Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Talks with Nikesha Elise Williams, Winner of 2021 BCALA Prize

Librarian Lesa Holstine Wins Raven Award for Achievement in Mystery Genre | Book Pulse

The 2022 Philip K. Dick Award Finalists | Book Pulse

Roads Taken: Memoir Previews, Jul. 2022, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Summer Chills: Mystery Previews, Jul. 2022, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The Story of Contemporary Art, Latinx Photography, Black Feminist Sound, and More in Music and Art | Academic Best Sellers

Read-Alikes for 'The Last House on the Street' by Diane Chamberlain | LibraryReads

Maya Angelou Appears on U.S. Quarter | Book Pulse

LJ Talks to Adriana Herrera, Author of "A Caribbean Heiress in Paris"

Mocktail Mixology | 22 Resources To Make Drinks for All

'The Last House on the Street' by Diane Chamberlain Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

House on Fire

Burke’s second “Ashes and Dust” series installment ends on a cliff-hanger, and trilogy readers will be anxiously awaiting the next. Hudson and Wes from the “Not Dead Yet” trilogy feature prominently in this title, so libraries that own that series will also want to collect this one.
PREMIUM

The Doomsday Mother: Lori Vallow, Chad Daybell, and the End of an American Family

True crime fans will likely be interested in Glatt’s fascinating account, which comes out before Vallow’s and Daybell’s upcoming trials, but the book might become outdated as new information surfaces about this ongoing case.
PREMIUM

Paint My Name in Black and Gold: The Rise of the Sisters of Mercy

This thorough work will appeal not only to fans of the Sisters of Mercy but also to readers interested in English popular music and 1980s post-punk music history.
PREMIUM

Angela Davis: An Autobiography

This new edition of the autobiography is meant to bring Davis and her story to a new generation of readers, who can still identify with her experiences. It contains the prefaces of the earlier editions, so it is worth replacing older copies of the book. Still a key work in the areas of prison abolition and feminism, this reissue of a classic autobiography deserves a place of honor in any collection.
PREMIUM

Art & Crime: The Fight Against Looters, Forgers, and Fraudsters in the High-Stakes Art World

Readers interested in the art trade will benefit most from Koldehoff and Timm’s work. Those seeking a true crime experience can find more engaging works elsewhere.

One Step Too Far

Gardner’s latest is perfect for fans of unputdownable, gritty cat-and-mouse mysteries, compassionate underdog protagonists with self-deprecating senses of humor, ruthless killers, and “didn’t see it coming, OMG” endings.
PREMIUM

City of the Dead

Kellerman uses his training as a psychologist to construct a crime and perpetrator that will have readers turning pages and guessing until the very end.
PREMIUM

The First True Hitchcock: The Making of a Filmmaker

A highly detailed and exceptionally well researched look at Hitchcock’s cinematic beginnings, best left to scholars and Hitchcock completists.

Matrix

Both epic and intimate, this powerful and sneakily complex record of womankind’s collective strength and industry in a world pitched against them is bolstered by Groff’s rich, fertile prose.

Death of a Green-Eyed Monster

A definite purchase for all mystery collections.
PREMIUM

Four Thousand Days

An excellent novel exploring the roles of women in Victorian England, recommended for fans of Bradley Harper’s A Knife in the Fog and other mysteries set in the same era.
PREMIUM

The Women of Jenji Kohan: A Collection of Essays

A brief, unique tribute to the impact of Kohan’s work to date, but only for truly devoted fans.
PREMIUM

What Strange Paradise

If El Akkad’s vision isn’t entirely fleshed out, this novel still marks a step forward, with his characters at least realized on a full emotional spectrum even if they remain largely prescribed archetypes.
PREMIUM

You Can Run

Plot twists and red herrings abound in this fast-paced novel that will keep readers turning the pages.
PREMIUM

Accidentally Perfect

With the book’s quirky characters and unique vistas, fans of Clarke’s (Dear Jane) will be delighted by the “Hideaway Harbor” series launch.
PREMIUM

No Second Chances

Via an omniscient third-person narration, Youers’s thriller gives each character’s perspective and reveals their backstories. Readers of Lee Child and Stephen King will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

Cost of Living

Maloney’s nontraditional health care memoir serves as a warning for those who’ve never had to stay in the hospital stay, and sends the message that there is work to be done.
PREMIUM

The Dentist

Sullivan subtly draws out the mystery with each chapter; this series starter is sure to gain a vast audience.
PREMIUM

Tupac Behind Bars

Die-hard fans of the artist might find the work entertaining, but most readers will want to give this one a pass.
PREMIUM

Putting the Rabbit in the Hat

An enjoyable and conversational backstage pass to the life of a highly respected character actor.

What To Read in 2022 | Book Pulse

Rick Pender on the Challenge and Opportunity of Summing Up Stephen Sondheim

The 2021 Silvers-Dudley Prize Winners Are Announced | Book Pulse

Costa Awards Announce Category Winners | Book Pulse

Diverse Cookbooks Create Inclusive Communities

Read-Alikes for ‘Invisible' by Danielle Steel | LibraryReads

'Anthem' by Noah Hawley is B&N January Book Club Pick | Book Pulse

Remembering Betty White: Books By and About the First Lady of Television

Meditation Tips To Calm the Whole Family

Current Issues, Jul. 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Top Literary Fiction, Jul. 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Summer Thrillers, Jul. 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

'Invisible' by Danielle Steel Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Best Media 2021: Top Audiobooks and DVDS

Sequoia Nagamatsu's 'How High We Go in the Dark'; Erin L. Thompson's 'Smashing Statues'; and 50 Other Stellar Titles

This Here Flesh: Spirituality, Liberation, and the Stories That Make Us

A challenging and contemplative book, eminently readable as engaging prose while offering insight and depth throughout.
PREMIUM

The Hag: The Life, Times, and Music of Merle Haggard

Likely to become the definitive Merle Haggard biography and will sit nicely alongside Haggard’s own two memoirs.

Lorraine Hansberry: The Life Behind A Raisin in the Sun

This biography substantiates Hansberry’s accomplishments, despite her short life. Recommended for all Hansberry enthusiasts and 20th-century literary scholars.

Camera Man: Buster Keaton, the Dawn of Cinema, and the Invention of the Twentieth Century

More than a biography of Buster Keaton, this is a stunning, extensively researched, and eminently readable cultural history.
PREMIUM

The Perfume Thief

Recommended for those with a literary bent, a love of Paris, and an interest in perfumery or World War II.

Noor

This beautifully depicted example of Africanfuturism, a subgenre coined by Okorafor herself, offers both timely and timeless social commentary.

Role Model

A wonderful listen, highly recommended for all library audio collections.
PREMIUM

A Touch of Jen

An optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Death at Greenway

A story to remember and ponder. Will be popular with fans of Charles Todd and Kate Atkinson.
PREMIUM

A Marvellous Light

A perfect addition to round out any fantasy collection.
PREMIUM

The Murder Rule

Fans of psychological suspense or McTiernan’s previous books will devour this one. Recommended for public library collections.
PREMIUM

The Love Hypothesis

This BookTok favorite is a great starter romance for readers coming from fan fiction and aging up from YA titles. Also recommended for readers who enjoy contemporary romance authors like Christina Lauren and Talia Hibbert.

The Lincoln Highway

Towles’s entertaining and moving character-driven narrative explores the lovely, ugly, and heartbreaking sides of chance.

All Her Little Secrets

Morris’s convincing writing and Susan Dalian’s compelling narration make this powerful debut a must-add to audiobook collections.

PREMIUM

Pearl

Buy it. Possibly Malerman’s best.

PREMIUM

The Selfless Act of Breathing

The question of whether Michael will give in to his despair propels this moody novel from Bola (No Place To Call Home). Despite its melancholy tone, small and large surprises along the way provide insight, comfort, and reading pleasure.
PREMIUM

This Cool Green Earth

This one’s a pass for all but the deepest of Christian fiction collections.
PREMIUM

Hotel Portofino

Already slated to air as a TV series on PBS, O’Connell’s (The Ethiopian) historical novel, brimming with drama, romance, and intrigue set on the beautiful Italian Riviera during the 1920s, is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. It also includes a diverse cast of characters and deftly addresses the prejudices of the era.

Count the Nights by Stars

Shocklee’s (Under the Tulip Tree) novel is like the coffee at the Maxwell House: good to the last drop. Read-alikes include other exposition stories such as Jocelyn Green’s Shadows of the White City and Kim Vogel Sawyer’s A Silken Thread.

PREMIUM

Looking for Leroy

Hallmark will be salivating over this script. With plenty of humorous encounters, delightful misunderstandings, and realistic characters, this is one to hand to readers looking for a fun read with a hint of faith.
PREMIUM

One Italian Summer

Going down as easy as a limoncello on a hot summer’s day, this daydream of a story affirms what it means to love and be loved. An enchanting book for the last cold days of winter, but also suggest it to readers come summer.

The Candy House

A forceful, wonderfully fragmented novel of a terrifyingly possible future, as intellectually rigorous as it is formally impressive, and yet another monumental work from Egan.
PREMIUM

Would I Lie to You?

Though it’s about a hundred pages too long, Ali-Afzal’s novel is still a page-turner. Readers will want to find out how the frustrating but likable Faiza is going to get herself out of the mess she created. For fans of chick lit and stories about relationships and trust.

PREMIUM

A Lullaby for Witches

The premise and gothic undertones of this latest from Fox (The Orphan of Cemetery Hill) make this an engrossing, if somewhat unevenly plotted read.
PREMIUM

Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?

Readers who like the novels of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will find much to enjoy here.

Xstabeth

The Russian soul and its attendant angst are well explored in this short novel, as Aneliya and her father contemplate the significance of art.
PREMIUM

A Previous Life

Fans of White’s (A Saint from Texas) will particularly enjoy this very explicit novel that explores sexuality, aging, and the complexities of love.

How High We Go in the Dark

A frightening, moving work about what it means to be human while staring down our own extinction. Essential.

PREMIUM

Alice’s Trading Post

Feldman (emeritus, anthropology, Univ. of Alaska, Anchorage; Drunk on Love) includes fascinating details about Indigenous tribal customs, daily life, and history. Recommended for readers of immersive historical fiction.
PREMIUM

All of You Every Single One

Hitchman (Petite Mort) has written an absorbing novel of love and lust and found family that spans 1910 to 1946, a period when Vienna was a haven for queer couples, then turned dangerous when the Nazi Party ascended to power.
PREMIUM

The Doloriad

While not for everyone, this odd, deeply unsettling story will have readers vacillating between overwhelming disgust and an inability to stop thinking about what it all means. Fans of critically acclaimed macabre tales (like Rachel Eve Moulton’s Tinfoil Butterfly and Maryse Meijer’s The Seventh Mansion) will find a kindred spirit here.

The Fervor

Katsu has no peer when it comes to atmospheric, detail-rich historical horror, but this volume is more unsettling than anything she’s written yet, because its demons attack readers uncomfortably close to home. A must-read for all, not just genre fans. Those seeking more Asian-influenced horror might try the anthology Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women.

Manhunt

This novel confidently plants a flag declaring its place among the greatest band-of-survivor zombie tales, right beside thought-provoking, action-packed classics such as The Rising, by Brian Keene, Zone One, by Colson Whitehead, and Mira Grant’s “Newsflesh” series.

PREMIUM

Dead Silence

The Titanic and Sixth Sense vibes will pique interest, but it’s the engaging, traumatized narrator Kovalik whom readers will root for, even when they don’t always trust her, and who will keep them turning the pages. For fans of both space horror like The Luminous Dead, by Caitlin Starling, or Hematophages, by Stephen Koziniewski, and ghost stories linked to family trauma like The Good House, by Tananarive Due.

PREMIUM

Tripping Arcadia

A 21st-century Gothic with a fascinating botanical frame and an escalating sense of dread that will be savored by fans of Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Now You’re One of Us, by Asa Nonami, and Creatures of Will and Temper, by Molly Tanzer.

PREMIUM

The Lake of the Dead

Some of the views on women are outdated but they’re directly addressed in this edition’s excellent introduction, leaving room for this title to appeal to a huge swath of readers, from fans of Yrsa Sigurðardóttir’s mysteries, to those who like Cynthia Pelayo’s and Simone St. James’s atmospheric horror-mystery hybrids.

Roost

Utterly original, bubbling over with unease, featuring a shocking twist that breathes new life into a popular horror trope, this novel is, quite simply, breathtaking. For readers who enjoyed Slade House, by David Mitchell, The Rust Maidens, by Gwendolyn Kiste, or Fledgling, by Octavia Butler.

PREMIUM

Mestiza Blood

This collection provides an excellent introduction to Castro’s style of unflinchingly raw, unapologetically sexy, unsettlingly realistic supernatural horror; it’s a solid volume of terrifying, thought-provoking, and fun tales. Readers seeking similar should check out the work of Gabino Iglesias and Cynthia Pelayo.
PREMIUM

When the Corn Is Waist High

What appears to be a humorous story set in Indiana farm country becomes a thriller with multiple shocking twists. Fans of TV’s Dexter might want to try this disquieting book from Scott, author of “The Ables” series.

City on Fire

Echoing Homer’s epic Iliad, Winslow delivers a fast-paced, intense, and brooding story. It’s perfect for readers of William Boyle, James Lee Burke, and Dennis Lehane.
PREMIUM

The Paris Apartment

Foley’s fans, especially those willing to suspend their disbelief about some of the more unlikely plot twists, will enjoy.
PREMIUM

A Fine Madness

Judd delivers a truly intriguing and well-researched premise in this historical mystery.
PREMIUM

Dying Fall

The follow-up to Cruel as the Grave takes murder seriously while handling the police procedural with humor and puns.
PREMIUM

Somebody’s Home

Suspense and thriller readers will be on the edge of their seats for this novel that exposes the dark underbelly of human nature.

A Valiant Deceit

Suggest for fans of Rhys Bowen’s World War II novel of intrigue, In Farleigh Field.

The Secrets We Share

This suspenseful story will have readers careening from one erroneous conclusion to the next, which is either refreshing or an exasperating departure from predictable crime fiction, depending on one’s tolerance for twists.

Homicide and Halo-Halo

While the follow-up to Arsenic and Adobo is a cozy mystery, it’s darker, dealing with PTSD, predatory behavior, dismissive attitudes toward mental health, and other issues. Filipino American food and culture, as well as family and community, remain essential elements in the story.
PREMIUM

Mermaid Confidential

Fans of the lovable Serge will enjoy his latest zany Florida adventures in Dorsey’s 25th series installment, following Tropic of Stupid.

Spirits and Smoke

Fans of fast-paced historical mysteries will appreciate Miley’s latest.
PREMIUM

The Berlin Exchange

Kanon baits the hook with an early murder and adds seduction and betrayal to bring about the grim conclusion. Fans of Alan Furst and John le Carré will include Kanon as the third member of a Cold War troika.

An Impossible Impostor

Even after seven books, readers can still be surprised with the stories from Veronica’s unknown past. Fans of the series will delight in the continued adventures and relationship of the intrepid pair.
PREMIUM

The Village

With cagey plot twists, nuanced characters, and a pleasant young romance thrown into the mix, Mitchell’s thriller warms the heart as it tingles the senses.
PREMIUM

The Night She Went Missing

Fans of domestic suspense will love this well-woven web, with alternating-perspective chapters; it will keep readers guessing until the end.

PREMIUM

Saws, Planes, and Scorps: Exceptional Woodworking Tools and Their Makers

Readers need not know a lump hammer from a bevel gauge to appreciate durable, efficient, and striking hand tools. A resurgent interest in handcrafts will draw in newbies as well as seasoned woodcrafters and collectors with an appreciation for tool function and design. Recommended.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?