Wilda Williams

25 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

City of Girls

Tart-voiced Vivian and her adventures in 20th-century Manhattan will please readers who enjoyed Kathleen Rooney’s Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk. [See Prepub Alert, 12/3/18.]
PREMIUM

American Pop

Wealthy white families in decline are a staple of Southern fiction, but Wright spins this familiar tale with a fresh exuberance and flair that will engage fans of Nancy Lemann and James Wilcox despite one-too-many narrative digressions and some skimpy characterization. [See Prepub Alert, 7/31/18.]
PREMIUM

Circe

This beautifully written and absorbing tale of gods and mortals will delight Miller's many fans and have them reaching for Edith Hamilton's Mythology. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/17; "Editors' Spring Picks," LJ 2/1/17.]
PREMIUM

Hiroshima Boy

Hirahara completes her Edgar Award-winning series with a quiet and melancholy mystery that explores the tragic legacy of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings. Not surprisingly, she dedicates this novel to the hibakusha, the survivors.
PREMIUM

The Portrait

Laurin's (The President's Hat) fourth novel to be released in the States (but his actual debut) is a slight but delightful literary soufflé that fans of his other charming books will savor.
PREMIUM

A Climate of Fear: A Commissaire Adamsberg Mystery

The four-time winner of the CWA International Dagger returns with an entertaining atmospheric mystery, touched with a soupçon of the supernatural. While the plot is convoluted to the point of ridiculousness, the eccentric characters and decidedly French attitude toward policing (a stash of white wine is key to loosening witnesses' tongues) make this an appealing Gallic alternative for fans of Christopher Fowler's "Bryant and May" series. [See Prepub Alert, 10/3/17.]
PREMIUM

Bryant & May: Strange Tide; A Peculiar Crimes Unit Mystery

Fowler's mysteries are really love letters to the city of London, mixing obscure historical tidbits about the city's ancient past and landmarks with eerie crimes to be solved by two of mystery's most engaging older sleuths since Miss Marple. His latest effort, though, is hampered by an overly convoluted plot and surprisingly weak character development. Still, fans will find pleasures in this sprawling, messy mystery.
PREMIUM

The Dry

Because of the advance hype, crime fiction fans will want this, but steer disappointed readers to Peter Temple's superior The Broken Shore, which offers a more authentic portrait of small-town Australia. [See Prepub Alert, 7/25/16; library marketing.]
PREMIUM

The Paris Librarian: A Hugo Marston Novel

Hugo Marston, chief of security for the American Embassy in Paris, and his CIA pal Tom Green investigate the mysterious death of the head of the American Library, who had recently acquired the papers of Isabella Severin, believed to have been a French spy during World War II...

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month