Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

LJ Talks to Adriana Herrera, Author of "A Caribbean Heiress in Paris"

PREMIUM

House on Fire

Burke’s second “Ashes and Dust” series installment ends on a cliff-hanger, and trilogy readers will be anxiously awaiting the next. Hudson and Wes from the “Not Dead Yet” trilogy feature prominently in this title, so libraries that own that series will also want to collect this one.

One Step Too Far

Gardner’s latest is perfect for fans of unputdownable, gritty cat-and-mouse mysteries, compassionate underdog protagonists with self-deprecating senses of humor, ruthless killers, and “didn’t see it coming, OMG” endings.
PREMIUM

City of the Dead

Kellerman uses his training as a psychologist to construct a crime and perpetrator that will have readers turning pages and guessing until the very end.

Matrix

Both epic and intimate, this powerful and sneakily complex record of womankind’s collective strength and industry in a world pitched against them is bolstered by Groff’s rich, fertile prose.

Death of a Green-Eyed Monster

A definite purchase for all mystery collections.
PREMIUM

Four Thousand Days

An excellent novel exploring the roles of women in Victorian England, recommended for fans of Bradley Harper’s A Knife in the Fog and other mysteries set in the same era.
PREMIUM

What Strange Paradise

If El Akkad’s vision isn’t entirely fleshed out, this novel still marks a step forward, with his characters at least realized on a full emotional spectrum even if they remain largely prescribed archetypes.
PREMIUM

You Can Run

Plot twists and red herrings abound in this fast-paced novel that will keep readers turning the pages.
PREMIUM

Accidentally Perfect

With the book’s quirky characters and unique vistas, fans of Clarke’s (Dear Jane) will be delighted by the “Hideaway Harbor” series launch.
PREMIUM

No Second Chances

Via an omniscient third-person narration, Youers’s thriller gives each character’s perspective and reveals their backstories. Readers of Lee Child and Stephen King will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

The Dentist

Sullivan subtly draws out the mystery with each chapter; this series starter is sure to gain a vast audience.

Read-Alikes for ‘Invisible' by Danielle Steel | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Perfume Thief

Recommended for those with a literary bent, a love of Paris, and an interest in perfumery or World War II.

Noor

This beautifully depicted example of Africanfuturism, a subgenre coined by Okorafor herself, offers both timely and timeless social commentary.

Role Model

A wonderful listen, highly recommended for all library audio collections.
PREMIUM

A Touch of Jen

An optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Death at Greenway

A story to remember and ponder. Will be popular with fans of Charles Todd and Kate Atkinson.
PREMIUM

A Marvellous Light

A perfect addition to round out any fantasy collection.
PREMIUM

The Murder Rule

Fans of psychological suspense or McTiernan’s previous books will devour this one. Recommended for public library collections.
PREMIUM

The Love Hypothesis

This BookTok favorite is a great starter romance for readers coming from fan fiction and aging up from YA titles. Also recommended for readers who enjoy contemporary romance authors like Christina Lauren and Talia Hibbert.

The Lincoln Highway

Towles’s entertaining and moving character-driven narrative explores the lovely, ugly, and heartbreaking sides of chance.

All Her Little Secrets

Morris’s convincing writing and Susan Dalian’s compelling narration make this powerful debut a must-add to audiobook collections.

PREMIUM

Pearl

Buy it. Possibly Malerman’s best.

PREMIUM

The Selfless Act of Breathing

The question of whether Michael will give in to his despair propels this moody novel from Bola (No Place To Call Home). Despite its melancholy tone, small and large surprises along the way provide insight, comfort, and reading pleasure.
PREMIUM

This Cool Green Earth

This one’s a pass for all but the deepest of Christian fiction collections.
PREMIUM

Hotel Portofino

Already slated to air as a TV series on PBS, O’Connell’s (The Ethiopian) historical novel, brimming with drama, romance, and intrigue set on the beautiful Italian Riviera during the 1920s, is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. It also includes a diverse cast of characters and deftly addresses the prejudices of the era.

Count the Nights by Stars

Shocklee’s (Under the Tulip Tree) novel is like the coffee at the Maxwell House: good to the last drop. Read-alikes include other exposition stories such as Jocelyn Green’s Shadows of the White City and Kim Vogel Sawyer’s A Silken Thread.

PREMIUM

Looking for Leroy

Hallmark will be salivating over this script. With plenty of humorous encounters, delightful misunderstandings, and realistic characters, this is one to hand to readers looking for a fun read with a hint of faith.
PREMIUM

One Italian Summer

Going down as easy as a limoncello on a hot summer’s day, this daydream of a story affirms what it means to love and be loved. An enchanting book for the last cold days of winter, but also suggest it to readers come summer.

The Candy House

A forceful, wonderfully fragmented novel of a terrifyingly possible future, as intellectually rigorous as it is formally impressive, and yet another monumental work from Egan.
PREMIUM

Would I Lie to You?

Though it’s about a hundred pages too long, Ali-Afzal’s novel is still a page-turner. Readers will want to find out how the frustrating but likable Faiza is going to get herself out of the mess she created. For fans of chick lit and stories about relationships and trust.

PREMIUM

A Lullaby for Witches

The premise and gothic undertones of this latest from Fox (The Orphan of Cemetery Hill) make this an engrossing, if somewhat unevenly plotted read.
PREMIUM

Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?

Readers who like the novels of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will find much to enjoy here.

Xstabeth

The Russian soul and its attendant angst are well explored in this short novel, as Aneliya and her father contemplate the significance of art.
PREMIUM

A Previous Life

Fans of White’s (A Saint from Texas) will particularly enjoy this very explicit novel that explores sexuality, aging, and the complexities of love.

How High We Go in the Dark

A frightening, moving work about what it means to be human while staring down our own extinction. Essential.

PREMIUM

Alice’s Trading Post

Feldman (emeritus, anthropology, Univ. of Alaska, Anchorage; Drunk on Love) includes fascinating details about Indigenous tribal customs, daily life, and history. Recommended for readers of immersive historical fiction.
PREMIUM

All of You Every Single One

Hitchman (Petite Mort) has written an absorbing novel of love and lust and found family that spans 1910 to 1946, a period when Vienna was a haven for queer couples, then turned dangerous when the Nazi Party ascended to power.
PREMIUM

The Doloriad

While not for everyone, this odd, deeply unsettling story will have readers vacillating between overwhelming disgust and an inability to stop thinking about what it all means. Fans of critically acclaimed macabre tales (like Rachel Eve Moulton’s Tinfoil Butterfly and Maryse Meijer’s The Seventh Mansion) will find a kindred spirit here.

The Fervor

Katsu has no peer when it comes to atmospheric, detail-rich historical horror, but this volume is more unsettling than anything she’s written yet, because its demons attack readers uncomfortably close to home. A must-read for all, not just genre fans. Those seeking more Asian-influenced horror might try the anthology Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women.

Manhunt

This novel confidently plants a flag declaring its place among the greatest band-of-survivor zombie tales, right beside thought-provoking, action-packed classics such as The Rising, by Brian Keene, Zone One, by Colson Whitehead, and Mira Grant’s “Newsflesh” series.

PREMIUM

Dead Silence

The Titanic and Sixth Sense vibes will pique interest, but it’s the engaging, traumatized narrator Kovalik whom readers will root for, even when they don’t always trust her, and who will keep them turning the pages. For fans of both space horror like The Luminous Dead, by Caitlin Starling, or Hematophages, by Stephen Koziniewski, and ghost stories linked to family trauma like The Good House, by Tananarive Due.

PREMIUM

Tripping Arcadia

A 21st-century Gothic with a fascinating botanical frame and an escalating sense of dread that will be savored by fans of Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Now You’re One of Us, by Asa Nonami, and Creatures of Will and Temper, by Molly Tanzer.

PREMIUM

The Lake of the Dead

Some of the views on women are outdated but they’re directly addressed in this edition’s excellent introduction, leaving room for this title to appeal to a huge swath of readers, from fans of Yrsa Sigurðardóttir’s mysteries, to those who like Cynthia Pelayo’s and Simone St. James’s atmospheric horror-mystery hybrids.

Roost

Utterly original, bubbling over with unease, featuring a shocking twist that breathes new life into a popular horror trope, this novel is, quite simply, breathtaking. For readers who enjoyed Slade House, by David Mitchell, The Rust Maidens, by Gwendolyn Kiste, or Fledgling, by Octavia Butler.

PREMIUM

Mestiza Blood

This collection provides an excellent introduction to Castro’s style of unflinchingly raw, unapologetically sexy, unsettlingly realistic supernatural horror; it’s a solid volume of terrifying, thought-provoking, and fun tales. Readers seeking similar should check out the work of Gabino Iglesias and Cynthia Pelayo.
PREMIUM

When the Corn Is Waist High

What appears to be a humorous story set in Indiana farm country becomes a thriller with multiple shocking twists. Fans of TV’s Dexter might want to try this disquieting book from Scott, author of “The Ables” series.

City on Fire

Echoing Homer’s epic Iliad, Winslow delivers a fast-paced, intense, and brooding story. It’s perfect for readers of William Boyle, James Lee Burke, and Dennis Lehane.
PREMIUM

The Paris Apartment

Foley’s fans, especially those willing to suspend their disbelief about some of the more unlikely plot twists, will enjoy.
PREMIUM

A Fine Madness

Judd delivers a truly intriguing and well-researched premise in this historical mystery.
PREMIUM

Dying Fall

The follow-up to Cruel as the Grave takes murder seriously while handling the police procedural with humor and puns.
PREMIUM

Somebody’s Home

Suspense and thriller readers will be on the edge of their seats for this novel that exposes the dark underbelly of human nature.

A Valiant Deceit

Suggest for fans of Rhys Bowen’s World War II novel of intrigue, In Farleigh Field.

The Secrets We Share

This suspenseful story will have readers careening from one erroneous conclusion to the next, which is either refreshing or an exasperating departure from predictable crime fiction, depending on one’s tolerance for twists.

Homicide and Halo-Halo

While the follow-up to Arsenic and Adobo is a cozy mystery, it’s darker, dealing with PTSD, predatory behavior, dismissive attitudes toward mental health, and other issues. Filipino American food and culture, as well as family and community, remain essential elements in the story.
PREMIUM

Mermaid Confidential

Fans of the lovable Serge will enjoy his latest zany Florida adventures in Dorsey’s 25th series installment, following Tropic of Stupid.

Spirits and Smoke

Fans of fast-paced historical mysteries will appreciate Miley’s latest.
PREMIUM

The Berlin Exchange

Kanon baits the hook with an early murder and adds seduction and betrayal to bring about the grim conclusion. Fans of Alan Furst and John le Carré will include Kanon as the third member of a Cold War troika.

An Impossible Impostor

Even after seven books, readers can still be surprised with the stories from Veronica’s unknown past. Fans of the series will delight in the continued adventures and relationship of the intrepid pair.
PREMIUM

The Village

With cagey plot twists, nuanced characters, and a pleasant young romance thrown into the mix, Mitchell’s thriller warms the heart as it tingles the senses.
PREMIUM

The Night She Went Missing

Fans of domestic suspense will love this well-woven web, with alternating-perspective chapters; it will keep readers guessing until the end.

PREMIUM

The Rebel and the Rake

Though it has a slow start, readers who stick with it will find themselves fully engaged in both the mystery and the romance. Recommended for those who enjoyed the first novel in the series as well as readers looking for a historical romance outside of the standard Regency fare.
PREMIUM

You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty

Emezi’s (The Death of Vivek Oji) latest work is sexy, complex, and moving. The author illustrates the complexities of grief, new love, and a young woman discovering who she is and who she wants to be, and readers will enjoy a new take on a love triangle romance.
PREMIUM

Love, Hate & Clickbait

Bowery’s debut is a great read with a wild ride through hate, lust, and love in the world of political social media influencing. Highly recommended.

PREMIUM

Until We Meet

Di Maio’s historical romance is packed with drama, friendship, and a “love conquers all” story. Readers looking for a break from the typical World War II romance are sure to find it here.
PREMIUM

Sari, Not Sari

A secondary purchase, but this debut author’s career will be worth watching.

PREMIUM

Chef’s Kiss

Readers who enjoyed the adventures in romances like Alexis Hall’s Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake and Adriana Herrera’s Mangoes and Mistletoe will likely eat this one up too.

The Siren of Sussex

Matthews (Gentleman Jim) deftly underscores racial and gender discrimination in Victorian London in this excellent start to “The Belles of London” series; rather than overshadowing, it propels the romance. Romance aficionados who love fashion and animals will delight in this tender romance and will be excited to see Evelyn’s friends in future installments.
PREMIUM

Say You’ll Be My Lady

Readers who are anxiously awaiting the next season of Bridgerton will enjoy this one, and those who enjoyed the first in the series will not want to miss it.
PREMIUM

Ramón and Julieta

This read is delightful; recommended to all fans of contemporary romance.
PREMIUM

How To Deceive a Duke

The more extreme elements of the plot might make some readers roll their eyes, but the core of this steamy story is solid. Historical romance fans will be happy to find another strong-willed, science-minded heroine and the duke who loves her, and they’ll look forward to the next story in the series.
PREMIUM

Outcasts of the Wildwood

Readers know and love the legend of Robin Hood, making this book (and Walk the Wild with Me, the first in Atwood’s series) a marvelous addition to the lore of the Greenwood. A real treat for readers looking for stories of wild places in the real world or who simply love Robin Hood in all his forms.

Nettle & Bone

Blending fairy-tale familiarity and common-sense characters, Kingfisher’s prose balances grim circumstances with humor and heart. Readers of Alix E. Harrow’s A Spindle Splintered and Melissa Albert’s “The Hazel Wood” series should pick this up immediately.

The Thousand Eyes

Highly recommended for readers who want strong character arcs, incredible worldbuilding, and high-stakes action.

Seven Mercies

Lam and May’s follow-up to Seven Devils further explores the characters while keeping the action and emotional stakes high.

PREMIUM

Kundo Wakes Up

Readers searching for stories of artificial worlds and climate fiction will love Hossain’s latest.
PREMIUM

The Kaiju Preservation Society

Scalzi’s first stand-alone novel in several years is a wild ride filled with takes on pop culture, startups, governmental influence, and science.
PREMIUM

The Saints of Swallow Hill

Everhart’s (The Moonshiner’s Daughter) latest Southern historical novel is full of tragedy and abuse with characters who initially aren’t easy to like, but the story becomes much more appealing as Del and Rae Lynn grow into protagonists to root for, in a unique setting.
PREMIUM

Lightning in a Mirror

Longtime fans will recognize names of people Harlan ran into during his five years away; the possibility of future books exploring those connections is exciting. Recommended for public libraries.
PREMIUM

The Bad Boy Experiment

The realistic barriers between Renee and Cole provide a satisfying conclusion when they overcome them to find the ultimate happy ending.
PREMIUM

One Little Secret

The rapid-fire conclusion might be too quick for some readers, but Child has laid the groundwork for her happy ending.
PREMIUM

Snowbound with the Prince

A first-tier purchase for libraries where contemporary and royal romances are popular.

Love & Other Disasters

Kelly’s stunning debut is a must-have for all library collections. Recommended for readers who also enjoy Olivia Dade’s “Spoiler Alert” series or Alison Cochran’s The Charm Offensive.
PREMIUM

Beauty and the Reclusive Millionaire

Purchase where contemporary and second-chance romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Tempting the Devil

James’s fifth entry in the “Quentin Security” series (after Heart of a Devil) is a fast-paced, steamy suspense. Fans of Cynthia Eden and Rachel Grant will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Fake Date

Fans of Simone’s “Billionaires of Boston” series will enjoy this third entry (after Secrets of a One Night Stand) but it can also stand alone as a charming friends-to-lovers romance.
PREMIUM

Married by Contract

Readers looking for an emotional story of people realizing that what they thought they wanted isn’t enough will find a satisfying read in the third “Texas Cattleman’s Club: Fathers and Sons” installment (after Joss Woods’s How To Handle a Heartbreaker).
PREMIUM

Remembering Ramsey

Eden’s “Trouble for Hire” series offers linked stand-alone romantic suspense with alpha males who turn to putty in the right woman’s hands, and couples willing to break a few rules for each other. The fast-paced action, steamy romance, and emotional connections make her books a required purchase for public libraries.
PREMIUM

Serve ’n’ Protect

Readers who like novels centering on dogs will enjoy this fifth book in O’Fallon’s “Federal K-9” series (after Armed ’n’ Ready). The physical and emotional injuries of the main characters add impact to the plot, even though readers might figure out part of the mystery early on.
PREMIUM

Ice Planet Barbarians

Highly recommended for larger public libraries and where demand warrants.
PREMIUM

The Secret Casseveti Baby

Purchase where the rest of the series is popular.
PREMIUM

Vegas Wedding to Forever

Purchase this sweet and lively romance where marriage-of-convenience stories are popular.
PREMIUM

Tall, Dark and Off Limits

An optional purchase.

Spontaneous Human Combustion

Fans of science fiction, horror, and dark fiction will relish immersing themselves in this collection for all its grit, lyricism, and unquestionable profundity.

The Sentence

A true book lover’s book, about the power of literature, about retaining hope through enduring personal and cultural tragedy, and about our capacity for betterment.
PREMIUM

Life Flight

Fans of DiAnn Mills, Dani Pettrey, and Carrie Stuart Parks will be drawn to this suspense series.

A Heart Adrift

Fans of Christian historical fiction will delight in this sweet tome. Highly recommended.

The Deep Man

In Mersault’s debut novel, his Galactic Imperium becomes amazingly real, and the plot is twisty enough to keep the reader turning pages. Highly recommended for epic science fiction fans.
PREMIUM

Sundial

On its own merits this would be an optional purchase, but since fans of the excellent Needless Street will drive demand, libraries should have it on the shelves.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?