Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Marry Me a Little: A Graphic Memoir

Recommended for mature teens and adults looking for personal accounts of recent history.
PREMIUM

Grimhaven

Tasker’s (1903–44) unromantic, soul-baring account combines the authenticity of memoir with the stirring progress of a bildungsroman. A worthy revival.
PREMIUM

The Bolivian Diary

Among Seven Stories Press’s vibrant English and Spanish editions of Che’s complete works, this raw account of his desperate and ultimately tragic final campaign makes a riveting and sobering bookend to the youthful idealism of his cult classic The Motorcycle Diaries.
PREMIUM

Divining: A Memoir in Trees

Dunphy’s charming, lyrical ode to her special trees will appeal to readers who enjoy natural-history memoirs, books about trees, and reflections on women’s lives and relationships with people, history, current events, and the natural world.

The Best Strangers in the World: Stories from a Life Spent Listening

Shapiro’s confident, clear voice and self-deprecating humor, familiar to his many fans, translates well to the written word. His writing will resonate with many and is a treasure for biography readers. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Chita: A Memoir

An enjoyable and inspiring inside look at a life in the theater; will be of interest to celebrity watchers and aspiring actors.
PREMIUM

My Cousin Maria Schneider: A Memoir

A terrific translation by fellow actress Ringwald makes this concise, harrowing book a powerful read.
PREMIUM

The Art of the Straight Line: My Tai Chi

It is not necessary to be a fan of Reed, the Velvet Underground, or the martial arts to appreciate the beauty and serenity the book provides.
PREMIUM

My Three Lives: A Memoir

Cole looks back on her life and career fondly, but she doesn’t shy away from the parts that were challenging and less than idyllic, making this a compelling read.
PREMIUM

Sex, Drugs and Pilot Season: Confessions of a Casting Director

A fun and fascinating addition to the showbiz-memoir genre that will be of interest to celebrity mavens and serious film students alike.
PREMIUM

Hijab Butch Blues

This book is recommended for all public and academic libraries.

Read-Alikes for ‘Spare’ by Prince Harry | LibraryReads

The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man: A Memoir

This gripping and emotionally wrenching memoir is given a top-notch multi-narrator production.
PREMIUM

California Soul: An American Epic of Cooking and Survival

Corbin’s gritty and forthright book is perfect for fans of chef memoirs like Notes from a Young Black Chef and Kitchen Confidential.

This Is Not a Book About Benedict Cumberbatch: The Joy of Loving Something—Anything—Like Your Life Depends on It

Part feminist essay, part memoir, this compassionate and utterly hilarious testament to the value of all passions and hobbies, no matter how niche, will offer much needed encouragement to mothers and non-mothers alike.

Dying of Politeness: A Memoir

Will appeal to listeners seeking a humorous, heartwarming memoir teeming with Hollywood stars and stories. Recommended for fans of amusing, empowering movie-star memoirs like Betty White’s and Lauren Graham’s.

Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story

Bono’s epic, introspective memoir is given an impressive music-filled production. It’s certainly one of the best audiobooks of the year.

Bang Bang Crash

This poignant memoir will not only be loved by music fans but will also likely appeal to readers who want to go on a journey of love, ambivalence, and acceptance.

All My Knotted-Up Life: A Memoir

Highly recommended for those interested in Christian studies, gender issues, and social history.
PREMIUM

Pat in the City: My Life of Fashion, Style, and Breaking All the Rules

A nostalgic dive into a slice of fashion history, a behind-the-scenes look at famous TV and film costuming, and a celebration of the contributions of LGBTQIA+ culture. Readers from several points of entry will appreciate Field’s accomplishments and her perspective.
PREMIUM

I Am Still with You: A Reckoning with Silence, Inheritance, and History

Those interested in personal stories about Nigeria will likely enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

First Light: A Journey Out of Darkness

Highly evocative, this title will likely make memoir fans feel nearly every emotion.
PREMIUM

Love, Pamela

Anderson fully takes control of her own story, addressing the salacious aspects but also sharing inspiring tales of survival, motherhood, and activism.

The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times

This is wisdom, pure and simple, for everyone in search of the strength necessary to live expansive lives in a world that too often relegates people to the margins.
PREMIUM

Betty White’s Pearls of Wisdom: Life Lessons from a Beloved American Treasure

A heartwarming read. Fans of Betty White will not be disappointed.

Best Memoirs of 2022

I Was a Teenage Monster Hunter! How I Met Vincent Price, Christopher Lee, Peter Cushing & More!

Irvin is an engaging raconteur with a star-studded cast of interview subjects. A terrific reference resource for horror movie fans.

Feels Like Home: A Song for the Sonoran Borderlands

Ronstadt celebrates her roots in this engaging, personal and entertaining hybrid family memoir/cookbook and social history.
PREMIUM

Don’t Think, Dear: On Loving and Leaving Ballet

Captures ballet’s romance as well as its dark and traumatic side.
PREMIUM

Ain’t But a Few of Us: Black Music Writers Tell Their Story

Recommended as a secondary purchase for academic libraries, especially those with music and journalism programs.
PREMIUM

Harvard, Hollywood, Hitmen, and Holy Men: A Memoir

This memoir is muddled. Only for confirmed film enthusiasts.
PREMIUM

Oh Love, Come Close: A Memoir

While interesting, this memoir reads more like poetry, so ideal readers will need to have that expectation.
PREMIUM

Drinking Games: A Memoir

A good choice for those seeking personal narratives of experiences of alcoholism in the 21st century; readers who appreciate stand-alone chapters instead of a more linear narrative will likely find it especially effective.
PREMIUM

Unraveling: What I Learned About Life While Shearing Sheep, Dyeing Wool, and Making the World’s Ugliest Sweater

Orenstein recounts her adventures in learning new skills with the openness and keen observations of a wise friend. This is a delight to read and will be of interest not only to crafters but also to anyone who’s learned something new as an adult.
PREMIUM

Local: A Memoir

This is the perfect book for anyone feeling lost, working through grief, and attempting to find a connection with someone to feel less alone.

Warrior: My Path to Being Brave

This memoir is highly recommended for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

Acne: A Memoir

This author-narrated gem is exactly as it should be. Only Chinn can do justice to her story, and she succeeds in style. Recommended for public libraries.
PREMIUM

Raising Raffi: The First Five Years

New parents, as well as parents of older children, will likely find both entertainment and solace in this smart, relatable work.
PREMIUM

Dispatches from the Gilded Age: A Few More Thoughts on Interesting People, Far-Flung Places, and the Joys of Southern Comforts

Wonderful stories written by a free-spirited woman from a privileged Southern family. Her irreverent style continues to charm.

She’s Nice Though: Essays on Being Bad at Being Good

This engaging audio will appeal to listeners looking for laugh-out-loud life stories about the curse of good girl energy in an era of bad bitch vibes. Recommended for fans of Lindy West and Samantha Irby.
PREMIUM

Asylum: A Memoir & Manifesto

This staggeringly powerful and sensitively-narrated memoir has a place in all public libraries.

The Crane Wife: A Memoir in Essays

Nothing short of a marvel, Hauser’s writing, combined with stellar narration, creates an exceptional audio experience.
PREMIUM

American Seoul: A Memoir

This is a troubling story and tough listen, both in terms of content and narration. An optional audio purchase for most libraries.
PREMIUM

Brown Enough: True Stories About Love, Violence, the Student Loan Crisis, Race, Familia, and Making It in America

An effective audiobook that raises thought-provoking questions about racial and color lines in America.

Tanqueray

These bawdy, gritty tales of New York City in the 1960s and 1970s will captivate listeners, but it’s Johnson who is the hero of this story. Listeners will relish every minute.
PREMIUM

Sea Trials: Around the World with Duct Tape and Bailing Wire

Armchair travelers and sailors alike should enjoy this well-narrated seafaring saga/family biography, gracefully crafted by the author to be heartwarming as well as heart-stopping.
PREMIUM

The Year of the Horses

Maum’s well-constructed and absorbing memoir will be appreciated by her fans, as well as those who enjoy memoirs, horses, and stories of strong women finding hope and healing.
PREMIUM

All of This: A Memoir of Death and Desire

Those who take solace in deep explorations of the grace and crudeness of people at their most vulnerable will find kinship with Woolf’s journey. Recommended for listeners who enjoy the work of Roxane Gay or Jenny Lawson.

Uncultured

Although this is Mestyanek Young’s first time narrating, listeners will appreciate hearing this deeply personal story told by the author herself. Share with fans of Tara Westover’s Educated and Deborah Feldman’s Unorthodox. Memoir readers will want to check this one out.
PREMIUM

Crying in the Bathroom: A Memoir

Ultimately landing on a message of hope and solidarity, Sánchez’s writing is authentic and real about what it means to be a first-generation Latina. A solid addition to the feminist author memoir genre.
PREMIUM

Riding the Lightning: A Year in the Life of a New York City Paramedic

Almojera’s honest and raw memoir makes an impact. This timely addition to any collection will help preserve the story of the first few months of the pandemic and give listeners a glimpse into the hectic life of being a paramedic in a city that never sleeps.
PREMIUM

Have I Told You This Already?: Stories I Don’t Want To Forget To Remember

A lighthearted look behind the curtain into the life and mind of one of today’s most down-to-earth celebrities. Highly recommended; share with fans of smart and funny celebrity memoirs such as Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo or Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns).
PREMIUM

Kiss & Tell: Stand Up & Stories About Love, Sex, Etc

The performers often laugh louder at their weak and meandering material than the live audience. A strictly optional purchase.
PREMIUM

I’m Glad My Mom Died

McCurdy’s battle over her demons will leave many listeners exhausted, but her excellent reading makes for a compelling audiobook.
PREMIUM

Boldly Go: Reflections on a Life of Awe and Wonder

Shatner’s upbeat collections of thoughtful musings is read with verve and good humor.
PREMIUM

Sink: A Memoir

This is a compulsively readable and brave memoir.

The Hard Parts: A Memoir of Courage and Triumph

This book is not only for sports fans but also for the multitude of readers who will likely want to learn more about this remarkable and courageous woman, who achieved her dream despite challenges. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Love Stories: Uplifting True Stories About Love

Together, it forms a story told through multiple voices that reminds readers that the ineluctable links between heartache and romance are what make emotions (and relationships) so worthwhile.

PREMIUM

Chasing Catastrophe: My 35 Years Covering Wars, Hurricanes, Terror Attacks, and Other Breaking News

This personal glimpse into more than two decades of broadcast journalism is quite engaging and highly evocative, but some readers may be put off by the parts about the pandemic and by the ending.

Fieldwork: A Forager’s Memoir

Regan’s latest work may very well surpass the critical success and praise of her debut in 2019. Her honesty is captivating, and her writing creates a tangible experience that is remarkable and unforgettable. This is a story many readers will not want to miss.
PREMIUM

Elvis and Me

Presley’s smooth, expressive, and confidential reading gives listeners the feeling that she’s revealing this very intimate portrait of a troubled man and their not-so fairy-tale marriage to their ears only.
PREMIUM

Scenes from My Life: A Memoir

This powerful audiobook reveals the humanity of a charismatic performer and is recommended for public libraries.

The World Deserves My Children

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an irreverent introspective on Leggero’s life, from child actress to middle-aged motherhood, filled with moments that are both human and hilarious. Recommended for fans of candid and compelling humor writing, à la Mia Mercado and Kristina Kuzmic.
PREMIUM

From Junkie to Judge: One Woman’s Triumph Over Trauma and Addiction

This is a sad but ultimately uplifting story. Recommended.

Caught in the Act: A Memoir by Courtney Act

Although Jenek’s frank discussions of sex and drug use may not appeal to all, this outrageous and affecting memoir is a must-listen. Purchase multiple copies and share widely; this delicious audio treat will not disappoint.

Leonard Cohen, Untold Stories: That’s How the Light Gets In, Vol. 3

Readers’ tolerance for this book will depend on how they feel about its subject, but Cohen has an enormous amount of fans.
PREMIUM

Friends, Lovers, and the Big Terrible Thing: A Memoir

A tale of hope for those trying to overcome addiction or in recovery. Friends fans will also likely enjoy Perry’s celebrity anecdotes.
PREMIUM

Miss Major Speaks: The Life and Legacy of a Black Trans Revolutionary

Full of colorful language, characters, and bold statements, this book belongs in adult public library collections, alongside other amazing works on anti-racism, social justice, and activism, such as the documentary 13th and Ibram X. Kendi’s How To Be An Antiracist.
PREMIUM

You Don’t Know What War Is: The Diary of a Young Girl from Ukraine

A firsthand account of life in a war zone, fleeing one’s home, and the way war forever alters the lives of children and families. Skalietska’s book is empathetic and sympathetic reading for adults and has strong crossover appeal for YA readers.

The Love You Save: A Memoir

While the moments of racial and gender-based violence are difficult to read, the book ultimately promotes a sense of hope and healing, designed not just to tell the story but to show readers that every act of resistance, every movement toward change can have an impact, and that no impact is too small when it saves someone.
PREMIUM

Windfall: The Prairie Woman Who Lost Her Way and the Great-Granddaughter Who Found Her

This book will appeal to readers who enjoy detailed political history books and those looking to learn a little more about the history of little discussed aspects of the Midwest.
PREMIUM

Remainders of the Day: A Bookshop Diary

This is a charming look at a small-town bookstore, its owner, and the people he meets.
PREMIUM

Illegally Yours

Agustin’s engaging narration and remarkable story is not to be missed. Fans of triumphant coming-of-age tales and memoirs will find much to love.
PREMIUM

Uncertain Ground

This carefully narrated and thought-provoking title brings home Klay’s central argument, that the duty of citizenship requires civilians to notice and weigh in. An important listen that is highly recommended for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

Biblical: Rob Halford’s Heavy Metal Scriptures

Rock-music readers who enjoyed Halford’s first book will enjoy his second just as much, if not more.

Playing Under the Piano: From Downton to Darkest Peru

Bonneville’s delightful memoir will be enjoyed by Downton Abbey fans, Anglophiles, and aspiring actors.

Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story

Sometimes confessional, many times humorous, and always clever and entertaining, Bono has delivered a fascinating autobiography of a major force in popular music and world affairs for all readers.
PREMIUM

Number One Is Walking: My Life in the Movies and Other Diversions

Martin is a hilarious physical and multiple-voiced comic whose genius arguably doesn’t convey as well in the more subtle print medium. Readers who enjoyed A Wealth of Pigeons should enjoy Martin and Bliss’s newest collaboration as well.
PREMIUM

No Job for a Man: A Memoir

Like the punk bands Bowie idolized as a teenager, his voice rings true in a crowded genre.
PREMIUM

Why Not? Lessons on Comedy, Courage, and Chutzpah

This will be of interest to fans of comedy. With Schiff’s heavy focus on faith, readers may also take from it an example of cultural and social history of American Judaism.
PREMIUM

Unspeakable: Surviving My Childhood and Finding My Voice

Fisher is mounting a comeback as a solo artist and receiving press attention, so there will be interest in her story. Her words will likely provide comfort to fellow survivors and encouragement to those needing to escape their own situations.
PREMIUM

The Wind at My Back: Resilience, Grace, and Other Gifts from My Mentor Raven Wilkinson

An accessible read that will surely be popular with Copeland’s many fans. Also a good choice for libraries looking to broaden their Black history offerings.
PREMIUM

Have I Told You This Already?: Stories I Don’t Want To Forget To Remember

Graham’s down-to-earth stories are funny and touching; a surefire fourth best-seller.
PREMIUM

Sour Mouth, Sweet Bottom: Lessons from a Dissolute Life

A walk down the wild side of memory lane that music-loving baby boomers will especially enjoy.
PREMIUM

21-Hit Wonder: Flopping My Way to the Top of the Charts

Even those unfamiliar with Hollander’s achievements will enjoy this frenetic, earthy ride told by a survivor of the dog-eat-dog music business.
PREMIUM

Prince on Prince: Interviews and Encounters

A collection of intriguing, frustrating, incisive interviews and insights into Prince’s remarkable career.
PREMIUM

Bibi: My Story

This books ranks of profound importance to readers interested in the recent history of the Middle East.
PREMIUM

Jesintel: Living Wisdom from Coast Salish Elders

A rich visual feast that honors Pacific Northwest Indigenous life.

What Is Home, Mum?: A Memoir

An essential purchase for all collections. Add it to the top of your book club suggestion list, and offer it to readers of literary fiction exploring similar themes of identity and belonging.
PREMIUM

Queen of Snails: A Graphic Memoir

In a triumph of recovery and reinvention, Burdock has reworked her chaotic past to build a memory-rich present through research, reflection, and compelling artistry.

PREMIUM

The Chimpanzee Whisperer: A Life of Love and Loss, Compassion and Conservation

This inspirational and astonishing story is sure to appeal to animal lovers and conservationists alike. An excellent addition to any public library collection.

The Forerunner: A Story of Pain and Perseverance in America

The life story of this history-making Congressional member eclipses the usual political memoir. Her story is riveting, moving, vivid, and radically vulnerable.
PREMIUM

Excuse Me While I Disappear: Tales of Midlife Mayhem

Fans of Annabelle Gurwitch and Helen Ellis will likely enjoy this book as well, plus laugh out loud at this candid comedy of errors and older people.
PREMIUM

Fatty Fatty Boom Boom: A Memoir of Food, Fat, and Family

Recommended for fans of Lindy West and Frank Bruni’s Born Round.

Boldly Go: Reflections on a Life of Awe and Wonder

This is not just for dedicated Star Trek fans. Shatner is an inspiring figure with valuable life lessons to share.

Black Women Will Save the World: An Anthem

An informative, inspirational work by a leading political journalist; an essential purchase for public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

The Lives of Brian: A Memoir

This will definitely be a popular book with any library’s rock fan patrons. It’s also an inspiring story for all readers.
PREMIUM

Beyond the Wand: The Magic and Mayhem of Growing Up a Wizard

An honest, at times humorous, and entertaining memoir that movie buffs, especially Harry Potter fans, will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Dying of Politeness: A Memoir

For admirers of Davis, film, or anyone who believes women deserve an equal voice in their industry. In particular, her take on the appeal of Thelma and Louise is spot on.
PREMIUM

Punk Paradox: A Memoir

The hard-driven Gaffin compellingly and eloquently describes the rewards and pitfalls of a career as successful musician and academic that will fascinate general readers.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?