12 Books Sure to be the Center
of Conversation

Mystery, Intrigue, Doom, Redemption, Ambition, Hardship, and Secrets

All original and already being talked about, Sourcebook’s new fall Adult and YA lineup—including a re-issue of librarians' most-beloved author Georgette Heyer will keep readers reading all night. Filled with best-selling authors these starred reviewed titles and “Picks” are jam-packed with best-loved characters, genre favorites, spellbinding tales, astonishing sagas, and inspirational stories.

Mystery, Intrigue, Doom, Redemption, Ambition, Hardship, and Secrets

All original and already being talked about, Sourcebook’s new fall Adult and YA lineup—including a re-issue of librarians' most-beloved author Georgette Heyer will keep readers reading all night. Filled with best-selling authors these starred reviewed titles and “Picks” are jam-packed with best-loved characters, genre favorites, spellbinding tales, astonishing sagas, and inspirational stories.

 


 

The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
by Stuart Turton

#1 LibraryReads pick for September 2018 | Booklist Starred Review

The most inventive debut of 2018, this clever, mind-bending murder mystery will leave readers guessing until the very last page. At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed. Again. She's been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden's only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle's murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend. But nothing and no one are quite what they seem. Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Dean Koontz's Ashley Bell and Agatha Christie.

   

Bellewether
by Susanna Kearsley

#3 LibraryReads pick for August 2018 | Library Journal & Booklist Starred Review

A magical new masterpiece from New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley! A rich, haunting tale that will draw you in and never let you go. It's the summer of 1759, and the world is at war. Times are complicated, as are the loyalties of many in New York who have secretly been playing a treacherous game of cat-and-mouse with their British rulers. In this world of conflict and secrecy, a young captured French Canadian lieutenant is billeted with a Long Island family, only to find himself drawn more and more to the daughter of the house. He cannot speak her language, but he can see into her soul. Legend has it that their love ended tragically, but centuries later, a young historian discovers that the clues they left behind might slowly unveil the true story.

   

Sold on a Monday
by Kristina McMorris

Readers will be drawn to the “story behind the story,” which aligns perfectly with McMorris’s previous titles

A picture is worth a thousand words, but sometimes the story behind the picture is worth a thousand more.  2 CHILDREN FOR SALE. In 1931, near Philadelphia, ambitious reporter Ellis Reed photographs the gut-wrenching sign posted beside a pair of siblings on a farmhouse porch. With the help of newspaper secretary Lily Palmer, Ellis writes an article to accompany the photo. Capturing the hardships of American families during the Great Depression, the feature story generates national attention and Ellis's career skyrockets. But the piece also leads to consequences more devastating than he and Lily ever imagined -- and it will risk everything they value to unravel the mystery and set things right.  Inspired by a newspaper photo that stunned readers throughout the country and written by a New York Times bestselling author, Sold on a Monday is a powerful novel of ambition, redemption, love and family. 

   

The Fallen Architect
by Charles Belfoure

Readers love the architectural details Belfoure weaves into his page-turning mysteries

In this riveting novel from The New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Architect, a man in disgrace finds that digging up the past is the only road he can take. Architect Douglas Layton has lost everything. The balcony of one of his beautiful music halls collapsed during a packed performance, killing dozens. Layton knows the flaw was not in his design; someone else must have caused the dreadful catastrophe. But with no proof and a hoard of furious Londoners screaming for blood, someone has to take the fall—and Layton finds himself facing a five-year prison sentence. When he is finally freed, Layton is determined to start over. With a new name and identity, he takes a job as a set painter. But as Layton begins to discover dead bodies hidden within theatre halls across London, it soon becomes clear that something darker is chasing him. When he unearths a clue that ties the bodies to the disaster that ruined him, he knows that redemption is within his reach…unless the culprit gets to him first.

   

The Only Woman in the Room
by Marie Benedict

She was beautiful. She was a genius. Could the world handle both? A powerful, illuminating novel about Hedy Lamarr.  Hedy Kiesler is lucky. Her beauty leads to a starring role in a controversial film and marriage to a powerful Austrian arms dealer, allowing her to evade Nazi persecution despite her Jewish heritage. But Hedy is also intelligent. At lavish Vienna dinner parties, she overhears the Third Reich's plans. One night in 1937, desperate to escape her controlling husband and the rise of the Nazis, she disguises herself and flees her husband's castle.  She lands in Hollywood, where she becomes Hedy Lamarr, screen star. But Hedy is keeping a secret even more shocking than her Jewish heritage: she is a scientist. She has an idea that might help the country and that might ease her guilt for escaping alone -- if anyone will listen to her. A powerful novel based on the incredible true story of the glamour icon and scientist whose groundbreaking invention revolutionized modern communication, The Only Woman in the Room is a masterpiece.

 

Georgette Heyer Signature Collection Reissues

Georgette Heyer is a favorite amongst the librarian crowd. When Sourcebooks first reissued her novels 7 years ago, Nancy Pearl, super librarian, made a point to announce “that some of my most beloved books are by Georgette Heyer.” The Georgette Heyer signature collection will introduce Heyer to a whole new generation of readers, while also giving readers who love her added perks. (For example, each edition will include a note from Heyer’s official biographer, who will delve into what Georgette was thinking when she wrote each particular book.)

 

The Grand Sophy

When Lady Ombersley agrees to take in her young niece, no one expects Sophy, who sweeps in and immediately takes the ton by storm. Sophy discovers that her aunt's family is in desperate need of her talent for setting everything right: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles has tyrannical tendencies that are being aggravated by his grim fiancée, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. By the time she's done, Sophy has commandeered Charles's horses, his household, and finally, his heart.

   

Arabella

Arabella Tallant is on her way to London for her first Season when her carriage breaks down outside the hunting lodge of the affluent—and arrogant—Mr. Robert Beaumaris. If that wasn't bad enough, she overhears her suspicions that she staged the breakdown to meet him. So Arabella pretends to be an heiress, a little white lie that launches her into high society. Arabella soon has many suitors, including—to his own surprise—Mr. Beaumaris. He has discovered the beauty and finesse that is uniquely Arabella. Now, he must undo the damage he's done, if it's not too late…

   

Frederica

Despite her youth, Frederica has been head of her family for years. Between introducing her beautiful sister to society and extricating her enterprising brothers from one scrape after another, she's far too busy to think about herself. Now, Frederica has brought her brood to London to find a suitable marriage partner for her younger sister. She fully expects the patronage of their cousin, the Marquis of Alverstoke, but he's surprisingly aloof. Until an accident throws the Marquis and Frederica together, and allows the perfect partnership to bloom...

 

 


 

Elizabeth Warren: Her Fight. Her Work. Her Life.
by Antonia Felix

An essential biography chronicles the life of one of the most empowering politicians of the century, from humble beginnings to extraordinary persistence. "Nevertheless, she persisted." These three words became an inspiring battle cry across the United States in 2017, but the woman to whom they refer has been fighting passionately all her life. Raised in a tough working-class home in Oklahoma, Elizabeth Warren went on to become a revered scholar, law professor, U.S. Senator, and unlikely political star. Following Warren's early life and rise in Washington politics, New York Times bestseller Antonia Felix provides meticulous research and interviews to create a fascinating and respectful biography of one of America's most inspirational politicians.

 


 

After the Fire
by Will Hill

An intense, suspenseful novel with a ripped-from-the-headlines-feel | Kirkus Reviews Starred Review

A teenager’s world is shattered in a devastating confrontation between the cult she grew up in and the forces of the U.S. government. Father John controls everything inside The Fence. And Father John likes rules. Especially about never talking to Outsiders. Because Father John knows the truth. He knows what is right, and what is wrong. He knows what is coming. Moonbeam is starting to doubt, though. She's starting to see the lies behind Father John's words. Then a fire engulfs life as she knew it, and Moonbeam is forced outside The Fence into a world she does not recognize. Alternating between Moonbeam's life before the fire, and her time spent in a government-sanctioned facility afterward, After the Fire is a fascinating look at life inside a cult and its harrowing affects on survivors. 

   

The Similars
by Rebeca Hanover

One of the most anticipated YA books of the year by Emmy Award-winning author!

When six clones join Emmaline’s prestigious boarding school, she must confront the heartbreak of seeing her dead best friend’s face each day in class. The Similars are all anyone can talk about at the elite Darkwood Academy. Who are these six clones? What are the odds that all of them would be Darkwood students? Who is the madman who broke the law to create them? Emma couldn't care less. Her best friend, Oliver, died over the summer and all she can think about is how to get through her junior year without him. Then she comes face-to-heartbreaking-face with Levi—Oliver's exact DNA replica and one of the Similars. Emma wants nothing to do with the Similars, but she keeps getting pulled deeper and deeper into their clique, uncovering dark truths about the clones and her prestigious school along the way. But no one can be trusted…not even the boy she is falling for who has Oliver's face.

 

 

SPONSORED BY

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?