Barbara Conaty

65 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Berlin Exchange

Kanon baits the hook with an early murder and adds seduction and betrayal to bring about the grim conclusion. Fans of Alan Furst and John le Carré will include Kanon as the third member of a Cold War troika.

You Belong Here Now

This intricately plotted, deeply researched debut ranks among the best of the “Orphan Train”–themed novels and polishes the Western novel to a new radiance. Picture Charles Dickens on an Appaloosa for a fusion of two classic genres.

PREMIUM

The Last Grand Duchess: A Novel of Olga Romanov, Imperial Russia, and Revolution

Compared to the huge trove of books about the Romanovs and their pretenders, Turnbull’s novel is an entrancing tribute to a Victorian lass of tragic grace.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Viewers who followed the TV series The Americans will recognize and enjoy its thrilling hallmarks in this exciting novel about the erstwhile first couple.
PREMIUM

A Most Clever Girl

The smashing plot piledriver is the confrontation between Elizabeth and Catherine, a vengeful young orphan whose mother’s death may have been caused by Elizabeth’s espionage. The wily Elizabeth snatches center stage and propels readers through the Red Scare and the opening years of the Cold War. Even though fictional, Thornton’s interpretation rings true and tragic.

PREMIUM

You Can Run

Cleveland weaves technology, motherhood, and spydom’s skullduggery into a taut, alluring web. Acclaimed for fiendishly clever plotting, she whips up the story to a breakneck pace, then rewards readers with a knockout ending. Fans of Stella Rimington’s series about MI5 agent Liz Carlyle will thrill to the steely grit and brave hearts of Jill and Alex.
PREMIUM

Last Flight to Stalingrad

Hurley is a welcome addition to the ranks of such writers as Alan Furst, Philip Kerr, and Rick Atkinson.

The Russian Key

When Kate says “I was in my element, one lie following another, some good, some not so good,” she is so convincing that the author’s persona never intrudes. Spring-loaded with surprises, this debut from eightysomething Laber plumbs the depths of the USSR’s brutality, in a devious tale that matches the best of the TV series The Americans and Jason Matthews’s “Russian Sparrow” trilogy.
PREMIUM

The Woman of a Thousand Names

This novel by award-winning historical novelist Lapierre (Between Love and Honor) was first published in French in 2016. The story integrates verbatim quotes with imagined conversations and settings. Realistic yet fantastical in its account of the audacious Maria, this is a rewarding rediscovery of a memorable woman.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?