'The Last Days of John Lennon' Leads Holds This Week | Book Pulse

The Last Days of John Lennon by James Patterson with Casey Sherman leads holds this week. The January Indie Next list is up, and the top pick is The Prophets by Robert Jones, Jr. Luster by Raven Leilani wins the 2020 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. Roald Dahl's family issues an apology for anti-Semitic comments he made. Plus, DC Comics says Ava DuVernay will adapt its Naomi series for TV.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week

The Last Days of John Lennon by James Patterson with Casey Sherman (Little Brown: Hachette) leads holds this week.

Other titles in high demand include:

Bag Man: The Wild Crimes, Audacious Cover-Up, and Spectacular Downfall of a Brazen Crook in the White House by Rachel Maddow and Michael Yarvitz (Crown: Random House; LJ starred review)

Layla by Colleen Hoover (Montlake)

The How Not to Diet Cookbook: 100+ Recipes for Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss by Michael Greger (Flatiron: Macmillan)

A Promise of Ankles: 44 Scotland Street (14) by Alexander McCall Smith (Anchor: Random House)

Cold Wind by Paige Shelton (Minotaur: Macmillan)

Hidden Treasure: A Josie Prescott Antiques Mystery by Jane K. Cleland (Minotaur: Macmillan)

These books and others publishing the week of Dec. 7, 2020, are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

There is one LibraryReads selections arriving this week:

Take It Back by Kia Abdullah (St. Martin's: Macmillan)

"Jodie, a teen with facial deformities, accuses four Muslim boys of raping her after a party. Jodie’s mom, her best friend, and her classmates don’t believe her. The only one who believes her is Zara Kaleel, a former high powered attorney who now works as a sexual assault advocate. For fans of The Holdout and Night Swim." —Yvonne Selander, Somerset County Public Library, Bridgewater, NJ

There is one title on the Indie Next list coming out this week:

A Certain Hunger by Chelsea G. Summers (The Unnamed Press; LJ starred review)

"A surprising novel that will lure you in with its delicious writing and leave you hungry (in more ways than one). Food critic Dorothy Daniels wants good food and good sex, and she will go to whatever lengths she needs in order to get them. At once a critique of the food industry and a criminal’s account, A Certain Hunger is a stunning feminist page-turner. With its devious protagonist and delectable prose, you will devour this novel." —Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books, Cambridge, MA

In the Media

People’s "Book of the Week" is Survival of the Thickest: Essays by Michelle Buteau (Gallery: S. & S.). Other books highlighted include Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen (Algonquin: Workman; LJ starred review) and The Particulars of Peter: Dance Lessons, DNA Tests, and Other Excuses to Hang Out with My Perfect Dog by Kelly Conaboy (Grand Central: Hachette). Three new nonfictions titles in the spotlight are Barack Before Obama: Life Before the Presidency by David Katz (Ecco: HarperCollins), A Cat's Tale: A Journey Through Feline History by Dr. Paul Koudounaris (Henry Holt: Macmillan), and Girl Gurl Grrrl: On Womanhood and Belonging in the Age of Black Girl Magic by Kenya Hunt. People “Picks” include The Hardy Boys. There's a profile of Kathie Lee Gifford, It’s Never Too Late: Make the Next Act of Your Life the Best Act of Your Life (Thomas Nelson: Harper Collins Christian). As part of its year-end coverage, there are memorials for Ruth Bader Ginsberg, Alex Trebek, Chadwick Boseman, and John Lewis, among others. Jonathan Waxman, The Barbuto Cookbook: California-Italian Cooking from the Beloved West Village Restaurant (Abrams) shares a pasta recipe.

Reviews

The NYT reviews Bag Man: The Wild Crimes, Audacious Cover-Up, and Spectacular Downfall of a Brazen Crook in the White House by Rachel Maddow and Michael Yarvitz (Crown: Random House; LJ starred review): "...a breezy book." Also, I Came as a Shadow: An Autobiography by John Thompson with Jesse Washington (Henry Holt: Macmillan): "Thompson, who died in August at 78, has left behind an unusually good sports memoir with an unusual title."

USA Today reviews Crosshairs by Catherine Hernandez (Atria: S. & S.), which earns 2.5 stars: "An at-times tough (depending on your sensitivity to violence and abuse) but solid read, 'Crosshairs' tells a story of battling against the insidious nature of fascism and white supremacy by being unabashedly yourself."

NPR reviews Ordesa by Manuel Vilas (Riverhead: Penguin; LJ starred review): "It's a complicated novel, both fascinating and maddening, and one that's likely to divide readers sharply." Also, The Blade Between by Sam J. Miller (Ecco: Harper Collins): "This is a complex novel that never allows one storyline to overpower the others." 

Book Marks has "The Best Reviewed Books of 2020: Memoir and Biography."

Briefly Noted 

The January Indie Next list is up. The top pick is The Prophets by Robert Jones, Jr. (G.P. Putnam's Sons: Penguin; LJ starred review).

Luster by Raven Leilani (FSG: Macmillan) wins the 2020 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. See the awards ceremony here.

Intimations by Zadie Smith (Penguin; LJ starred review) is highlighted in Vulture's "First (And Hopefully Last) Quarries" awards.

Lit Hub picks the 65 best books of the year. Plus, five recent books on the climate crisis.

Authors who published in 2020 share the best books they read this year with The Guardian

Kirkus picks the best nonfiction of 2020.

The NYT chooses "The 10 Best Crime Novels of 2020."

Maureen Corrigan offers "10 Books That Will Connect You In A Socially Distant Year" on NPR's Fresh Air.

USA Today picks five books for the week.

CrimeReads lists 10 of this week's new releases.

Entertainment Weekly recommends new romances and comics.

O: The Oprah Magazine lists 27 romances to look out for in 2021.

Steven Rinella, The MeatEater Guide to Wilderness Skills and Survival (Random House), shares his favorite books of the year with Amazon.

Jess Walter offers book recommendations in The Seattle Times.

BuzzFeed rounds up some of this week's virtual book events.

Nobel-prize winning poet Louise Glück will publish a new collection, Winter Recipes from the Collective (Penguin), next fall. The Guardian has details.

Sinead O’Connor's memoir, Rememberings (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) will be published in June. The Associated Press reports.

A new High Republic book is coming. The Hollywood Reporter says Star Wars: The Rising Storm by Cavan Scott (Del Rey: Random House) is due out July 2021. Also, DC Comics will launch a new Swamp Thing comic series in March.

Lavie Tidhar shares details about The Best of World SF: Volume 1 (Ad Astra), which he is editing and is due out June 2021, with Tor.com.

CrimeReads has an excerpt of My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones (Gallery / Saga: S. & S.). It's due out Aug. 2021.

Lit Hib speaks with Tina Turner, Happiness Becomes You: A Guide to Changing Your Life for Good (Atria: S. & S.).

Kamala Puligandla discusses Zigzags (Not a Cult) with Shondaland.

Sabaa Tahir, A Sky Beyond the Storm (Razorbill: Penguin), talks about ending the Ember series with Entertainment Weekly.

Salon Talks features Joe Scarborough, Saving Freedom: Truman, the Cold War, and the Fight for Western Civilization (Harper).

The Rumpus speaks with Éireann Lorsung, The Century (Milkweed).

The NYT's "T’s Book Club" features Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin.

The Wall Street Journal talks to Barnes & Nobel Chief Executive James Daunt about recent changes he's made to the business, which include a number of layoffs.

Roald Dahl's family issues an apology for anti-Semitic comments he made. Also, the ex-wife of French author Emmanuel Carrère argues that he invaded her privacy by using her likeness without her permission in his latest novel,Yoga. The NYT reports.

The L.A. Times suggests "The latest publishing mega-merger might kill off small presses — and literary diversity."

The NYT has an obituary for poet Naomi Long Madgett, who died on Nov. 5.

Authors on Air 

DC Comics says Ava DuVernay will adapt its Naomi series, by Brian Michael Bendis, David F. Walker, and Jamal Campbell, for TV.

David Sedaris, The Best of Me (Little, Brown: Hachette), is featured on CBS Sunday Morning. The segment spawned some blowback, and the author was trending on Twitter.

NPR's Morning Edition Saturday interviews Michel Faber, D (A Tale of Two Worlds) (Hanover Square: HarperCollins).

Ben Raines, Saving America's Amazon: The Threat to Our Nation’s Most Biodiverse River System (New South), gives NPR's Weekend Edition Sunday a tour of the Alabama river delta.

Chris Stedman, IRL: Finding Realness, Meaning, and Belonging in Our Digital Lives (Broadleaf) talks about being "real" on the internet with NPR's Morning Edition.

The CBC's The Next Chapter features Farzana Doctor, Seven (Dundurn).

Tsitsi Dangarembga discusses the post-colonial Zimbabwe of This Mournable Body (Graywolf: Macmillan) with the CBC's Writers and Company.

Emotional Intelligence: Why It Can Matter More Than IQ by Daniel Goleman is featured on the Today Show.

Mariah Carey, The Meaning of Mariah Carey (Andy Cohen Books: Macmillan), will be on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

Matthew McConaughey, Greenlights (Crown: Random House), is on The Late Late Show with James Corden.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?