels of Suspense and Isolation.”

The Washington Post reviews Exercise of Power: American Failures, Successes, and a New Path Forward in the Post-Cold War World by Robert M. Gates (Knopf; LJ starred review): “Gates’s policy and strategic advice to future decision-makers more than outweighs its blemishes and omissions. He skillfully blends the knowledge and discipline of a scholar with the hard-earned experience of a practitioner to produce a well-organized and superbly written book to lead America forward into a very different and challenging new world.” Also, Twilight of Democracy: The Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism by Anne Applebaum (Doubleday: Random House; LJ starred review): “offers many lessons on the long-standing struggle between democracy and dictatorship. But perhaps the most important is how fragile democracy is: Its survival depends on choices made every day by elites and ordinary people.” Stranger in the Shogun's City: A Japanese Woman and Her World by Amy Stanley (Scribner: S. & S.): “captivating … enthralling … I had trouble pulling myself back into the present whenever I put the book down.” Demagogue for President: The Rhetorical Genius of Donald Trump by Jennifer Mercieca (Texas A&M): “It’s a brilliant dissertation on Trump’s patented brand of balderdash. That makes it one of the most important political books of this perilous summer.” The Next Great Migration: The Beauty and Terror of Life on the Move by Sonia Shah (Bloomsbury: Macmillan): “a provocative invitation to imagine the inevitable migration of the future as an opportunity, rather than a threat.” Lastly, the paper has a roundup of book related to “30 years of the ADA: Measuring progress and calling for improvements.”

Briefly Noted

The Eisner awards are announced. Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden (First Second: Macmillan) wins Best Graphic Album – New, while Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki, Rosemary Valero (First Second: Macmillan) and the Invisible Kingdom series by G. Willow Wilson, Christian Ward (Berger Books: Random House) win the most categories. The ceremony is here and the full list of winners here.

The nominees for the 2020 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards are announced. The award honors “literary excellence by Black writers from the United States and around the world.”

Kraszna-Krausz book awards shortlists are out for Photography Book Award and Moving Image Book Award. Publishing Perspectives has details.

David M. Glantz, Operation Don's Left Wing: The Trans-Caucasus Front's Pursuit of the First Panzer Army, November 1942-February 1943 (Univ. Kansas) wins the Pritzker Military Museum & Library Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing.

USA Today picks five books for the week.

The Shout ‘n Share program wraps up and Booklist has the full run of titles shared. Here are the slides.

The NYT has a “A Guide to Nordic Noir.” Also, the paper has some bookish suggestions for activities this week.

Jessica Simpson has summer reads for Amazon.

Amrou Al-Kadhi, Life as a Unicorn: A Journey from Shame to Pride and Everything in Between (Fourth Estate: Harper), makes a list for Lit Hub entitled “Queens In-Between: 6 Revelatory Books on Drag.”

Book Riot has “20 Must-Read Black Authors of LGBTQ Books.”

The Guardian interviews Bryan Washington, Memorial (Riverhead: Penguin).

Bernardine Evaristo, Girl, Woman, Other (Grove Press, Black Cat), answers The Guardian’s  “The Q&A” column.

HuffPost interviews He Came in With It: A Portrait of Motherhood and Madness by Miriam Feldman (Turner).

The Guardian interviews Adrian Tomine, The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Cartoonist (Drawn and Quarterly: Macmillan; LJ starred review).

The L. A. Times spotlights Laurie R King, Riviera Gold (Bantam: Random House; LJ starred review), calling her books “the definition of binge-able.”

Entertainment Weekly showcases 1000 Women In Horror, 1895-2018 by Alexandra Heller-Nicholas (BearManor Media).

Entertainment Weekly excerpts Of Women and Salt by Gabriela Garcia (Flatiron: Macmillan).

Vanity Fair reports on The Times (UK)  excerpts of Finding Freedom: Harry and Meghan and the Making of a Modern Royal Family by Omid Scobie, Carolyn Durand (Dey Street Books: Harper). More here and here.

In more forthcoming book news, announced at Comic-Con@Home is Dune: The Duke of Caladan by Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson (Tor Books: Macmillan). io9 has details, as well as more coverage of Comic-Con@Home. Also, Tor.com has full coverage of Comic-Con@Home.

Entertainment Weekly features Marvel Eat the Universe: The Official Cookbook by Justin Warner (Insight: S. & S.).

NYT features Sarah Stewart Johnson, The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World (Crown: Random House).

The NYT brings back the “Celebrity Bookshelf Detective.”

Business of Fashion reports that O: The Oprah Magazine will cease regular print publication as of December 2020.

Brad Watson has died. The NYT has an obituary.

Richard Gelles has died. The NYT has an obituary.

Actress and author Olivia de Havilland has died. Deadline has an obituary.

Entertainer and author Regis Philbin has died. The Washington Post has an obituary.

Authors on Air

NPR’s Weekend Edition interviews Kelli Jo Ford, Crooked Hallelujah (Grove Press). NPR's All Things Considered interviews Governor Larry Hogan, Still Standing: Surviving Cancer, Riots, a Global Pandemic, and the Toxic Politics that Divide America (BenBella Books).

Deadline reports on a brief look at the Snyder cut of Justice League. George Clooney is in negotiations to direct the Amazon Studios adaptation of J.R. Moehringer’s The Tender Bar. He apparently is also still on board the adaptation of Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown as a later project. The Walking Dead: World Beyond debuts on October 4. Fear the Walking Dead premieres on Oct. 11. The 11th season of The Walking Dead itself is not going to air in October but there will be new episodes for season 10. A stage musical adaptation of Hidden Figures is on the board at Disney. It is based on the book by Margot Lee Shetterly. Barack Obama will be the first guest on the Michelle Obama podcast, starting July 29. Netflix is planning a third installment of The Kissing Booth films, based on the novels by Beth Reekles.

Electric Lit offers “What to Read After Bingeing Indian Matchmaking on Netflix.

Lovecraft Country gets a trailer. It premieres on August 16 on HBO and is based on the book by Matt Ruff.

Two trailers are out for The Walking Dead expansions. This one for The Walking Dead: World Beyond and this one for Fear the Walking Dead.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?