Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Nightmare Man

Markert’s (Midnight at the Tuscany Hotel, published under the name James Markert) first horror novel is both a literary thrill ride and a supernaturally satisfying guilty pleasure.
PREMIUM

In Her Highlander’s Bed

Fans of historicals, especially those featuring kind and handsome Highlanders, will find a lot to love in this latest from Sands (Highland Wolf).
PREMIUM

10 Signs You Need To Grovel

Suggest that fans of Colleen Hoover, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Lucy Score add Siskind’s latest to their to-be-read piles.
PREMIUM

The Rose and the Thistle

Readers who love Celtic settings will rejoice over this offering featuring bonny Scotland. For fans of historical fiction from the likes of Jocelyn Green, Michelle Griep, and Elizabeth Camden.
PREMIUM

Ellie Is Cool Now

A solid addition to any public library romance collection.

Cold-Blooded Liar

Fans of strong female protagonists, titillating crime dramas, and the novels of Lisa Gardner, Lisa Jackson, and Rose herself will find this unputdownable.
PREMIUM

Showstopper

The twisting plot keeps the story entertaining. Much as Clea Simon does in Hold Me Down, Lovesey makes the violence clear but does not place it front and center in the manner of grittier writers such as John Grisham or Michael Connelly. Fans of English detective stories will enjoy this novel and will want to read more books by Lovesey.
PREMIUM

The Resemblance

The fast pace is counterbalanced by paint-by-numbers characters, an overstuffed narrative, and an unbelievable finale. This debut is a bumpy ride.
PREMIUM

A Fashionable Fatality

Readers with an eye for fashion will enjoy the detailed descriptions of 1920s clothing and accessories while fans of the series will be excited to return to Phoebe and Eva’s world as they navigate a new mystery and ongoing relationships.
PREMIUM

Reef Road

Inspired by an actual murder, this title by actress and author Royce (Ruby Falls) will be appreciated by fans of psychological thrillers and stories of traumas affecting multiple generations.
PREMIUM

Stranded with My Forbidden Billionaire

King’s (Undone by Her Ultra-Rich Boss) skillfully written words flow effortlessly off the page, quickly drawing the reader in.
PREMIUM

Under the Mistletoe

These stories are perfect for curling up in front of a fire with a hot cup of cocoa.
PREMIUM

Rules of Their Royal Wedding Night

Smart (Pregnant Innocent Behind the Veil) entertains readers throughout this novel with a well-told story line and delightfully written love scenes. Fans of slow-burn romance novels will eagerly pull this off the library shelves.
PREMIUM

The Wife the Spaniard Never Forgot

Readers will be quick to pick this one off the shelf. Recommend to fans of Anita Shreve, Kate Morton, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.
PREMIUM

Colton’s Ultimate Test

Readers who have gotten this far in the series will appreciate the everyone-lives-happily-ever-after-with-a-wedding epilogue they’ve been waiting for, but the story itself, with implausible investigative work and a lukewarm romance, doesn’t have too much to recommend it to newcomers.
PREMIUM

The Cost of Cinderella’s Confession

James (Destitute Until the Italian’s Diamond) writes a skilled and delightful story that will keep readers wondering what is in this couple’s future. Fans of Maya Banks, Lynne Graham, and Sarah Morgan will be drawn to this quick read.
PREMIUM

Danger in Big Sky Country

Van Meter (Colton’s Amnesia Target) starts her “Big Sky Justice” series off on a strong note. Relatable characters and a solid mystery combine with a nicely paced romance to make this a book fans of the genre are sure to appreciate, and the unanswered questions at the end about Luna’s family history will ensure that they come back for future series installments.

Foster

Keegan offers further evidence of her facility at imbuing short fiction with immense feeling and invoking a deceptively grand scale; a rich, compassionate work that will appeal to a wide range of readers.
PREMIUM

The Italian’s Bride Worth Billions: An Uplifting International Romance

Graham (The King’s Christmas Heir) delivers a delectable story in this marriage-of-convenience novel.
PREMIUM

His Pregnant Desert Queen

Readers fascinated with royal stories will be interested in this fairy tale.
PREMIUM

Secret Alaskan Hideaway

Unfortunately, neither the dynamics of village life nor the threats to the protagonists’ lives feel particularly grounded in reality here, and the romance between the two leads lacks substance.

How To Survive a Scandal

A romp full of intrigue, spice, and mystery.
PREMIUM

The Accidental Accardi Heir

Fans of happily-ever-after stories will enjoy this read.
PREMIUM

A Baby Scandal in Italy

Shaw (Her Secret Royal Dilemma) writes this highly entertaining and sensual story with great ease and precision. Add this title to shelves for fans of Colleen Hoover, Jojo Moyes, and Penelope Douglas.
PREMIUM

Booked To Kill

Ultimately, this stand-alone romantic suspense story winds up being fairly forgettable. The speed with which Jack goes from suspicion of to fascination with Olivia strains credulity, and though readers may initially be drawn into the mystery, the final reveal of an almost cartoonish villain fails to satisfy in the end.

Read-Alikes for ‘Desert Star’ by Michael Connelly | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Cinderella’s Second Chance in Paris

Renae’s (When Angus Met Zayla) debut Harlequin novel is a later-in-life romance that’s sure to tug at readers’ heartstrings.
PREMIUM

Their Wildest Safari Dream

A second-chance romance with a beautiful setting and palpable tension, this book is sure to please.

Demon Copperhead

Kingsolver has successfully created an authentic voice for her teenage protagonist, a voice at once heartbreaking, humorous (often at his own expense), and ultimately resilient. This highly recommended work is an excellent read in conjunction with Beth Macy’s Dopesick and J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy (both nonfiction) and novels like Tess Gunty’s The Rabbit Hutch and Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.
PREMIUM

Isha, Unscripted

The romance between Isha and Tarik the bartender is sweet, but much of the rest of the story feels clunky. Recommended for libraries where Patel’s (First Love, Take Two) previous works are popular.
PREMIUM

The Twyford Code

Hallett (The Appeal) creates a unique and imaginative mystery utilizing both an unreliable narrator and mainly epistolary format. The tale spins wildly, and readers are never certain regarding the facts. It’s tough going at first but worth sticking with for Smithy.
PREMIUM

The Maid’s Diary

Libraries with large thriller collections, or where other titles by White (The Patient’s Secret) are popular, may want to consider it, but most can skip.

Step by Bloody Step

An emotionally nuanced, action-packed, absolutely astonishing feat of graphic narrative.
PREMIUM

Their Icelandic Marriage Reunion

A cozy second-chance romance with a wonderful cast of secondary characters, a pinch of humor, and a couple whom readers will be truly rooting for. This one from Pembroke (Baby on the Rebel Heir’s Doorstep) should not be missed.
PREMIUM

Snowed In with the Billionaire

Purchase where second-chance romances are popular.

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr

A passionate and refreshingly unsentimental fable that suggests every aspect of the human experience is vital and worthy of celebration.

The Nice House on the Lake, Vol. 1

A deeply unsettling, breathlessly thrilling, uncommonly engrossing horror story, rendered in exquisitely atmospheric illustration, and a provocative meditation on what it takes to stay alive, and to stay human, in a collapsing world. This volume collects the first six issues of a 12-issue story.
PREMIUM

Out of Aztlan

Colorful and complex language paired with an edgy tone and mystical plotlines make this an easy choice for acquisition departments. Some good suggestions for read-alikes include Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado, Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology edited by Vince A. Liaguno and Rena Mason, and Both Sides: Stories From the Border edited by Gabino Iglesias.

Read-Alikes for ‘Going Rogue’ by Janet Evanovich | LibraryReads

LJ Talks to SFF Writer Denise Crittendon About ‘Where It Rains in Color’

PREMIUM

Now Is Not the Time To Panic

Highly recommended as a sincere, sometimes brutal, but always sturdy study of the burden of both art and adolescence and a wonderfully evocative treatise on how we imprint ourselves on the world and learn to survive in that tumultuous wake.
PREMIUM

The Fireballer

Readers looking for sports fiction heavy on the baseball will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

Ruby Spencer’s Whisky Year

Food writer Bilow’s (The Call of the Farm) debut romance is just as charming as its Scottish village setting.

Murder at an Irish Castle

There’s a strong sense of place in Brannigan’s debut, a well-written cozy mystery series launch. Will appeal to fans of Sheila Connolly and Carlene O’Connor.

The Portrait of a Duchess

Peckham (The Rakess) sensitively introduces a heroine battling prejudice and censure, while also delivering a romance full of political machinations, surprises, and steamy sex scenes. A captivating sequel guaranteed to thrill.
PREMIUM

Sleep No More

Krentz (Lightning in a Mirror) infuses gripping romantic suspense with the metaphysical in this novel that will delight long-time fans and new readers alike. A few unanswered questions create an intriguing set-up for the next book in this new series.
PREMIUM

Untethered Sky

This slim novella packs a punch as it explores the emotional journey of one woman’s feelings of vengeance and devotion, as wild as the creatures that she must face.
PREMIUM

The Backup Plan

A solid story perfect for readers who enjoy introspection, emotional resolution, and found-family alongside their romance. Though this is the third installment in Shalvis’s “Sunrise Cove” series (after The Friendship Pact), it stands alone, without crossover characters.

Ana Takes Manhattan

It’s clear from the outset that veteran reality TV producer Decos knows her subject matter, and Ana is a likable, fun character who will make readers laugh and believe in finding true love.
PREMIUM

Alligator Alley

This is an easy entry to the Joe DeMarco series and will win Lawson some new fans.
PREMIUM

The Magic Kingdom

The narrative moves slowly, but copious detail of Shaker life and the philosophy of utopian communities that have largely disappeared from the American landscape, are well depicted. Well-researched historical fiction from a skilled novelist.
PREMIUM

Frontier

This western-inspired, post-apocalyptic tale is an adventurous science-fiction story, filled with a high-action quest and intimate looks at what people will do to survive.
PREMIUM

For Her Consideration

YA novelist Spalding’s (We Used To Be Friends) adult debut is an optimistic, empathetic choice for readers, which highlights queer women pursuing creative careers and showcases a strong emotional growth arc.
PREMIUM

Aesthetica

Rowbottom’s focus on second chances, true love, and self-awareness rings true as she calls out the image making and image makers of social media, and readers of a broad range of contemporary fiction will enjoy. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Hopeland

An eccentric and adventurous love story mixed with a rich and picturesque family saga. The popping action sequences reinforce McDonald’s (The Menace from Farside) swift and distinctive writing style. Perfect for fans of Stephen Baxter.
PREMIUM

Daughters of Victory

Reminiscent of Janet Fitch’s novels about the Russian Revolution, Saab’s book indulgently lingers too long in several plot complications.
PREMIUM

Cinderella and the Duke

A well-done debut that once again proves that reformed rakes make the best husbands. Regency romance fans will look forward to more from this new author.
PREMIUM

A Fire Endless

Ross (A River Enchanted) creates a magical story with lyrical prose that draws the reader into the tale and its setting. Recommend this series to fans of Jeffe Kennedy, Susanna Clarke, and Terry Brooks.
PREMIUM

Feed Them Silence

Supported by Mandelo’s (Summer Sons) characteristic, melancholic prose, this novella may not be for every reader, but it will appeal to those who appreciate delving into thorny ethical dilemmas and will make readers consider their own beliefs regarding ethics, research, technology, and relationships.
PREMIUM

The Mimicking of Known Successes

Recommended for readers who enjoy a bit of mystery mixed with their SF (like Mary Robinette Kowal’s recent The Spare Man and Eddie Robson’s Drunk on All Your Strange New Words) and anyone who cannot resist a Sherlock Holmes pastiche.
PREMIUM

The Master of Mysteries

Burgess’s stories have too much philosophizing and pseudoscience for modern readers. Recommended only for collectors and reference, as early examples of American detective fiction.

Secretly Yours

Readers will devour Bailey’s latest (after Hook, Line, and Sinker) in one sitting, then go back to again and again to pick up on its intricate subtleties. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Strange

Ballingrud, whose story collection North American Lake Monsters was adapted as the Hulu TV series Monsterland, makes his full-length novel debut with this Wild West frontier story on Mars that edges into horror.
PREMIUM

The Reunion

A must-read for fans of Christina Lauren, Emily Henry, and early 2000s teen drama shows.

The Duke Gets Even

Shupe (The Bride Goes Rogue) shines again, offering what may be the best entry as she ties up what was already an excellent series with a steamy story that showcases well-written characters readers have come to love.
PREMIUM

Queen of Thieves

The author’s writing style is often clever and sharp, but sometimes settles into cliche. The story comes to a satisfying, if predictable, ending. For readers who have a fondness for English characters.
PREMIUM

After Sappho

Readers interested in a dramatically fleshed-out account of the history of women’s liberation, as well as the arts and literature generally, will find much to appreciate in this book. Recommended.
PREMIUM

The Daughters of Izdihar

Elsbai’s debut feminist fantasy, inspired by modern Egyptian history, provides an in-depth exploration of a society on the edge of revolution and war. The fight for women’s rights is centered here, but it is clear that more is yet to come in book two of this projected duology.
PREMIUM

A Brief History of Living Forever

The post-apocalyptic setting makes Kalfar’s (Spaceman of Bohemia) latest an excellent addition to SF collections, but it’s also an interesting story of an adopted adult reuniting with her birth family.
PREMIUM

The Last Russian Doll

Loesch’s writing can be lyrically evocative. Many red herrings and detours mar the story’s momentum so that the strong opening pages fade to a mélange of thriller, mystery, and fantasy.
PREMIUM

A Witch’s Guide to Fake Dating a Demon

While Hawley confronts the emotional and verbal abuse that Mariel has endured from her family, overall this romantic comedy is witty and fun, with plenty of humor balanced with the sexual tension between the protagonists.
PREMIUM

Sea Castle

The series never ceases to be fascinating, making characters sink or swim as lives are on the line and the story veers in unexpected direction. Required reading for any suspense fan.
PREMIUM

The Basilisk Throne

Keyes’s (Realms of the Deathless) high seas, epic fantasy is fast-paced, contains exceptional worldbuilding, and offers multiple intricate plots woven together to create a marvelous adventure that will appeal to Game of Thrones fans. Readers will eagerly await future volumes.
PREMIUM

Just My Type

Despite a few missteps, this spicy, tropey read will have most rom-com fans declaring, “It’s just my type of book!”
PREMIUM

Wild Massive

The latest from Moore (Battle of the Linguist Mages) is perfect for those who enjoy offbeat sci-fi where the weak stand up to the strong.
PREMIUM

The Vibrant Years

Dev explores themes of racialization, gender roles, and aging in a lighthearted way, with details on food and fashion sprinkled throughout. Recommended.

Looking for Jane

This timely novel about motherhood and choices is a must for all fiction collections.
PREMIUM

You Must Remember This

Fans of Agatha Christie will love the red herrings and large cast of interesting characters. Recommended for most libraries; large libraries or those with large numbers of mystery readers may need multiple copies.

Desert Star

Fans of police procedurals, dark cat-and-mouse mysteries, and Connelly’s iconic characters will find this soon-to-be-best-seller absolutely unputdownable.
PREMIUM

A Castle in Brooklyn

Wachtell’s (This I Know) latest is a good historical novel about Jewish immigrants; a solid choice for book clubs.
PREMIUM

Behind the Scenes

Recommended for libraries where feel-good, low-conflict contemporary romances are in demand.
PREMIUM

Bad Cree

Despite some of the genuinely eerie imagery and horror elements, when the book ends, what readers will remember most are the moments these characters shared together, playing cards and talking late into the night.

The Shamshine Blind

This science-fictional noir will appeal to readers who have fallen hard for the upswing in blended SF/mysteries such as John Scalzi’s “Lock In” and “Dispatcher” series. The blend brings a new twist to both parts of its equation, with the mystery and all its delicious red herrings set in a world not quite like the present. Curtida fits right into the mold of the noir detective while giving Sam Spade and company an entirely different perspective as a neuro-atypical Latinx protagonist. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Chemistry of Love

A fresh and fun romance from Wilson (Cinder-Nanny) and a recommended first-tier purchase.
PREMIUM

The Girls in Navy Blue

This extraordinary novel follows the stories of strong women who undertake struggles and become stronger for it. Peggy’s journey renovating the cottage recalls Frances Mayes’s memoir Under the Tuscan Sun and its run-down villa.

Engaging Deception

Hilarious misunderstandings and secrets abound in this humorous, action-packed romance. Jennings (Proposing Mischief) brings out the best in the historical Christian romance genre, and this is a satisfying conclusion to her trilogy that can easily be read as a stand-alone.
PREMIUM

Summer’s End

Van Stry’s nuts-and-bolts approach to spaceships, mixed with a fascinating and complex portrait of future-Earth politics and society, will appeal to fans of James Corey’s “Expanse” series.

The Last Party

The author of Hostage launches a police procedural series featuring well-developed, complex characters. The format alternates between the party and the investigation in a gripping story with twists and turns.
PREMIUM

Really Good, Actually

There are some funny moments in this light read, but Heisey goes a little over the top in trying to represent peak millennialism via Maggie’s sexual exploration and niche interests. The characters are mostly relatable, all flaws properly accounted for, although they come across as exaggerated examples of personality types.

A World of Curiosities

Penny’s 18th Gamache novel (after All the Devils Are Here) is intense as the detective digs deep into his own fears. The darkness in this intricately plotted story forces readers to search for contrasting moments of hope.
PREMIUM

The Villa

The story is a slow burn with a flame that never quite materializes. Give this one to readers looking for psychological suspense and twist endings, but those seeking high-stakes tension will want to look elsewhere.
PREMIUM

Do I Know You?

Written by the married writing team of Wibberley and Siegemund-Broka (The Roughest Draft), this contemporary romance will appeal to fans of the marriage in trouble trope and readers who enjoyed Love Her or Lose Her by Tessa Bailey and The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams.
PREMIUM

The Game Is a Footnote

This entertaining Sherlock Holmes pastiche (sequel to A Three Book Problem) will appeal to fans of quirky characters and bookstore settings.
PREMIUM

The Many Dates of Indigo

Samuel deftly weaves humor, pathos, and sexiness into the story of how Indigo’s journey to find a romantic partner leads to her discovering her own truest self along the way. This engrossing novel is likely to be popular and is recommended for all fiction collections.
PREMIUM

Not Your Ex’s Hexes

The charming second entry in the “Supernatural Singles” series (after Not the Witch You Wed) features hilarious and heartwarming characters and undeniable attraction between its leads.
PREMIUM

Dawnlands

Another good historical novel from prolific Gregory, more compelling for those who have read the other books in the series; as a stand-alone, it’s harder to follow the characters and their motivations.

Dr. No

A go-for-broke work of literary comedy that successfully blends rib-tickling eccentricity with affecting and stealthily moving discourse on race, wealth, and the failures of neoliberal institutions; you’re unlikely to read anything funnier this year.
PREMIUM

The Sorcerer of Pyongyang

Recalling Adam Johnson’s The Orphan Master’s Son, this intriguing new work from Theroux plunges readers into a dystopian North Korea and extracts the emotional complexity of a single life intended to be lived as a secondary character within its state ideology.
PREMIUM

VenCo

Dimaline’s latest adult work (after Empire of Wild) will appeal to readers looking for feminist tales of women hexing the patriarchy.
PREMIUM

Sorry, Bro

Featuring a slow-burn, chemistry-driven relationship, the book also beautifully depicts and celebrates Armenian culture and traditions throughout the story.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?