Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Immortal King Rao

Highly recommended for readers of climate fiction, social engineering sf, and dystopian catastrophe novels.

Drunk on All Your Strange New Words

Fans of John Scalzi’s Lock In and Brandon Sanderson’s Legion will be enthralled with this deft blend of murder mystery and science fiction. In the end, the motives for the crime are all too human, while the means, methods, and opportunities are all firmly part of this futuristic setting. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A New Clan

The large cast of characters and multiple points of view might be off-putting to those who want to spend all their time with Stephanie and Climbs Quickly, but the story flows smoothly, the already remarkably established world holds wide appeal, and there is plenty of fast-paced drama and trauma. All fans of this crossover YA series will appreciate the ongoing bonds between the humans and treecats.

The Stardust Thief

An impressive first in an expected trilogy, one that hits high notes of several popular themes and trends (found families, classics retold), but offers fresh perspectives as well. It will delight readers who appreciate highly atmospheric books. Share widely, not just with fantasy readers.

The Assassins of Thasalon

The continuation of the adventures of Penric and Desdemona are given room in this story filled with all the adventure, humor, and action Bujold is known for. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The City Inside

Readers will empathize with Joey’s dilemma and get caught up in the minutiae of her life. The novel’s theme, that the truth does not and cannot set anyone free, is as disturbing as it is thought-provoking.
PREMIUM

Her Majesty’s Royal Coven

Readers who love a big fight between good and evil, who enjoy seeing magic in the everyday world, and those who like their heroine’s journeys to include all facets of heartbreak will savor the cut and thrust of this battle.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Redwinter

McDonald (“Raven’s Mark” trilogy) begins an immersive new fantasy series, good for fans of George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.
PREMIUM

The Knave of Secrets

This novel’s sleight-of-hand mix of gaming, thievery, secrets, and politics will remind readers fondly of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora, although Valen’s crew is not quite as loyal or memorable. Fans of politically inspired fantasy will love watching the game.
PREMIUM

The Book of Gothel

Readers who have enjoyed Gregory Maguire’s “Wicked Years” series will find McMyne’s perspective delightful.

Ordinary Monsters

This grim but poignant debut showcases a bleak Victorian England, engaging characters, and the desire to belong.
PREMIUM

For the Throne

This lush feminist world may draw inspiration from European fairy tales, but the magic, politics, and relationships are firmly rooted in adult reading. Fans of Naomi Novik and Alix Harrow will enjoy this duology.

January Fifteenth

Swirsky’s slice-of-life UBI stories present just a few possible effects of this hotly debated topic. Without either political rhetoric or exhortation, these brief glimpses of other lives give readers the chance to see what might be in a world with a social safety net. Highly recommended for readers of political and social science–oriented SF.

PREMIUM

Into the Real

Ringo (There Will Be Dragons) joins with Sherrer (“When the Gods Laughed” series) for this immersive, highly technical near-future sf; perfect for dedicated gamers or for fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One.
PREMIUM

In a Garden Burning Gold

Power (Wilder Girls) constructs a world of magical families with layered secrets.

Siren Queen

Luli is a compelling character both on and off the screen in this story that takes the mythmaking of Hollywood and transforms it and her into something transcendent. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Flint and Mirror

Readers searching for the high magic of epic fantasy may be disappointed, but those looking for small magics within a broad scope of history (in a similar vein to the work of Guy Gavriel Kay) will be enthralled by Crowley’s (“The Ægypt Cycle”) alchemy of uncanny magic, ancient science, and tragic history.
PREMIUM

These Prisoning Hills

A succinct but surprisingly intuitive character study. Fans of the movie Pacific Rim or Faith Hunter’s “Junkyard Cats” series will particularly enjoy.

When Women Were Dragons

Readers will be moved, discomforted, and inspired by Alex’s introspective voice and experiences.
PREMIUM

Time Troopers

There’s nothing hugely remarkable here, but fans of the classic time-travel trope will enjoy.

Light Years from Home

Chen’s novel is sure to please fans of literary fiction as well as staples of sci-fi TV like The X-Files and Fringe. A worthy addition to any contemporary science fiction audio collection.
PREMIUM

Trouble with the Cursed

“The Hollows” continues its solid supernatural storytelling, and fans will celebrate the return of its sarcastic witch-born demon.

The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories from Dirty Computer

Monáe’s collection speaks to both the sf tradition of mind-control tyranny and the way that the powerful marginalize individuals in order to control the whole. Highly recommended for readers of conspiracy and thought-control sf or of Afrofuturist works by the likes of Octavia Butler, Nalo Hopkinson, N. K. Jemisin, and Nnedi Okorafor.
PREMIUM

Abbott in Darkness

Starts slow but the suspense eventually ramps up with murder, ambush, treachery, and war.
PREMIUM

A Mirror Mended

Readers who love stories that twists narratives into knots will fall for Harrow’s fractured fairy tale where evil discovers the benefits that come of doing good.

Braking Day

This is a story of people who are their own worst enemies as groups fracture, danger ramps up, and options close in. It will appeal to fans of colony ship stories and coming-of-age tales.
PREMIUM

The Memory in the Blood

Van Loan’s conclusion to “The Fall of the Gods” trilogy is a fast-paced ride over high seas, through secret libraries and dark cathedrals, and into the heart of a volatile heroine.
PREMIUM

Rosebud

Cornell’s (Witches of Lychford) thought-experiment novella explores what it means to be human and asks age-old questions (What is down the road less taken? Is it better to be comfortable and complacent or to sacrifice one’s own happiness for the greater good?).

SF/Fantasy in Audio | 5 Titles To Try

Book of Night

Charlie Hall is every “bad luck and worse trouble” protagonist to ever magic her way into urban fantasy. She’s desperate, she’s profane, she’s fascinating, and she kicks ass and takes names with the best antiheroes of the genre. Her world is gritty and mysterious, the stakes are always high, and the power is always tempting.

PREMIUM

The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories: A Collection of Chinese Science Fiction and Fantasy in Translation from a Visionary Team of Female and Nonbinary Creators

An important anthology showcasing compelling voices and perspectives in science fiction and fantasy.

The Hourglass Throne

Edward’s third “Tarot Sequence” novel (after The Hanged Man) builds on an intriguing alternate Earth filled with magic and political intrigue. This urban fantasy series is immersive and entertaining.
PREMIUM

Cold as Hell

A weird Western starring a taciturn lone gunman who will remind readers of Andrzej Sapkowski’s Geralt of Rivia.
PREMIUM

Spelunking Through Hell: A Visitor’s Guide to the Underworld

McGuire’s characters are equal parts sass and sarcasm, set in an ever-expanding interdimensional world where Alice is on a journey highlighted by emotional chaos and roller-coaster pacing. Fans will be delighted by this “InCryptid” installation.

Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments

Everything rides on the shoulders of young Ropa in this post-apocalyptic, near-future Edinburgh where magic, science, and monarchy all hold equal sway. Ropa, at only 14, carries an adult’s burdens and responsibility with equal parts can-do spirit, stubborn energy, and kicking herself and her friends as necessary. This twisted Edinburgh tries its best to keep her down, but she never stops.

The Legacy of Molly Southbourne

The “Molly Southbourne Trilogy” ends in as much blood and heartbreak as it started. Themes of redemption and found family sliding the last puzzle pieces into place in this exciting and haunting series.

The Grief of Stones

The gentle Celehar continues to do his best to discover truths that few want revealed, while exploring his city, reflecting on his life and his world, and generally telling a delightful story that will satisfy readers of both fantasy and mystery.
PREMIUM

Caprice of Fate

Comic book/manga fans and listeners already used to audio dramas will probably enjoy, but Bennett’s novel is unlikely to appeal to anyone not already a fan of the format. An optional purchase to be considered on the basis of individual collection demographics.
PREMIUM

Where the Drowned Girls Go

Strong crossover appeal. Recommended for both fans and new listeners, particularly where interest in fantasy is high.
PREMIUM

The League of Set

A fun addition to any collection, and a good crossover choice, particularly where graphic novels are popular.
PREMIUM

How High We Go in the Dark

Although written in clean, no-frills prose, this listen still isn’t for the faint of heart. While it is likely to make a splash in awards circles, libraries without a dedicated, hardcore SFF readership can safely treat this title as an optional purchase.
PREMIUM

The Starless Crown

This rapid-fire fantasy is recommended for libraries with large, well-circulating SFF collections.

Read-Alikes for 'House of Sky and Breath' by Sarah J. Maas

Read-Alikes for ‘Abandoned in Death’ by J.D. Robb | LibraryReads

The Misfit Soldier

Highly recommended for readers of military sf who love stories where just as it seems the grunts are utterly FUBAR’d, they pull another half-baked plan out of the fire, screw the brass, and save the day.

Sweep of Stars

The first of this Afrofuturist trilogy takes off with an epic array of characters and plotlines that will enmesh readers in the politics and power struggles set across the stars.

The Circus Infinite

A three-ring extravaganza, combining a coming-of-age with Jes’s desperate race to save his new family from a corrupt mastermind. Readers will get caught up in Wong’s debut novel and find themselves wanting to run away to the circus with Jes. Highly recommended.

Wild and Wicked Things

May’s debut fantasy novel, a tale of secrets, lies, and mistakenly raising the dead, will keep readers guessing and turning pages to the very end. Highly recommended for lovers of dark, witchy fantasy, especially those seeking read-alikes of Alix Harrow’s The Once and Future Witches or Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane.
PREMIUM

Comeuppance Served Cold

Readers who love heist and caper stories will be thrilled with Dolly and her quest to deliver much-deserved comeuppance to those who believed they are above the law. The gas-lamp setting gives just the right touch of magic and creeping dread to Deeds’s novel.
PREMIUM

Heroic Hearts

A resoundingly successful collection of stories focused on heart, humor, and the strength of courage.

The Discord of Gods

Lyons wraps up “A Chorus of Dragons” by binding all the sprawling plotlines together in an incredibly satisfying epic fantasy adventure.

Sword and Shadow

Ideal for readers looking for stories of complex political maneuvering in fully realized fantasy worlds, with earth-shattering events told through complicated, sympathetic characters. This origin story for a well-loved character from the world of Elantra will get new readers up to speed while telling a story that long-time followers have been waiting for. Highly recommended.

Until the Last of Me

Balancing scientific details with character arcs and exciting action, Neuvel’s follow-up to A History of What Comes Next is an exciting science fiction thriller that will in turn inform and surprise readers.
PREMIUM

Goliath

Onyebuchi’s novel is a full sensory experience of language and imagery, set in a near-future world where race, class, and gentrification still drive conflict, both on Earth and in the stars.
PREMIUM

51

Recommended for readers of philosophically and psychologically bent sf.
PREMIUM

Outcasts of the Wildwood

Readers know and love the legend of Robin Hood, making this book (and Walk the Wild with Me, the first in Atwood’s series) a marvelous addition to the lore of the Greenwood. A real treat for readers looking for stories of wild places in the real world or who simply love Robin Hood in all his forms.

Nettle & Bone

Blending fairy-tale familiarity and common-sense characters, Kingfisher’s prose balances grim circumstances with humor and heart. Readers of Alix E. Harrow’s A Spindle Splintered and Melissa Albert’s “The Hazel Wood” series should pick this up immediately.

Seven Mercies

Lam and May’s follow-up to Seven Devils further explores the characters while keeping the action and emotional stakes high.

PREMIUM

Kundo Wakes Up

Readers searching for stories of artificial worlds and climate fiction will love Hossain’s latest.
PREMIUM

The Kaiju Preservation Society

Scalzi’s first stand-alone novel in several years is a wild ride filled with takes on pop culture, startups, governmental influence, and science.

Noor

This beautifully depicted example of Africanfuturism, a subgenre coined by Okorafor herself, offers both timely and timeless social commentary.
PREMIUM

A Marvellous Light

A perfect addition to round out any fantasy collection.

The Deep Man

In Mersault’s debut novel, his Galactic Imperium becomes amazingly real, and the plot is twisty enough to keep the reader turning pages. Highly recommended for epic science fiction fans.
PREMIUM

Library of the Sapphire Wind

Lindskold (Changer) has written a very cute, clever fantasy that is part hero’s journey and part coming-of-age. Readers who enjoy cozy mysteries and fantasies will enjoy this tale of friendship.

Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of 2021

PREMIUM

The Silver Bullets of Annie Oakley

Readers looking for fictionalized tales focusing on historical figures, historical-ish fiction featuring women with agency, and lovers of gaslamp fantasy will find that Annie’s silver bullets hit their mark.
PREMIUM

Sword & Planet

Space battles and sieges, aliens and feral gods, dragons and starships, warriors and underdogs, raiders and radiation: These tales expertly unite the standard tropes to create fun, action-packed, and fast-paced escapades. Fans of Ruocchio’s excellent epic series “The Sun Eater” will also appreciate the lengthier story that features Hadrian Marlowe. Every story is commendable for its unique intrigues, diverse settings, noteworthy characters, and the inventive use of swords in a sci-fi environment.
PREMIUM

Gunfight on Europa Station

The collection is great for those who want that sense of mystery, romance, and enterprise that is found in traditional Westerns; however, the work is made unique by cosmic settings and advanced technology. Fans of strong female characters, plucky innovators, and determined dreamers will enjoy these folkloric and sensational yarns.
PREMIUM

Sisters of the Forsaken Stars

Both the combined and individual storylines weave a solid braid of strength and vulnerability as Rather’s follow-up to Sisters of the Vast Black continues the path to a galaxy-wide revolution.
PREMIUM

Square3

Despite the rather abrupt ending, this is a fast-paced and entertaining novella that’s perfect for fans of cosmic horror.
PREMIUM

The Untold Story

Irene’s madcap adventures are played for the highest stakes in the epic conclusion to the long-running series plumbing myths, folklore, spies, and skullduggery.

PREMIUM

Discordia

Merbeth’s engrossing final book of the trilogy is filled with disaster, family moments, and high-stakes action.

Fevered Star

Roanhorse’s pre-Columbian-inspired Meridian is an amazingly complex world of magic, gods, and power plays. With exquisite details and characters on tremendous journeys, readers will be anticipating the next book as soon as they turn the last page.

Westside Lights

Highly recommended for readers who like their genres so bent that they flow into each other, where the fantasy is so dark it’s nearly horror and the mystery uncovers rot and magic in equal measure.

Azura Ghost

Nophek Gloss’s sequel brings back all of the incredible characters that revolve around a young man coming into his power. An exciting science fiction story that keeps readers guessing the true intentions of everyone.
PREMIUM

Crowbones

A compelling exploration of manipulative personalities, small town murders, and the lengths to which these fascinating and beloved characters will go in order to protect one of their own.

Mickey7

Ashton’s novel begins as farce and ends as something considerably deeper; as an Expendable, Mickey7 is able to ask what makes someone human or who has the right to destroy a place in order to occupy it. Highly recommended for readers of colonization SF.
PREMIUM

Servant Mage

The depth of the character creation and worldbuilding makes this story seem almost too big to be contained in a novella. Recommended for readers looking for stories that center on characters that get things done and know the worth of doing so.

SFF 2022 Preview | 89 Titles To Read, Know, and Share

Building SF Collections and Working With Readers | Q&A with Librarians Ben Cox and Scott Barbour

The “Green Bone Saga,” Martial Arts, and Authors Who Inspire | Q&A with Fonda Lee

PREMIUM

The Romanov Rescue

The story is often long-winded, with bursts of explosive action and political intrigue peppered in, and many characters lack development. However, this alternate history employs vibrant steampunk vibes and aptly captures the uncertainties of the tumultuous era, as well as the courageous desperation of the world-weary men and women involved. Fans of detailed and technical military fiction will enjoy this, as well as those who appreciate real historical figures as characters.

Light Years from Home

Chen’s strength in writing poignant character arcs, especially within family dynamics, shines here, as does his ability to craft intriguing blends of literary and speculative fiction with compelling, character-driven plots.
PREMIUM

Boundaries

Even occasional visitors to Valdemar or readers of Lackey’s recent foundation novel Beyond will enjoy the trip to this popular world.
PREMIUM

Battle of the Linguist Mages

The inventiveness and intensity of Moore’s storytelling perfectly blends Douglas Adams’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash. Readers who enjoy gaming will find the novel accessible and appealing.

Cyber Mage

Highly recommended for readers of cli-fi and those looking for a story that explores the virtual world.
PREMIUM

Innate Magic

This great first fantasy outing from Fay will be well received by adults and young adults who like V. E. Schwab and Leigh Bardugo.
PREMIUM

Swashbucklers

A fun romp, ideal for fans of the cultural references and humor of Ghostbusters and Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One.

The Bone Shard Emperor

Stewart expands the rich world of the Empire, where magic and political machinations are the keys to power.

Daughter of the Moon Goddess

An exquisitely detailed fantasy with a strong, vulnerable protagonist. The intimate prose makes Tan’s wonderful debut an immersive experience; share with fans of Shelley Parker-Chan and Katherine Arden.
PREMIUM

Tales from the Cafe

These tearful stories hit hard but ultimately lead to a beautiful ending. Fans of Matt Haig’s Midnight Library will enjoy this quick read with touches of magical realism and soul-searching.

Isolate

Readers will be caught up in Modesitt’s world, which is just close enough to reality to make the lessons feel real, and just fantastic enough to provide distance and interest. The gas lamp setting will draw in plenty of steampunk readers, while anyone who likes to delve into the way worlds work will be riveted.
PREMIUM

Elder Race

Recommended for lovers of portal fantasy, lost colony science fiction, and stories on the border between the two genres.
PREMIUM

Trinity

Fans of Jack Campbell’s “Lost Fleet” series will enjoy Bara’s latest.

Sistersong

Holland crafts a tale tied to folklore, history, and song, bringing rich detail and imagination to characters and setting. Give it to readers who have enjoyed Arthurian retellings or Madeline Miller’s Circe.
PREMIUM

Even Greater Mistakes

This fascinating, emotional collection is a welcome addition showcasing Anders’s range and prose.

Where the Drowned Girls Go

The message of owning one’s truth instead of losing one’s individuality will resonate. Highly recommended.

Far From the Light of Heaven

A clever, haunting read from Arthur C. Clarke–winner Thompson.

PREMIUM

Noor

Okorafor packs swift action and harsh emotions into this slim novella, showing her strengths once again as a speculative fiction writer.
PREMIUM

Brothers of the Wind

Recommended for fans of old-school epic fantasy and anyone who remembers Williams’s 1988 classic The Dragonbone Chair with fondness.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?