James Beard Book Awards Announced | Book Pulse

The James Beard Awards were announced this week including Media Award winners Mooncakes and Milk Bread by Kristina Cho, Everyone's Table by Gregory Gourdet and JJ Goode, The Korean Vegan Cookbook by Joanne Lee Molinaro, The Zuni Cafe Cookbook by Judy Rodgers, and more. The Orphanage by Serhiy Zhadan wins the 2022 European Bank Prize. Library Reads and LJ share read-alikes for Elin Hilderbrand's The Hotel Nantucket. Candice Fox’s thriller Gathering Dark and Andrew DeYoung's The Temps will get television treatment. Plus, LitHub releases its annual “Ultimate Summer 2022 Reading List.”

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Awards, News & Summer Book Lists

 

 

 

 

 

 

The James Beard Awards were announced this week. Among the Media Award winners are Mooncakes and Milk Bread: Sweet and Savory Recipes Inspired by Chinese Bakeries by Kristina Cho (Harper Horizon), Everyone's Table: Global Recipes for Modern Health by Gregory Gourdet and JJ Goode, EdD (Harper Wave), The Korean Vegan Cookbook: Reflections and Recipes from Omma's Kitchen by Joanne Lee Molinaro (Avery), and more. Plus, The Zuni Cafe Cookbook by Judy Rodgers is a winner in the Cookbook Hall Of Fame category. Here is the full list of winners.

Ukraine’s The Orphanage by Serhiy Zhadan, trans.by Reilly Costigan-Humes and Isaac Stackhouse Wheeler (Yale Univ. Pr.), wins the 2022 European Bank PrizePublishing Perspectives has the story.

The Penguin Literary Prize 2022 winner is announced.

NPD's latest book scan indicates that "The U.S. book market continues to run very solid, although there is slight evidence that the market is slowing a bit."

Zando and Crooked Media partner to launch the new imprint, Crooked Media Reads. PW has the story. 

LitHub releases its annual “Ultimate Summer 2022 Reading List.”

Reviews

NPR reviews Greenland by David Santos Donaldson (Amistad: HarperCollins; LJ starred review): “At its best, Greenland is a smart, exhilarating novel about racism and self-knowledge whose unwieldiness is compensated for by its daring.”

NYT reviews Meet Me by the Fountain: An Inside History of the Mall by Alexandra Lange (Bloomsbury): “this book is a useful survey, and Lange opens plenty of avenues for readers to wander down, from the curious micro-genre of ‘mallwave’ music to the devious ways in which developers have rendered malls hostile to so-called undesirable customers.” And, O Say Can You Hear?: A Cultural Biography of "The Star-Spangled Banner” by Mark Clague (Norton): “Mark Clague knows everything about ‘The Star-Spangled Banner,’ including how you feel about it.” And, Esmond and Ilia : An Unreliable Memoir by Marina Warner (New York Review Books): “More than anything, Esmond and Ilia is a reckoning with loss — personal and public.” And, The British Surrealists by Desmond Morris (Thames & Hudson): “Every reader will surely likewise regret not having met any of these dazzling characters and only wish to somehow wangle a chance to meet this last, and very far from least, of the original British Surrealists.” Plus, Also a Poet: Frank O'Hara, My Father, and Me by Ada Calhoun (Grove; LJ starred review): Also a Poet is packaged as a love triangle: father, daughter and O’Hara. It’s actually a tetrahedron from which all kinds of creative characters pop forth. It’s a big valentine to New York City past and present, and a contribution to literary scholarship, molten with soul.”

The Washington Post reviews Nightcrawling by Leila Mottley (Knopf; LJ starred review): Nightcrawling really is a powerful, poignant story worth your attention. Despite all of Mottley’s good fortune, she demonstrates an extraordinary degree of sympathy with people who have none.”

USA Today has June’s top-reviewed rom coms.

Briefly Noted

Library Reads and LJ share read-alikes for The Hotel Nantucket by Elin Hilderbrand (Little, Brown), the buzziest book of the week.

USA Today shares details from Jenny Mollen’s new book, City of Likes (NacelleBooks: Ingram), about what it’s like to be an influencer.

LA Times talks with Tom Segura about his new book, I’d Like to Play Alone, Please: Essays (Grand Central), the “love/hate process of writing his book, ignoring cancel culture, and pissing off his mom.” LA Times also interviews Corban Addison about his new book, Wastelands: The True Story of Farm Country on Trial (Knopf). Plus, a discussion with Katy Tur about her new memoir, Rough Draft (One Signal).

Shondaland has an interview with Abi Morgan about her new book, This Is Not a Pity Memoir (Mariner: Houghton Harcourt), the "concept of pity memoirs, hope as an act of resilience, and more."

Esquire talks with Lisa Taddeo about her new story collection, Ghost Lover (Avid Reader Pr.: S. & S.).

The Washington Post shares an appreciation for the novels of Barbara Pym.

Actor Rob Delaney's memoir, A Heart That Workswill be published by Spiegel & Grau this fall. Deadline reports.

NYT highlights eight newly published books.

Leila Slimani, In the Country of Others (Penguin), recommends how to “Read Your Way Through Paris,” in the first piece of a new series exploring the world through books at NYT.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Lavie Tidhar discuss ‘Alien’ and “other works that blend sci-fi and horror” for The Washington Post.

CrimeReads suggests 5 psychological thrillers to read in June.

Parade has 17 books about the British Royal Family

Vulture lists “11 Books to Read If You’re Yearning for More Heartstopper."

Tordotcom highlights 5 sci-fi stories about strangers bearing gifts.

Authors On Air

Linda Villarosa discusses racial disparities in health outcomes and her new book, Under the Skin: The Hidden Toll of Racism on American Lives and on the Health of Our Nation (Doubleday; LJ starred review), with NPR’s Fresh Air.

NPR’s Morning Edition talks with Ryann Stevenson about her new collection of poetry, Human Resources (Milkweed Editions), and designing voices for an AI startup.

NPR’s All Things Considered talks with filmmaker Werner Herzog about his debut novel, The Twilight World (Penguin Pr.).

Candice Fox’s thriller, Gathering Dark (Forge Books), will be adapted into a series. The Temps by Andrew DeYoung (Keylight Books), will also get television treatmentDeadline reports.

The Lincoln Lawyer is renewed at Netflix.The second season will be based on The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly (Grand Central). The Hollywood Reporter has the story.

Tom Segura, I’d Like to Play Alone, Please: Essays (Grand Central), will visit Stephen Colbert tonight.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?