Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Art of Prophecy

Chu’s (The Fall of Io) wry prose and characters are a delightful counterpoint to the physical and emotional demands undertaken by Jian and his allies, while the subplots build a vast panoramic view of this incredible world in the first of a new series.

Silver Queendom

This epic fantasy about a crew of misfits with just a touch of magic and heartbreaking backstories is a rollicking good time of a read. Readers who fell for Christopher Buehlman’s The Blacktongue Thief are going to be head over heels for Koboldt’s latest.
PREMIUM

Aftermath

This will be popular with fans of Burton’s acting and readers who like their dystopian novels to end on a slightly hopeful note.

The Oleander Sword

Suri’s second volume of the “Burning Kingdoms” trilogy (after The Jasmine Throne) continues an epic tale of love: for family, for power, for country.
PREMIUM

Face

With its slower pace and the many concepts it introduces and leaves unresolved, West’s debut novel will appeal to readers who appreciate philosophical fiction and fans of Scott Westerfeld’s “Uglies” and “Impostors” series.

The Book Eaters

A fascinating debut with shades of gothic fantasy and contemporary thriller, wrapped in a narrative full of vivid and detailed characters and worldbuilding, and an unusual premise.

Bindle Punk Bruja

Mesa’s debut mixes a bit of Mexican folktale, a chunk of magical realism, and tons of period detail into a page-turning urban fantasy that takes the glitter of Boardwalk Empire and combines it with a story of found family, mob violence, and romance.
PREMIUM

High Times in the Low Parliament

Readers who like their political fantasies and power trips to go down with a spoonful of sugar will eat this up.

The Witches of Moonshyne Manor

Marais’s (If You Want to Make God Laugh) latest is a quirky Golden Girls with wands that explores women’s empowerment, friendship, and loyalty and addresses racial equality, identity, and gender fluidity. A timely, fun modern-day fable about women who refuse to conform.
PREMIUM

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

In Bannen’s (Soulswift) adult debut, the roller coaster of Mercy and Hart’s journey is full of sizzle and emotional turmoil, as well as plenty of sci-fi adventure and humor. Readers will be captivated by the land of Tanria and will want to stay connected with these characters long after the book ends.

Nona the Ninth

Muir’s third entry in “The Locked Tomb” series (after Harrow the Ninth) is as immersive and original as its predecessors.

The Bruising of Qilwa

The delicately interwoven complexity of the story, along with the loving portrait of Firuz and their found family, makes Jamnia’s fantasy puzzler a delight to read. Highly recommended, especially for fans of Katherine Addison’s The Witness for the Dead.
PREMIUM

Dance with the Devil

Rocha has crafted a solid ending for the arcs of Nina, Maya, and Dani, but still leaves room to continue with some of the secondary characters.

Poster Girl

Roth’s (Chosen Ones) latest is highly recommended for readers of dystopian fiction, lovers of Philip K. Dick’s thought-police science fiction, and anyone who wants to see how far “If you see something, say something” can be led astray.
PREMIUM

Fault Tolerance

An unusual combination of National Treasure and Star Trek in which a space crew races across a universe filled with an array of different beings.
PREMIUM

Babel; or, The Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators’ Revolution

Kuang is a refreshing and essential voice in fiction, and her latest will have wide appeal.

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

Mandanna’s (Kiki Kallira Conquers a Curse) first adult novel is a positively adorable romantic fantasy and a must-buy for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

The Monsters We Defy

This engaging fantasy heist tale, inspired by historical events and people, will please readers who enjoyed C. L. Polk’s “Kingston Cycle” and fans of Penelope (a past winner of the BCALA Self-Publishing EBook Award who also has a title on Time’s list of the “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time.”

A Strange and Stubborn Endurance

An emotionally gripping, delightful queer fantasy filled with political intrigue, family dynamics, and tender moments that will grab readers’ hearts and minds.
PREMIUM

Eclipse the Moon

A space opera setting, an antagonistic friends-to-lovers romance, and fast-paced action bring some new plot points and nicely set up the last of Mihalik’s trilogy.

A Taste of Gold and Iron

Rowland’s (A Choir of Lies) latest continues to showcase their captivating prose, immersive details, and complicated characters.
PREMIUM

Silk Fire

The driven characters, intriguing premise of a matriarchal society where old magic and new technology coexist, and the plot of long-game political schemes are unfortunately weighed down at times by large info dumps and exposition. The main character is heavily self-critical, and the clarity of motivations can be hard to hold.
PREMIUM

Three Miles Down

A pleasure to read with Jerry’s gee-whiz awe, combined with intelligent humor. The nods and winks toward genre standouts from the ’70s add to the verisimilitude and fun for SF fans.

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy

Chambers’s second “Monk and Robot” novella (following A Psalm for the Wild-Built) continues the quiet, contemplative journey through philosophy, nature, and personal experience.

Hot Moon

For astronaut wonks and fans of realistic science fiction, Smale’s latest will delight and enthrall.
PREMIUM

The Women Could Fly

Combining the misogynist oppression of The Handmaid’s Tale with the sharp insight and SFnal (science fictional) tone of Octavia Butler, Giddings’s latest is a chilling but all too plausible tale.

SFF in Audio | 13 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

Daughter of the Moon Goddess

Tan’s debut is a bit too long, but is a good fit for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir, along with those who like romantic and mythic fantasy retellings.
PREMIUM

Clean Air

A quick listen offering a unique twist on apocalyptic climate fiction.
PREMIUM

The Atlas Six

While steadfast fantasy lovers will be eager for the next installation in this series, others may wish that worldbuilding and action better matched the hype.
PREMIUM

The Liar’s Knot

Recommended for those who enjoy dark fantasy and worldbuilding. Fans of Six of Crows and The Lies of Locke Lamora would also enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Unfamiliar Garden

Although the plot was less than compelling and the characters flawed and unlikable, the story’s premise was distinctive and will be of interest to fans of science fiction.

Tell Me an Ending

A fine-tuned science fiction character study that explores such philosophical questions as how our memories, good and bad, affect who we are and how we relate to others.
PREMIUM

Age of Ash

This first in a trilogy from Abraham (The Spider’s War; coauthor of “The Expanse” series) is a must-buy for audio collections where grimdark and epic fantasy are popular, and is a solid choice for other collections because of its cross-genre appeal for mystery and sci-fi fans.
PREMIUM

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century

Thrilling, sexy, scary, and daring, this is a gem of a short story collection.
PREMIUM

Goliath

Vividly narrated by multiple voices and told in nonlinear vignettes with prose that alternates between devastatingly concise and arrestingly descriptive, this audiobook will appeal to fans of literary science fiction but may frustrate those looking for a traditionally structured, plot-focused story.
PREMIUM

Overlord, Vol. 2: The Dark Warrior

Highly recommend for fans of anime and graphic novels. This fast-paced and surprisingly funny adaptation is a treat for the ears.
PREMIUM

The Paradox Hotel

A great purchase for any library with an active sci-fi listener base, with crossover appeal for thriller and mystery fans.
PREMIUM

Wild and Wicked Things

Featuring queer romance, this enjoyable tale of magic would be a wonderful addition to any collection.
PREMIUM

A River Enchanted

While Ross’s protagonists may need to be wary of seeking mysterious shine beneath the waters, this is one enchanted river listeners can dive confidently into.
PREMIUM

The Extractionist

Unger (Nucleation), a game designer and VR programmer by day, delivers an edge-of-your-seat technothriller with a refreshingly relatable protagonist. While some might find this too jargon-heavy for comfort, cyberpunk fans will love Unger’s scientific knowledge and creativity.

Widowland

Highly recommended.

The Immortal King Rao

Highly recommended for readers of climate fiction, social engineering sf, and dystopian catastrophe novels.

Drunk on All Your Strange New Words

Fans of John Scalzi’s Lock In and Brandon Sanderson’s Legion will be enthralled with this deft blend of murder mystery and science fiction. In the end, the motives for the crime are all too human, while the means, methods, and opportunities are all firmly part of this futuristic setting. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A New Clan

The large cast of characters and multiple points of view might be off-putting to those who want to spend all their time with Stephanie and Climbs Quickly, but the story flows smoothly, the already remarkably established world holds wide appeal, and there is plenty of fast-paced drama and trauma. All fans of this crossover YA series will appreciate the ongoing bonds between the humans and treecats.

The Stardust Thief

An impressive first in an expected trilogy, one that hits high notes of several popular themes and trends (found families, classics retold), but offers fresh perspectives as well. It will delight readers who appreciate highly atmospheric books. Share widely, not just with fantasy readers.

The Assassins of Thasalon

The continuation of the adventures of Penric and Desdemona are given room in this story filled with all the adventure, humor, and action Bujold is known for. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The City Inside

Readers will empathize with Joey’s dilemma and get caught up in the minutiae of her life. The novel’s theme, that the truth does not and cannot set anyone free, is as disturbing as it is thought-provoking.
PREMIUM

Her Majesty’s Royal Coven

Readers who love a big fight between good and evil, who enjoy seeing magic in the everyday world, and those who like their heroine’s journeys to include all facets of heartbreak will savor the cut and thrust of this battle.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Redwinter

McDonald (“Raven’s Mark” trilogy) begins an immersive new fantasy series, good for fans of George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.
PREMIUM

The Knave of Secrets

This novel’s sleight-of-hand mix of gaming, thievery, secrets, and politics will remind readers fondly of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora, although Valen’s crew is not quite as loyal or memorable. Fans of politically inspired fantasy will love watching the game.
PREMIUM

The Book of Gothel

Readers who have enjoyed Gregory Maguire’s “Wicked Years” series will find McMyne’s perspective delightful.

Ordinary Monsters

This grim but poignant debut showcases a bleak Victorian England, engaging characters, and the desire to belong.
PREMIUM

For the Throne

This lush feminist world may draw inspiration from European fairy tales, but the magic, politics, and relationships are firmly rooted in adult reading. Fans of Naomi Novik and Alix Harrow will enjoy this duology.

January Fifteenth

Swirsky’s slice-of-life UBI stories present just a few possible effects of this hotly debated topic. Without either political rhetoric or exhortation, these brief glimpses of other lives give readers the chance to see what might be in a world with a social safety net. Highly recommended for readers of political and social science–oriented SF.

PREMIUM

Into the Real

Ringo (There Will Be Dragons) joins with Sherrer (“When the Gods Laughed” series) for this immersive, highly technical near-future sf; perfect for dedicated gamers or for fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One.
PREMIUM

In a Garden Burning Gold

Power (Wilder Girls) constructs a world of magical families with layered secrets.

Siren Queen

Luli is a compelling character both on and off the screen in this story that takes the mythmaking of Hollywood and transforms it and her into something transcendent. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Flint and Mirror

Readers searching for the high magic of epic fantasy may be disappointed, but those looking for small magics within a broad scope of history (in a similar vein to the work of Guy Gavriel Kay) will be enthralled by Crowley’s (“The Ægypt Cycle”) alchemy of uncanny magic, ancient science, and tragic history.
PREMIUM

These Prisoning Hills

A succinct but surprisingly intuitive character study. Fans of the movie Pacific Rim or Faith Hunter’s “Junkyard Cats” series will particularly enjoy.

When Women Were Dragons

Readers will be moved, discomforted, and inspired by Alex’s introspective voice and experiences.
PREMIUM

Time Troopers

There’s nothing hugely remarkable here, but fans of the classic time-travel trope will enjoy.

Light Years from Home

Chen’s novel is sure to please fans of literary fiction as well as staples of sci-fi TV like The X-Files and Fringe. A worthy addition to any contemporary science fiction audio collection.
PREMIUM

Trouble with the Cursed

“The Hollows” continues its solid supernatural storytelling, and fans will celebrate the return of its sarcastic witch-born demon.

The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories from Dirty Computer

Monáe’s collection speaks to both the sf tradition of mind-control tyranny and the way that the powerful marginalize individuals in order to control the whole. Highly recommended for readers of conspiracy and thought-control sf or of Afrofuturist works by the likes of Octavia Butler, Nalo Hopkinson, N. K. Jemisin, and Nnedi Okorafor.
PREMIUM

Abbott in Darkness

Starts slow but the suspense eventually ramps up with murder, ambush, treachery, and war.
PREMIUM

A Mirror Mended

Readers who love stories that twists narratives into knots will fall for Harrow’s fractured fairy tale where evil discovers the benefits that come of doing good.

Braking Day

This is a story of people who are their own worst enemies as groups fracture, danger ramps up, and options close in. It will appeal to fans of colony ship stories and coming-of-age tales.
PREMIUM

The Memory in the Blood

Van Loan’s conclusion to “The Fall of the Gods” trilogy is a fast-paced ride over high seas, through secret libraries and dark cathedrals, and into the heart of a volatile heroine.
PREMIUM

Rosebud

Cornell’s (Witches of Lychford) thought-experiment novella explores what it means to be human and asks age-old questions (What is down the road less taken? Is it better to be comfortable and complacent or to sacrifice one’s own happiness for the greater good?).

SF/Fantasy in Audio | 5 Titles To Try

Book of Night

Charlie Hall is every “bad luck and worse trouble” protagonist to ever magic her way into urban fantasy. She’s desperate, she’s profane, she’s fascinating, and she kicks ass and takes names with the best antiheroes of the genre. Her world is gritty and mysterious, the stakes are always high, and the power is always tempting.

PREMIUM

The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories: A Collection of Chinese Science Fiction and Fantasy in Translation from a Visionary Team of Female and Nonbinary Creators

An important anthology showcasing compelling voices and perspectives in science fiction and fantasy.

The Hourglass Throne

Edward’s third “Tarot Sequence” novel (after The Hanged Man) builds on an intriguing alternate Earth filled with magic and political intrigue. This urban fantasy series is immersive and entertaining.
PREMIUM

Cold as Hell

A weird Western starring a taciturn lone gunman who will remind readers of Andrzej Sapkowski’s Geralt of Rivia.
PREMIUM

Spelunking Through Hell: A Visitor’s Guide to the Underworld

McGuire’s characters are equal parts sass and sarcasm, set in an ever-expanding interdimensional world where Alice is on a journey highlighted by emotional chaos and roller-coaster pacing. Fans will be delighted by this “InCryptid” installation.

Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments

Everything rides on the shoulders of young Ropa in this post-apocalyptic, near-future Edinburgh where magic, science, and monarchy all hold equal sway. Ropa, at only 14, carries an adult’s burdens and responsibility with equal parts can-do spirit, stubborn energy, and kicking herself and her friends as necessary. This twisted Edinburgh tries its best to keep her down, but she never stops.

The Legacy of Molly Southbourne

The “Molly Southbourne Trilogy” ends in as much blood and heartbreak as it started. Themes of redemption and found family sliding the last puzzle pieces into place in this exciting and haunting series.

The Grief of Stones

The gentle Celehar continues to do his best to discover truths that few want revealed, while exploring his city, reflecting on his life and his world, and generally telling a delightful story that will satisfy readers of both fantasy and mystery.
PREMIUM

Caprice of Fate

Comic book/manga fans and listeners already used to audio dramas will probably enjoy, but Bennett’s novel is unlikely to appeal to anyone not already a fan of the format. An optional purchase to be considered on the basis of individual collection demographics.
PREMIUM

Where the Drowned Girls Go

Strong crossover appeal. Recommended for both fans and new listeners, particularly where interest in fantasy is high.
PREMIUM

The League of Set

A fun addition to any collection, and a good crossover choice, particularly where graphic novels are popular.
PREMIUM

How High We Go in the Dark

Although written in clean, no-frills prose, this listen still isn’t for the faint of heart. While it is likely to make a splash in awards circles, libraries without a dedicated, hardcore SFF readership can safely treat this title as an optional purchase.
PREMIUM

The Starless Crown

This rapid-fire fantasy is recommended for libraries with large, well-circulating SFF collections.

Read-Alikes for 'House of Sky and Breath' by Sarah J. Maas

Read-Alikes for ‘Abandoned in Death’ by J.D. Robb | LibraryReads

The Misfit Soldier

Highly recommended for readers of military sf who love stories where just as it seems the grunts are utterly FUBAR’d, they pull another half-baked plan out of the fire, screw the brass, and save the day.

Sweep of Stars

The first of this Afrofuturist trilogy takes off with an epic array of characters and plotlines that will enmesh readers in the politics and power struggles set across the stars.

The Circus Infinite

A three-ring extravaganza, combining a coming-of-age with Jes’s desperate race to save his new family from a corrupt mastermind. Readers will get caught up in Wong’s debut novel and find themselves wanting to run away to the circus with Jes. Highly recommended.

Wild and Wicked Things

May’s debut fantasy novel, a tale of secrets, lies, and mistakenly raising the dead, will keep readers guessing and turning pages to the very end. Highly recommended for lovers of dark, witchy fantasy, especially those seeking read-alikes of Alix Harrow’s The Once and Future Witches or Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane.
PREMIUM

Comeuppance Served Cold

Readers who love heist and caper stories will be thrilled with Dolly and her quest to deliver much-deserved comeuppance to those who believed they are above the law. The gas-lamp setting gives just the right touch of magic and creeping dread to Deeds’s novel.
PREMIUM

Heroic Hearts

A resoundingly successful collection of stories focused on heart, humor, and the strength of courage.

The Discord of Gods

Lyons wraps up “A Chorus of Dragons” by binding all the sprawling plotlines together in an incredibly satisfying epic fantasy adventure.

Sword and Shadow

Ideal for readers looking for stories of complex political maneuvering in fully realized fantasy worlds, with earth-shattering events told through complicated, sympathetic characters. This origin story for a well-loved character from the world of Elantra will get new readers up to speed while telling a story that long-time followers have been waiting for. Highly recommended.

Until the Last of Me

Balancing scientific details with character arcs and exciting action, Neuvel’s follow-up to A History of What Comes Next is an exciting science fiction thriller that will in turn inform and surprise readers.
PREMIUM

Goliath

Onyebuchi’s novel is a full sensory experience of language and imagery, set in a near-future world where race, class, and gentrification still drive conflict, both on Earth and in the stars.
PREMIUM

51

Recommended for readers of philosophically and psychologically bent sf.
PREMIUM

Outcasts of the Wildwood

Readers know and love the legend of Robin Hood, making this book (and Walk the Wild with Me, the first in Atwood’s series) a marvelous addition to the lore of the Greenwood. A real treat for readers looking for stories of wild places in the real world or who simply love Robin Hood in all his forms.

Nettle & Bone

Blending fairy-tale familiarity and common-sense characters, Kingfisher’s prose balances grim circumstances with humor and heart. Readers of Alix E. Harrow’s A Spindle Splintered and Melissa Albert’s “The Hazel Wood” series should pick this up immediately.

Seven Mercies

Lam and May’s follow-up to Seven Devils further explores the characters while keeping the action and emotional stakes high.

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?