Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The 2022 Diverse Book Awards Shortlist Is Announced | Book Pulse

Center for Fiction 2022 First Novel Prize Shortlist Is Announced | Book Pulse

Bewitching Books

New on DVD/Blu-ray: Ghastly 'Post Mortem'; 'Paradise Highway'; and More

Top Docs: Empowering 'Girls Can't Surf'; 'American Horses'; and More

Top Film Picks on DVD/Blu-ray: Timely 'Happening'; 'Mothering Sunday'; and More

James Patterson Donates $5.3M to Howard University, PEN America, and Scholastic Book Clubs | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘The Winners’ by Fredrik Backman | LibraryReads

The State Must Provide, Complaint!, How Student Loans Became a National Catastrophe, and More in Education | Academic Best Sellers

The Reader’s Shelf | The Joys of Re-Reading

Literary Fiction, Apr. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Short Story Collections: Apr. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Veteran Thrills: Apr. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

More Top Thrills: Apr. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

World History: Apr. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Shortlist Is Announced | Book Pulse

‘The Winners’ by Fredrik Backman Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Bad Poetry, Vol. 1: Tumbleweed

Recommended for those who want a straightforward, heartfelt read in tumultuous times, including YAs looking for resonance and anyone appreciating the insouciance of Rodriguez’s title.
PREMIUM

Claude Rains: An Invisible Man

With extensive photographs, notes, and bibliography, this is a notable and detailed tribute to an actor who deserves to be remembered.

Black Women Will Save the World: An Anthem

An informative, inspirational work by a leading political journalist; an essential purchase for public and academic libraries.

Butts: A Backstory

A fun, fascinating, and surprisingly empowering exploration of the history and cultural significance of the butt.
PREMIUM

The Last Hill: The Epic Story of a Ranger Battalion and the Battle That Defined WWII

Most libraries with World War II collections will want recent works, like Drury and Clavin’s, on the accomplishments of these famous Army Rangers.
PREMIUM

I Wore This Dress Today for You, Mom

Lit up with sudden lyricism (“Her body releasing mist from the hurricane inside her”), Dower’s sharply observed quotidian detail will draw in even casual readers of poetry.

Finalists

Armantrout at her most thoughtful; highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Belly to the Brutal

Givhan’s strong, vibrant writing can also be dense and layering, sometimes slowing up an understanding of her meaning, but the result is great for the word-hungry and readers interested in the female experience.

And There Was Light: Abraham Lincoln and the American Struggle

A scholarly book on the life, triumphs, and heartbreaks of Abraham Lincoln’s life, but general readers may enjoy it too. This is a title that will likely be a fruitful one for all levels of book discussion groups.
PREMIUM

Evolve or Die: Hard-Won Lessons from a Hockey Life

A disarmingly honest view of a storied career in Canadian sports broadcasting. Will likely appeal to hockey fans, particularly those who share Shannon’s feelings for Hockey Night in Canada.

The Columbo Companion 1968–78: Investigating Every Detail of All 45 “Classic Era” Columbo Adventures

An affectionate, critical, and immensely entertaining guide to the classic TV series.
PREMIUM

The Choreography of Everyday Life

A thoughtful addition to a dance library collection.
PREMIUM

Beasts of the Earth

From reptiles in the swamp hunting prey, to reptilian men, cold and calculating, beasts feature in this disturbing novel. Best for readers who don’t mind brutal if the prose is beautiful.
PREMIUM

Of Saints and Miracles

“We have the voice and we have the time. We have all time” proclaims Astur. Great reading for lovers of the mythopoetic.
PREMIUM

Best of Friends

Even as it displays upheaval in the lives of two women who are “best of friends,” Shamsie’s fascinating novel takes readers through political change in Pakistan under Presidents Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq and Benazir Bhutto while also plumbing tensions in UK politics today. It will be especially welcomed by book clubs, as it will inspire vibrant conversation.
PREMIUM

The Bad Angel Brothers

As with any sibling rivalry, there are two sides to the story, and much of the tension hangs on whose perception is correct. Is Frank truly a villain, or is Cal an unreliable narrator whose perceptions are skewed by his experiences with Frank? Or are both statements true at once? A fraught psychological drama rich with mythic overtones.
PREMIUM

The Slowworm’s Song

This novel about a life derailed early and the long shadow cast by the Troubles gathers strength as it unfolds; recommended for readers of serious fiction.
PREMIUM

Elizabeth Finch

With a little too much ado about Julian (the author’s namesake?), Barnes blends fact and fiction as he has done before into an imaginative whole.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Bridesmaid

Landish’s (The French Kiss) steamy novel begins as a standard wedding-fling romance but develops into an exploration of small-town life, the rising costs of real estate, and navigating family responsibility and personal ethics, all of which anchor a sexy love story featuring a bold heroine who loves a good innuendo and a decent hero who knows that the wrong bridesmaid is the right woman for him.
PREMIUM

Lapis

Despite its challenges, a book to be appreciated by poetry sophisticates.

Hilary Mantel Has Died at Age 70 | Book Pulse

The 2022 Baillie Gifford Prize for Nonfiction Longlist Announced | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Mathematics for Ladies: Poems on Women in Science

For science readers who love poetry, poetry readers who love science, and feminists and students of all ages. [For more on this collection, see “Curating Creativity: Jessy Randall Finds Inspiration in the Archives | Peer to Peer Review.”]

The 2022 American Poets Prizes Are Announced | Book Pulse

Creativebug | eReviews

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882–1986 | eReviews

Cold Peace, Forgotten Girls, and Crack-Up Capitalism: Current Issues, Apr. 2023, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Plagues Upon the Earth, Maladies of Empire, Our History of Addiction, Secret of Life, and More in History of Science | Academic Best Sellers

Prepub Alert March 2023 | The Complete List

Spotify Launches Audiobooks Hub with 300,000+ Titles | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘The Bullet That Missed’ by Richard Osman | LibraryReads

Banned Books Week Launches Amid Rising Challenges | Book Pulse

The 2022 National Book Awards for Nonfiction & Poetry Longlists Announced | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Drifting into Darkness: Murders, Madness, Suicide, and a Death “Under Suspicious Circumstances”

The well-written, well-researched book is ideal for fans of true crime and general readers.
PREMIUM

Listen, World! How the Intrepid Elsie Robinson Became America’s Most-Read Woman

. This engaging and well-researched biography reads like a novel and should appeal to readers interested in journalism, women’s studies, and adventure tales alike.
PREMIUM

The Ghosts That Haunt Me: Memories of a Homicide Detective

True crime readers will likely have a difficult time putting the book down.
PREMIUM

In Their Names: The Untold Story of Victims’ Rights, Mass Incarceration, and the Future of Public Safety

Supporters of criminal justice reform will enjoy this non-technical plea for change.
PREMIUM

Your Family Revealed: A Guide to Decoding the Patterns, Stories, and Belief Systems in Your Family

An involving, approachable book for readers looking for new and different ways to think about their own families.
PREMIUM

The Last Speaker of Bear: My Encounters in the North

Although the brevity of the essays may make readers wish Millman had opted to write the fuller memoir he mentions in the preface, those interested in the Arctic will likely appreciate what they’ve gotten.
PREMIUM

The Lives of Brian: A Memoir

This will definitely be a popular book with any library’s rock fan patrons. It’s also an inspiring story for all readers.
PREMIUM

Best Seat in the House: An Assistant Director Behind the Scenes of Feature Films

This unpretentious memoir about filmmaking will appeal to anyone in love with the big screen.
PREMIUM

The Thrill of Orthodoxy: Rediscovering the Adventure of Christian Faith

While those who feel the borders of their Christian faith are under threat may applaud the approach, those left on the outside may find this presentation less than thrilling.
PREMIUM

Invasion ’51: The Birth of Alien Cinema

Useful for film scholars or sociologists, yet still accessible for general sci-fi fans, Kotz’s book is a fascinating look at the debut of an extraterrestrial movie menace that’s still popular today.
PREMIUM

Stephen King: A Complete Exploration of His Work, Life, and Influences

Best suited to libraries with strong horror collections.
PREMIUM

Beyond the Wand: The Magic and Mayhem of Growing Up a Wizard

An honest, at times humorous, and entertaining memoir that movie buffs, especially Harry Potter fans, will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Dying of Politeness: A Memoir

For admirers of Davis, film, or anyone who believes women deserve an equal voice in their industry. In particular, her take on the appeal of Thelma and Louise is spot on.
PREMIUM

Mission: Yozakura Family, Vol. 1

Serialized on Shonen Jump, Gondaira’s English-language print debut is a wacky and exciting shonen adventure that will appeal to young adults looking for found-family plotlines. Fans of Tatsuya Endo’s Spy x Family and manga with a wild variety of ragtag characters will feel right at home.
PREMIUM

Alaska for Christmas

In her second “Wild Coast” book (after Sweet Home Alaska), Snow has penned a sweet love story between two people who are a little lost in their own lives. Perfect for both holiday displays and those looking for daring rescues mingled with their love stories.
PREMIUM

When Life Gives You Vampires

The book’s near-constant preoccupation with weight may be triggering to some, but readers of paranormal romance who enjoy more character growth than violence might enjoy this debut novel.
PREMIUM

Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction

These stories are entrancing and provide a welcome introduction to speculative writers from the African continent and the African diaspora.

Author Katy Hays Discusses Her Debut Novel, The Cloisters

The 2022 National Book Awards for Translated Literature Longlist is Announced | Book Pulse

Books for Authors | Resources for Writers

Oprah Picks 'That Bird Has My Wings' by Jarvis Jay Masters For Book Club | Book Pulse

Memoir as Healing: Mar. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

SF/Fantasy/Horror Previews: Mar. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

1619 Project, Fannie Lou Hamer's Enduring Message, Afro-Indigenous History of the U.S., and More in Politics and Law | Academic Best Sellers

Bestselling Cookbooks | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

Award-Winning Poet Samiya Bashir Named Executive Director of Lambda Literary | Book Pulse

Art Spiegelman To Receive 2022 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘Oath of Loyalty’ by Vince Flynn and Kyle Mills | LibraryReads

Talking and Listening to Audiobook Narrator Dion Graham

Top Pre-Release Holds for October 2022 Audiobooks | Fiction

Top Pre-Release Holds for October 2022 Audiobooks | Nonfiction

Best Audiobooks of the Season | Audio in Depth Starred Reviews

Audiobook Romance Starred Reviews | Alastair Haynesbridge, Rebecca Mozo, Bahni Turpin, and Julie Whelan Read The Season's Top Picks

Audiobook Horror Starred Reviews | Fareeda Ahmed, Kirby Heybourne, John Keating, Jennifer O'Donnell, Jonathan Todd Ross, Neil Shah, Jasmin Walker, and Rita Wolf Read The Season's Top Picks

Audiobook SFF Starred Reviews | Colin Mace and Janelle Monáe Read The Season's Top Picks

Audiobook Mystery Starred Reviews | Scott Brick, Gabrielle de Cuir, Billie Fulford-Brown, Tanya Eby, Grace Experience, Jodie Harris, January LaVoy, Ray Porter, Kirsten Potter, and Yelena Shmulenson Read The Season's Top Picks

Award News for the Kirkus, Wainwright, and CBC Nonfiction Prizes | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

All Our Griefs To Bear

Those who lead and support congregations would do well to consider this well-supported book. It’s filled with advice about how to adjust to a post-pandemic world.

The Power of Ideas: Words of Faith and Wisdom

Sacks, a sage, never fails to impart an accessible, yet deeply sagacious insight into the modern struggle for a life of meaning and purpose. A valuable list of his published works completes this collection.
PREMIUM

Listening in the Dark: Women Reclaiming the Power of Intuition

This title will resonate strongly with readers who enjoyed Clarissa Pinkola Estés’s Women Who Run with the Wolves, a work Tamblyn mentions a number of times. With a variety of perspectives, this collection validates women striving to hear and trust themselves.
PREMIUM

Bad Boy with Benefits: An Opposites-Attract Romance

Readers will enjoy the easy chemistry and the story of these two wounded people finding fulfillment in each other, though some of the same over-the-top backstory elements, which strain credulity in the previous books in the series, remain.
PREMIUM

The Prince’s Pregnant Secretary

Grayson (A Cinderella for the Prince’s Revenge) spins a tale that will leave royal fans quickly turning the pages, looking for their happy ending.
PREMIUM

Snowbound in Her Boss’s Bed

Readers looking for a holiday story will be drawn to this Hanukkah novel where temptations are abundant for all.
PREMIUM

Crowning His Secret Princess

This story from Hardy (One Week in Venice with the CEO) will warm readers’ hearts.
PREMIUM

Reclusive Millionaire’s Mistletoe Miracle

The latest from Douglas (after Wedding Date in Malaysia) features a charming hero and heroine, and fantastic banter that will leave readers chuckling. This book is sure to please.
PREMIUM

Married by Midnight: A Marriage-of-Convenience Romance

As in previous books, the conclusion might be a little quick and ultimately convenient, but McKenna’s character work and writing allow it to feel earned.
PREMIUM

Their Dubai Marriage Makeover

The desert reunion romance premise may entice readers, but they may find the pace too slow.
PREMIUM

Killer in the Heartland

The pacing of this story feels uneven, since the threats to Mary’s life are resolved quite a bit earlier than her relationship with Lucas. An implausible antagonist and a serial killer that feels more cartoonish than truly terrifying, combine to make this first book in Cassidy’s (Gunsmoke in the Grassland) new series, “The Scarecrow Murders,” a less-than-satisfying read.
PREMIUM

Six Days To Live

Despite the tension its title promises, Dodson (King of Hyde Park) never quite delivers on its pulse-pounding premise. The bad guys feel like little more than caricatures, and the bulk of the heroine’s work to save the hero appears off page. Uneven pacing makes this one more frustrating than satisfying to read.
PREMIUM

Whirlwind Fling to Baby Bombshell

Full of fun and quirky characters, readers are sure to fall in love with this absolutely adorable romance from Blake (The Wedding Favor) that launches the “Billion-Dollar Bachelors” series.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?