Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Breakable Things

Khaw’s critical acclaim and popularity are skyrocketing, and this collection showcases exactly why. It allows readers a chance to swim around in their unique brand of intensely unsettling tales, submerging themselves in a larger pool of their beautiful but horrific waters. For fans of the dark speculative stories by Angela Slatter, Nadia Bulkin, and Samanta Schweblin.
PREMIUM

Tell Me I’m Worthless

This debut is a fantastic and disorienting take on the haunted house trope, but it is also a compelling and emotional story about trauma, fascism, and the hard truth of living an openly trans life in the 21st century.
PREMIUM

Dark Matter Presents: Human Monsters

The theme of this anthology, coupled with the inclusion of some of horror’s hottest authors, will cast a wide net of interest. Library workers can also count on the table of contents for dozens of further reading suggestions, but it is the stunning cover that will be the MVP for library displays.

The Dismembered

Fans of the gothic will love how Janz uses well-worn tropes in more modern ways, while at the same time readers of 21st-century horror will gain a new appreciation for the genre’s roots. Suggest far and wide to anyone looking for a fast-paced, fun, and scary read, but especially to those who enjoyed The Hacienda, by Isabel Cañas, or the “Stoker’s Wilde” series, by Steven Hopstaken and Melissa Prusi.
PREMIUM

Wayward

This high demand sequel to one of the best and most terrifying books of 2019 will delight fans. Suggest both books to fans of epic, post-apocalyptic, socially conscious horror such as Joe Hill’s The Fireman, Chuck Hogan and Guillermo del Toro’s “The Strain Trilogy,” and Justin Cronin’s “The Passage Trilogy.”

They Were Here Before Us

LaRocca is selling his small press titles in larger press numbers, and this might be his best and most accessible work yet. It is a superior example of extreme horror, in the vein of the thought-provoking depravity of Agustina Bazterrica’s Tender Is the Flesh and Kathe Koja’s The Cipher.
PREMIUM

Where Black Stars Rise

This is an impressive graphic novel from Shammas (Squire) and Enger (Regression) that features life in the diaspora, an inclusive retelling, and a strong, cosmic horror tale. A great option for fans of T. Kingfisher’s modern updates of horror classics and the recent anthology Under Twin Suns: Alternate Histories of the Yellow Sign.
PREMIUM

When the Night Bells Ring

Seamlessly blending Western, ancient evil, and climate horror tropes, Kaplan (It Will Just Be Us) has created an immersive, chilling, and compelling tale that fans of Christina Henry and Camilla Sten will devour.
PREMIUM

Stephen King: A Complete Exploration of His Work, Life, and Influences

Best suited to libraries with strong horror collections.

Audiobook Horror Starred Reviews | Fareeda Ahmed, Kirby Heybourne, John Keating, Jennifer O'Donnell, Jonathan Todd Ross, Neil Shah, Jasmin Walker, and Rita Wolf Read The Season's Top Picks

PREMIUM

Gallows Hill

Coates (From Below) tells the kind of chilling haunted-house story that will keep gothic horror readers on the edge of their seats while hiding under their blankets right up to the shocking, terrible twist at the end.
PREMIUM

Motherthing

This debut adult novel from YA author Hogarth (The Boy Meets Girl Massacre) is recommended for horror readers who like to see all of everyone’s issues eviscerated on the table and who won’t mind never again being able to eat chicken à la king after the novel’s disturbing take on it.
PREMIUM

The Dark Between the Trees

Barnett’s debut is uniquely captivating as a series of ghost stories told within a time-jumping mystery. For fans of thrillers and gothic-meets-modern horror, recommend this to readers of Andrew Michael Hurley, Megan Shepherd, Sarah Waters, and EV Knight.
PREMIUM

Into the Forest: Tales of the Baba Yaga

Written by some of the most popular women in horror today, this is a one-of-a-kind anthology and sparkling jewel that will appeal to fans of fantasy, folklore, and feminist fiction.
PREMIUM

The Black Maybe: Liminal Stories

An excellent addition for libraries looking to expand their horror collection with gripping and innovative content.
PREMIUM

All Hallows

The setting and scope are reminiscent of Stranger Things, nearing the point of homage, so a library audience eagerly awaiting the next season will love it.
PREMIUM

It Rides a Pale Horse

Marino is very willing to plumb the depths of human discomfort and nihilistic despair, revealing disturbing images that sear into the brain while showing how art, and sibling bonds, can both create and destroy.
PREMIUM

Passersthrough

Recommended for fans of literary fiction/psychological horror blends like John Darnielle’s Universal Harvester.
PREMIUM

Just Like Mother

A good choice for fans of cult stories and horror about motherhood.

Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror

This is a collection to put on prominent display. A must-buy that will lure horror fans and horror newbies alike.
PREMIUM

The Fervor

Katsu keeps the plot and questions moving in this intriguingly complicated horror story that offers many parallels to anti-Asian racism and violence in the U.S.
PREMIUM

The Pallbearers Club

While the real horror lurks in the night, Tremblay (Survivor Song) has written a psychological thriller that explores the horrors of growing up, unhealthy friendships, and addiction.
PREMIUM

Friend of the Devil

Narrator Chris Ciulla delivers characters with skill and success, including the deadpan detective, the crabby librarian, and the steroid-obsessed football player. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Aurora

Although the audio production is uneven, fans of speculative science in the vein of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, or Andy Weir will be delighted.
PREMIUM

The Hacienda

The audio production of this stellar debut adds to the innate tension of the book and belongs in every public library collection.

The Ghost That Ate Us: The Tragic True Story of the Burger City Poltergeist

A must-add for horror collections. Fans of Grady Hendrix novels and We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry will love this new mockumentary-style novel.

White Horse

With tangible characters, insightful dialogue, and the horror and painful beauty of discovering one’s truth, Wurth’s debut is must-read horror with a big, bleeding heart.
PREMIUM

Sign Here

A light entry in the collection for the reader who misses when Christopher Moore wrote about vampires.

A Different Darkness and Other Abominations

Worthy of being mentioned alongside his horror contemporaries like Joe Hill, Stephen Graham Jones, and Paul Tremblay, Musolino is a writer whose stories are a dark journey through the shadowy Italian countryside, the depths of human despair, and the heights of imagination.
PREMIUM

Hidden Pictures

Rekulak’s (The Impossible Fortress) latest is both a mystery and a ghost story, with a strong central protagonist.
PREMIUM

Black Tide

Less a story about the apocalyptic end, this tale is character-driven survival horror that delves deep into the souls of some flawed heroes.
PREMIUM

Curse of the Reaper

This book is a must for fans of the slasher genre, but it also offers a sickle-sharp critique of the expendability of actors fed into the Hollywood machine.
PREMIUM

Malice House

Readers will love the mystery, mayhem, and terrifying look at make-believe, and the monsters that are dreamed into existence in the process. Recommend to fans of Darcy Coates’s The Haunting of Leigh Harker and EV Knight’s Children of Demeter.

Such Sharp Teeth

Any library looking to acquire a gut punch of a horror novel that will appeal to a broad audience would do well to add this to their collection. It will also appeal to fans of Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones and Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado.
PREMIUM

Lute

Fans of gloomy British horror will adore Thorne’s novel, with its references to the Shining Ones and other fae creatures. Recommend to fans of Catriona Ward, Sarah Pinborough, and Kristin Cashore.
PREMIUM

Dark Observation

With well-researched forays into the World War II era, Cavendish’s latest will appeal strongly to readers who like detective stories set in the past as well as horror fans.
PREMIUM

Full Immersion

Readers of Amor’s latest are in for a creepy, unsettling narrative, with strong shades of Sarah Pinborough. Recommend to those who enjoy films like Inception and Memento.

Fear Is Always In Season | Horror Preview 2022

Don’t Fear the Reaper

Adrenaline-filled with plenty of shocking moments, the latest from master of horror Jones is an intense, highly entertaining, and deeply personal novel.
PREMIUM

Ghost Eaters

With similarities to the horror movies Flatliners and Bodies Bodies Bodies, minus the humor, Chapman’s story comes to a head as readers begin to understand that Ghost has so much more of a morbid meaning in this enthralling addiction horror tale.
PREMIUM

The Hollow Kind

Davidson (The Boatman’s Daughter) crafts an intricate supernatural story about a family’s history that will leave readers shaken. However, they will have to wade through the novel’s extreme level of detail to reach the conclusion.

LJ Talks to Horror Writer Gabino Iglesias, Author of ‘The Devil Takes You Home’

PREMIUM

Daphne

A thought provoking and honest conversation about anxiety wrapped around a Freddy Krueger-esque slasher. For fans of cursed small towns like in Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s Hex, or other fresh takes on the teen slasher like Jessica Guess’s Cirque Berserk.
PREMIUM

Fantasy Kit

A strong collection by an important voice in the genre. It will appeal to fans of the haunted flash fiction collection The Ghost Variations by Kevin Brockmeier and the breadth of scares in the anthology Tiny Nightmares, edited by Lincoln Michel and Nadxieli Nieto.

The Devil Takes You Home

The violence is brutal and graphic, but the story is also lyrical and staggeringly beautiful. It is an entertaining and thought-provoking book about human truths and the monsters at their core. Suggest to fans of S. A. Cosby and Stephen Graham Jones, who also write stories told by marginalized, sympathetic, and complicated characters in which every detail matters.
PREMIUM

No Gods For Drowning

Piper, a rising star in horror, is announcing her intentions to break through onto a larger stage with this confident and compelling tale that is as fun as it is thought-provoking. Suggest it widely.

Horror in Audio | 9 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

All the White Spaces

Scott Turner Schofield’s narration is very well done, and Wilkes (Where Things Fall from the Dark) thoughtfully examines grief, PTSD, and isolation, but the novel’s slow pace, large number of characters, and detailed information about the ship and the journey make this a better choice for listeners who enjoy historical novels with supernatural elements than for horror fans.
PREMIUM

What Moves the Dead

Retold Gothic classics and fungus-themed horror are both having a moment, and Kingfisher’s well-paced, immersive novella will satisfy those seeking read-alikes for Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic. Also suggest Moreno-Garcia and Orrin Grey’s excellent anthology Fungi and the nature field horror of Jeff VanderMeer.

The Hideous Book of Hidden Horrors

This first book from award-winning horror editor Murano’s new independent imprint will leave satisfied readers seeking out more from these authors.

Anybody Home?

With a last line that fully implicates readers in the extreme horror they just saw, this is a story that will leave audiences terrorized and broken but also surprisingly grateful for the unique experience, much like Paul Tremblay’s critically acclaimed Cabin at the End of the World and Eric LaRocca’s Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke.
PREMIUM

Reluctant Immortals

Kiste’s (Boneset & Feathers) first book from a major publishing house brings her award-winning, feminism-fueled horror to more readers. Those eager for new Dracula- or Jane Eyre–framed stories will eagerly request, but do not pigeon-hole the appeal, as fans of titles such as Tananarive Due’s “Immortals” series or Kristi DeMeester’s Such a Pretty Smile will also be pleased.
PREMIUM

Dead Silence

Suggest widely to fans of haunted house stories and space horror.
PREMIUM

Gwendy’s Final Task

The final part of this trilogy wraps up the intriguing character arc of Gwendy, a character brought to life by Chizmar’s and King’s words, as well as the voice talents of Marin Ireland. Fans of King’s “Dark Tower” series will recognize the occasional nods to the mythos, but readers who have never read the books will still be drawn into this story, where the tension comes from Gwendy trying to stay ahead of those after the box and her own deteriorating condition.
PREMIUM

The Resting Place

For fans of the author and Scandinavian thrillers.
PREMIUM

Beneath the Stairs

Fawcett’s debut novel is a haunted house story that spans generations but is anchored by its main protagonist Clare, who is thoughtful, caring, and easily relatable. Perfectly portrayed by narrator Carolina Hoyos, she’s a truly empathetic protagonist who is trying to discover what went wrong in her life as well as Abby’s and who thinks the answers might lie within the Octagon House.
PREMIUM

The Children on the Hill

Will appeal to listeners seeking a spine-tingling blend of psychological suspense and horror; recommended for fans of Jennifer Fawcett, Catriona Ward, and Josh Malerman.
PREMIUM

Sundial

A masterful example of suspense; audiences will love their trip to Sundial, even as the sands shift constantly beneath their feet.
PREMIUM

A Black and Endless Sky

This has some truly disturbing elements of possession and cosmic horror, but the real darkness here has more terrestrial origins.
PREMIUM

Echo

There is enough body horror to turn away the faint of heart, but it’s all worth the shocking yet touching ending.

Howls from the Dark Ages: An Anthology of Medieval Horror

With an overarching theme of a quaint museum visit and an introduction by medieval horror writer Christopher Buehlman, this is a delightfully terrifying trip through history.
PREMIUM

They Drown Our Daughters

The novel takes a while to untangle the mystery, but its themes of familial bonds and generational curses, along with its overall spooky atmosphere, should keep readers hooked until the end.

‘Orphans of Bliss’ and the Final Fix of Addiction Horror

PREMIUM

Leech

Foster’s (Dead Men) chain of stories reads a bit like watching a series of daily movie rushes with no inkling of what the script is about. Fans of speculative fiction mashed up with horror will eat this up, though enthusiasts of more conventional horror might give it a pass.
PREMIUM

Screams from the Dark: 29 Tales of Monsters and the Monstrous

This epic volume, with its impressive table of contents, will satisfy the hordes of readers looking for new takes on the monster trope. It pairs nicely with the Bram Stoker–nominated collection Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities, and Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey.

Wasps in the Ice Cream

This coming-of-age horror relies less on supernatural terror than combustible human elements, but features sympathetic characters and sharp plotting. Highly recommended.

Orphans of Bliss: Tales of Addiction Horror

A visceral depiction of the havoc, pain, and anguish of addiction, this triumphant conclusion to Matthews’s trilogy is essential for all collections. Anyone who has even been even tangentially touched by the monster of addiction will need access to these groundbreaking volumes and the lifeline they just may provide to the hopeless.
PREMIUM

Under Her Skin: A Women in Horror Poetry Collection, Vol. 1

Poetry is an excellent format for probing the dark emotions that define horror, and this anthology, and its evocative cover, will entice readers to engage with dozens of fierce and chilling voices. Just be prepared to add more horror poetry and new authors to your collections as a result.
PREMIUM

Hide

This mashup of The Breakfast Club and The Hunger Games may appeal to young teens, but it’s not recommended for adult horror readers.

Helpmeet

A reading experience that will linger long after the final page is turned.
PREMIUM

Hidden Pictures

This work offers plenty of commentary about the superficiality and priorities of upper middle-class America, but a more focused novel would have been more compelling.
PREMIUM

Friend of the Devil

While it would be easy to underestimate this novel as a Riverdale or Stranger Things knockoff, especially since Lloyd is an award-winning TV writer and producer (Modern Family; How I Met Your Mother), the story is definitely more adult, as if Jack Reacher were called to the creepy school in Sarah Read’s The Bone Weaver’s Orchard.
PREMIUM

Black Tide

Excellent writing, a consuming plot, and relatable characters make this an easy recommendation for library collection where sf/horror circulates well.
PREMIUM

From Below

Highly recommended for readers who enjoyed Caitlin Starling’s The Luminous Dead or other survival horror.
PREMIUM

And Then I Woke Up

This unique take on classic horror stories will have wide appeal.
PREMIUM

The Hacienda

For fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic; but also V. Castro’s focus on colonialism, menacing old-world forces, sexism, class struggle, and vengeance; and Alma Katsu’s mastery of historical horror.
PREMIUM

Below

Highly recommended.

We Can Never Leave This Place

The hype surrounding LaRocca is real. He is quickly emerging as one of the best authors at articulating the emotions of horror: feelings of disgust, unease, but also wonder that physically pulsate through readers’ bodies as they interact with his creations. Similar to the storytelling style and reading experience of the extraordinary work of Helen Oyeyemi and Samanta Schweblin or Naben Ruthnum’s Helpmeet.
PREMIUM

Just Like Mother

An excellent suggestion for fans of cult stories or intense horror-thriller hybrids such as those by Sarah Pinborough.

Horror in Audio | 3 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

The Beetle

Fans of gothic novels and 19th-century horror shouldn’t miss this excellent production.
PREMIUM

Such a Pretty Smile

Recommended for public library horror collections.

Q&A with Award-Winning Horror Novelist Alma Katsu

PREMIUM

A Touch of Jen

An optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Pearl

Buy it. Possibly Malerman’s best.

PREMIUM

The Doloriad

While not for everyone, this odd, deeply unsettling story will have readers vacillating between overwhelming disgust and an inability to stop thinking about what it all means. Fans of critically acclaimed macabre tales (like Rachel Eve Moulton’s Tinfoil Butterfly and Maryse Meijer’s The Seventh Mansion) will find a kindred spirit here.

The Fervor

Katsu has no peer when it comes to atmospheric, detail-rich historical horror, but this volume is more unsettling than anything she’s written yet, because its demons attack readers uncomfortably close to home. A must-read for all, not just genre fans. Those seeking more Asian-influenced horror might try the anthology Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women.

Manhunt

This novel confidently plants a flag declaring its place among the greatest band-of-survivor zombie tales, right beside thought-provoking, action-packed classics such as The Rising, by Brian Keene, Zone One, by Colson Whitehead, and Mira Grant’s “Newsflesh” series.

PREMIUM

Dead Silence

The Titanic and Sixth Sense vibes will pique interest, but it’s the engaging, traumatized narrator Kovalik whom readers will root for, even when they don’t always trust her, and who will keep them turning the pages. For fans of both space horror like The Luminous Dead, by Caitlin Starling, or Hematophages, by Stephen Koziniewski, and ghost stories linked to family trauma like The Good House, by Tananarive Due.

PREMIUM

Tripping Arcadia

A 21st-century Gothic with a fascinating botanical frame and an escalating sense of dread that will be savored by fans of Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Now You’re One of Us, by Asa Nonami, and Creatures of Will and Temper, by Molly Tanzer.

PREMIUM

The Lake of the Dead

Some of the views on women are outdated but they’re directly addressed in this edition’s excellent introduction, leaving room for this title to appeal to a huge swath of readers, from fans of Yrsa Sigurðardóttir’s mysteries, to those who like Cynthia Pelayo’s and Simone St. James’s atmospheric horror-mystery hybrids.

Roost

Utterly original, bubbling over with unease, featuring a shocking twist that breathes new life into a popular horror trope, this novel is, quite simply, breathtaking. For readers who enjoyed Slade House, by David Mitchell, The Rust Maidens, by Gwendolyn Kiste, or Fledgling, by Octavia Butler.

PREMIUM

Mestiza Blood

This collection provides an excellent introduction to Castro’s style of unflinchingly raw, unapologetically sexy, unsettlingly realistic supernatural horror; it’s a solid volume of terrifying, thought-provoking, and fun tales. Readers seeking similar should check out the work of Gabino Iglesias and Cynthia Pelayo.

Spontaneous Human Combustion

Fans of science fiction, horror, and dark fiction will relish immersing themselves in this collection for all its grit, lyricism, and unquestionable profundity.
PREMIUM

Sundial

On its own merits this would be an optional purchase, but since fans of the excellent Needless Street will drive demand, libraries should have it on the shelves.
PREMIUM

Lamella

An excellent addition to any library looking to acquire intriguing horror material with broad appeal. Recommend to fans of For Mike, by Shelley Sykes, or The Changeling, by Victor LaValle.

Best Horror of 2021

PREMIUM

A Black and Endless Sky

An uncomfortable sibling reunion quickly turns from bickering over the past to attempting to survive the present in this white-knuckle horror-thriller that readers won’t be able to put down.

Body Horror: Squirmy Scares | Reader’s Shelf

The Death of Jane Lawrence

Starling’s (The Luminous Dead) gothic horror is an immersive delight that will be adored by fans of alternate histories, the film Crimson Peak, ghost stories, magical experiments gone wrong, and stories about women becoming aware of their own power.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?