Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Deadly Weed

Harrison’s 10th “Reverend Mother” mystery (following Murder in the Cathedral) is repetitive, and the details about Sir Walter Raleigh, tobacco, and Ireland tend to overshadow the mystery, making it almost secondary. Will appeal only to readers of the long-running series or historical-mystery buffs.
PREMIUM

Symphony of Secrets

Slocumb’s second novel (following The Violin Conspiracy) is an improbable but fun mystery that will attract fans of Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code (a lot of readers, in other words).

The Rescue

For lovers of quality crime fiction; Parker (Then She Vanished) never disappoints.
PREMIUM

Scorched Grace

The first book from suspense novelist Gillian Flynn’s imprint at Zando. Sister Holiday’s violent, sexually provocative past life and her current language and behavior might be too outrageous for some readers, but the series has already been acquired for a prestige-television adaptation.

Before She Finds Me

Fans of suburban thrillers or of Lisa Unger and Alex Finlay will want to read this one.
PREMIUM

Just One More

This is Lyon’s first foray into suspense, after writing mostly romance and women’s fiction (most recently contributing to The Inns of Devonshire). Consider this for purchase where the LDS community is strong, as Lyon has an audience there.
PREMIUM

Standing Dead

Readers who have followed the story of Mattie’s family through Mizushima’s other “Timber Creek K-9” mysteries will enjoy this fast-paced, relentlessly tense installment.

The Poisoner’s Ring

Armstrong’s intriguing and atmospheric time-travel mystery will appeal to readers who enjoy historical detail.

How I’ll Kill You

Not for the squeamish, but fans of Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister the Serial Killer or of Patricia Highsmith’s Ripley novels will be equally ensnared in DeStefano’s assured literary clutches.
PREMIUM

The Last Kingdom

Berry is like a fine-tuned machine, melding historical fact and authentic locales within a complex fictional storyline. History enthusiasts will relish the intricate research behind the spy-versus-spy thriller, which challenges readers to consider historical what-ifs.

The White Lady

The award-winning author of the Maisie Dobbs series skillfully juggles three timelines in a riveting stand-alone about a woman whose wartime experiences overshadow her post-war retirement.
PREMIUM

Bert and Mamie Take a Cruise

Suggest for fans of pre-war mysteries or Agatha Christie.
PREMIUM

A Tempest at Sea

Who doesn’t enjoy a murder mystery at sea? While this seventh “Lady Sherlock” mystery (after Miss Moriarty, I Presume) does not advance the larger series plot in any way, it is still an amusing look at characters fans have grown to love. Readers of authors such as Deanna Raybourn should give these novels a try. While this could work as a stand-alone, best to start with book one to fully appreciate the skillful character development.

Murder at an Irish Bakery

Siobhan and her Garda husband Macdara Flannery add humor and zest to this follow-up to Murder on an Irish Farm. Fans of competitive baking shows or Amy Patricia Meade’s cozy mysteries will enjoy it.

Wined and Died in New Orleans

Byron, author of the award-winning “Cajun Country” mysteries, combines setting, vintage cookbooks, recipes, and family drama in another delectable cozy.

All That Is Mine I Carry with Me

Fans of Megan Goldin and Hank Phillippi Ryan and those who like open endings, complex plots, stories about family dynamics, and convoluted whodunits will devour this novel.
PREMIUM

Chalice of Darkness

The author of the Phineas Fox mysteries launches a series featuring a family of thieves, beginning with this dramatic gothic mystery.
PREMIUM

Damage

Next to the often-contrived twists and revelations of today’s psychological suspense, Hart’s spare tale of all-consuming obsession is refreshingly straightforward. Louis Malle directed a 1992 film adaptation of the same name; a limited series for Netflix is currently underway, so anticipate demand.
PREMIUM

Judas 62

Cumming’s latest, combining the best of old-fashioned Cold War intrigue with realistic situations and modern technology, will be a hit with spy-novel fans. Listeners will be eager for the next installment in this top-notch series.
PREMIUM

The Big Dark Sky

A non-essential purchase for most libraries, but Koontz fans may enjoy.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Cabinet of Dr. Leng’ by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child | LibraryReads

Every Man a King

Mosley demonstrates once again why he is a master of the craft, weaving a searing look at the concepts of race and social justice into a page-turning crime novel. A complex, compelling protagonist and eclectic supporting cast deepen the pleasure of the read.
PREMIUM

Broken Summer

Mystery and suspense fans will be enthralled by this complex and gorgeously written tale, but readers of family drama and general fiction will also find much to love.
PREMIUM

The Registration

Though listeners may be hooked by the interesting plot, the unappealing narration disappoints. An optional purchase for most libraries.

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers

A mystery with warmth, humor, and many descriptions of delicious teas and foods. Recommended for fans of Sutanto and of character-driven cozy mysteries.
PREMIUM

Before I Sleep

Harrod-Eagles follows Dying Fall with another delightful mystery for fans of unconventional police teams, witty dialogue, and excellent procedurals.
PREMIUM

Courting Dragons

For readers who enjoy accurate, in-depth historical details in a mystery.
PREMIUM

Of Manners and Murder

There are a few twists in this entertaining historical mystery, the start of a new series by the multi-pseudonymous Hastings (author of Murder of a Mail-Order Bride under the name Mimi Granger). A good accompaniment will be Mary Winters’s “Lady Agony” mystery Murder in Postscript (a March 2023 debut).

Downfall

Part psychological thriller and part police procedural, this novel reads like a TV series worth recording so as not to miss an episode.

Age of Vice

Impossible to put down; Kapoor is the real thing.

The House Guest

The second half of Ryan’s binge-worthy novel takes readers on a ride with a satisfying end. Seasoned suspense readers may find it predictable, but fans of domestic thrillers will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Invitation to a Killer

In this sequel to Augusta Hawke, Augusta is further developed and comes into her own as an investigator, though it could have used more scenes with her friend Misaki Jones and with Detective Steve Narduzzi. For Malliet fans.

PREMIUM

Of Mushrooms and Matrimony

Those who read Krista Davis’s “Domestic Diva” mysteries for the close-knit cast will enjoy the supportive group of friends in Meade’s charming follow-up to From Ladle to Grave.
PREMIUM

Collateral Damage

Jance’s 17th Ali Reynolds title (following Unfinished Business) is a fast-paced thriller. It combines a police procedural with robotic research in a tale of vigilante vengeance on overdrive.
PREMIUM

Encore in Death

The latest in the Eve Dallas series (after Desperation in Death) includes Roarke and other beloved characters and won’t disappoint its myriad of fans. The celebrity culture of fanaticism and stalkers is handled beautifully in this solid, skillfully written procedural.

Small Mercies

After almost six years since his last novel, Since We Fell, Lehane’s (Mystic River; Shutter Island) latest is inspired by a childhood experience when his family was caught up in the violence of the anti-busing riots. Pair this powerful, unforgettable story with S.A. Cosby’s Razorblade Tears, another remarkable novel about racism, violence, and parental vengeance.

Cold People

A speculative masterpiece that will resonate with fans of Emily St. John Mandel, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Jeff VanderMeer.
PREMIUM

The Panacea Project

A gripping medical thriller that may feel all too real in in an age when politics influence medical research and debate rages over vaccines and women’s right to control their own bodies.
PREMIUM

Last Seen in Lapaz

Since book one, The Missing American, Emma’s character development has progressed to create a more dimensional heroine worth rooting for. Good for fans of African fiction and crime fiction.
PREMIUM

Deaf Row

Though hampered by some redundant humor and unexplored plot points, this is a solid mystery that will keep readers rooting for Bell and his band of retirees as they investigate a series of murders. For fans of Craig Johnson, C.J. Box, and Meg Gardiner.
PREMIUM

Bones Under the Ice

A new series perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and Craig Johnson or anyone who likes small-town settings, small-town secrets, and lots of characters.

Play the Fool

The charming and eccentric Katie will captivate readers with her wry sense of humor and self-deprecating asides. With a delicious blend of suspense and madcap humor, Chern’s standout debut is guaranteed to delight fans of Lisa Lutz, Alan Bradley, and readers who enjoy witty, fast-paced mysteries.
PREMIUM

Killing Me

Veteran novelist Gagnon (The Tunnels) offers up a fun, quirky thriller with a flawed yet likable main character surrounded by a wacky supporting cast. For readers who enjoy a bit of dark humor, like in Jeff Lindsay’s “Dexter” series.

An American in Scotland

Connelly writes an atmospheric, character-driven debut that’s amusing at times, with a quirky, spirited cast. It has a strong sense of place that should appeal to fans of Carlene O’Connor’s Irish mysteries.

Best Crime Fiction of 2022

PREMIUM

The Maltese Iguana

There’s an audience for Dorsey’s 26 Serge A. Storms novels, but this one is only for series fans. Coleman and the seniors are high throughout the book, and the combination of Honduras, bunnies, fake militia, and the CIA turn the story into a disorganized caper.
PREMIUM

The Cabinet of Dr. Leng

This dual timeline tale will appeal to fans of police procedurals, historicals, and magical realism, and those intrigued by quantum mechanics. But beware the dreaded words “to be continued”
PREMIUM

Death in Irish Accents

With a whiny amateur sleuth, this fourth in a series will be of interest primarily where book three, Death of an Irish Mummy, was popular.
PREMIUM

The Kind Worth Saving

Psychological thriller fanatics will scramble to complete this satisfyingly twisty novel.
PREMIUM

A Wealth of Deception

Esden’s background in and extensive knowledge of antiques is evident in the follow-up to The Art of the Decoy. The complex story will appeal to fans of Jane K. Cleland’s “Josie Prescott Antiques” mysteries.

It’s One of Us

Ellison (Her Dark Lies) spotlights the issue of infertility, based on her own experiences, then adds betrayal, obsession, and familial ties that bind to create a tension-filled story with an intriguing theme. Readers will race through the pages to an end they didn’t see coming.

The Devil You Know

The series protagonist is a wonderfully complex and likable character, as are the supporting cast. Tracy’s ability to weave multiple plots into a satisfying story makes this a must-read for mystery lovers.

A Small Affair

Collins avoids the sophomore slump with her second novel, a big win that positions her as an up-and-coming author with more tech-savvy stories to tell.

A Sinister Revenge

The best-selling author of Killers of a Certain Age brings her trademark humor to this compelling historical mystery.
PREMIUM

Vinyl Resting Place

Will appeal to cozy mystery readers, fans of family-centered small-town mysteries, and music lovers.
PREMIUM

Off the Deep End

This is a well-done mystery with a plausible yet surprising ending.

Murder in Postscript

The atmosphere of Victorian London with its class differences are essential elements in this delightful character-driven historical mystery for fans of Katharine Schellman or Dianne Freeman.
PREMIUM

Three Can Keep a Secret

Readers who enjoy the library and community connections in Victoria Gilbert’s “Blue Ridge Library” mysteries will want to try this mystery that hints at future answers to the ongoing story line of the murder of Greer’s husband.
PREMIUM

Lost in Paris

The compelling story, filled with actual artists, models and writers, will appeal to readers who enjoy fact-based mysteries involving history, racism, and conditions in post-war Paris.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Jumps the Gun

The plot moves fast, with lots of action and moments where readers will wonder how a situation will end. This book is the third in a series and relies a lot on the events of previous books. Readers who love fast-paced, action-packed mysteries should pick this up.

A Killing of Innocents

Crombie is as skilled as Louise Penny or J.D. Robb in developing characters while entwining personal lives with riveting police investigations. With four years since A Bitter Feast, the previous book in the series, the author’s fans will be eager to catch up with her characters.
PREMIUM

Too Dead To Die: A Simon Cross Thriller

A thoroughly entertaining, loving riff on familiar pulp characters that raises compelling questions about their viability in a rapidly changing world.
PREMIUM

Super Spy

A tightly plotted, high-stakes masterwork about the terrible cost of life in the shadows.
PREMIUM

Shadow Sister

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an engaging psychological suspense that is thrilling and chilling, a mix of mystery, murder, and the macabre. Recommended for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Rachel Hawkins, and Catriona Ward.
PREMIUM

A Dreadful Splendor

The amount of supernatural involvement remains unclear to the very final moments of the book, making this an excellent listen both for mystery fans and gothic suspense lovers.
PREMIUM

Good Husbands

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a mildly suspenseful domestic drama with a narrative that is atmospheric, though not exhilarating. Recommended for fans of Greer Hendricks, B.A. Paris, and Shari Lapena.
PREMIUM

The Darkness of Others

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a simmering suspense that is low on thrills but still thought-provoking. Recommended for fans of Alice Feeney, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Miranda.
PREMIUM

Even the Darkest Night

An excellent choice for any literary crime fiction collection.

The Decagon House Murders

A sure bet for classic-mystery lovers, this well-narrated thriller (hopefully just the first of many Ayatsuji audiobooks to come) should also appeal to adult and YA horror fans.
PREMIUM

The Sleepless

Science fiction, social commentary, and mystery collide in this story, perfect for fans of Blake Crouch and Sarah Gailey. Manibo is an author to watch, and his debut is a must-add for all collections.
PREMIUM

The Lunar Housewife

A winner for readers of thriller fiction and those interested in a different sort of spy story.
PREMIUM

Girl, Forgotten

Listeners will be so invested in the characters and the story that they may not be able to turn this compelling book off. Fans of Michael Koryta and Christi Daugherty will be captivated.
PREMIUM

Hokuloa Road

This chilling listen is recommended for fans of Peter Heller’s The Guide or Abby Geni’s The Lightkeepers.

Dark Objects

Adeptly weaving in discussions of racism and income inequality, Toyne’s latest (hopefully the start of a new series) is essential for all mystery and suspense collections.
PREMIUM

The Sweet Goodbye

Readers of crime fiction will enjoy this book. A great next-read for fans of Paul Doiron, C.J. Box, and Nevada Barr.
PREMIUM

The Darkest Place

Recommended for Margolin fans and readers of courtroom dramas from authors such as John Grisham and Michael Connelly.
PREMIUM

The Retreat

Recommend to fans of the author or Lucy Foley.
PREMIUM

Rising Tiger

A winner for Scot Harvath fans, and engaging enough that new listeners may also enjoy following Scot’s dangerous and exciting exploits.

Upgrade

This action-packed thriller has elements of science fiction, but is also a lesson for the present day. Fans of science fiction, thrillers, and climate fiction will be captivated.
PREMIUM

The Disinvited Guest

While there are few surprises, fans of Agatha Christie, Ruth Ware, and Lucy Foley will enjoy this thriller, complete with the tropes of people stranded on a haunted island. For those who have lived through the COVID pandemic, the horror may not be the ghosts of the island but thoughts of recurring pandemics and lockdowns.
PREMIUM

Because I Could Not Stop for Death

This audio will appeal to fans seeking strong female leads in a sedate historical mystery that is enjoyable, but not enthralling. Recommended for fans of Jeanne M. Dams, Ellery Adams, and Krista Davis.
PREMIUM

Cold, Cold Bones

With nonstop action, intricate forensic details, and top-notch suspense, it’s no wonder that readers keep returning to Reichs’s popular series. A winner for public library collections.
PREMIUM

Death at the Savoy

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a swinging ’60s historical mystery full of murder and mischief. Recommended for fans of Nicola Upson, Vicki Delany, and Shelley Noble.

PREMIUM

Babysitter

Fans of the author and of twisted suspense will not be able to stop listening to this tense and horrifying mystery.
PREMIUM

The Last To Vanish

Listeners will be captivated by Miranda’s (Such a Quiet Place) latest, made all the more compelling by Allwine’s skillful and sympathetic characterization of Abby. Highly recommended for fans of cold-case mysteries and atmospheric psychological thrillers.
PREMIUM

Dark Music

While the ending is a bit anti-climactic, fans of the “Millennium” series will be anxious for more of this promising series.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Neighborhood

Boosted by excellent performances, this well-constructed, twisty thriller should please mystery fans.
PREMIUM

The Lost Kings

A gorgeously narrated story of being lost and not wanting to be found, and so, lost again.
PREMIUM

Three Assassins

While not for everyone, fans of Isaka’s hallucinatory style will enjoy another foray into the assassins’ world and hope for more volumes to be translated.
PREMIUM

Local Gone Missing

Barton has a following, and libraries will want to add this to their collection to appease British mystery fans.
PREMIUM

Where Secrets Live

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an intricately plotted suspense full of family secrets and scandal; just when you think it’s safe to trust someone, think again. Recommended for fans of Joy Fielding, Jillian Medoff, and Tarryn Fisher.
PREMIUM

The 6:20 Man

Fast-paced and complex, Baldacci’s latest is sure to please his many fans. Recommended for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

Fairy Tale

Patrons will be clamoring for this one. Public libraries should purchase multiple copies.
PREMIUM

A Gracious Neighbor

Loneliness, assumptions, and social aspirations drive Martha to make shocking choices in this riveting tale, set in an affluent Houston suburb. A perfect next-listen for fans of Liane Moriarty and Lauren Weisberger.
PREMIUM

Blackmail and Bibingka

A solid entry to an own-voices series that every library should own.
PREMIUM

Jackal

Adams’s debut brims over with both supernatural and real-world terrors. A complex and strikingly told story that will appeal to fans of Jordan Peele, Octavia E. Butler, and Victor LaValle.
PREMIUM

The Dead Won’t Tell

Listeners will be captivated by Abbie’s investigation, which reveals the layers of this murder and its impact on the members of a close-knit town. Waters’s compelling debut will be an easy sell not only to mystery readers but also to fans of history and true crime.
PREMIUM

Ghost 19

St. James has said in interviews that her career began when she couldn’t find the sort of books she wanted to read and realized that she would have to write them herself. Now, she’s writing books that we all want to read.
PREMIUM

The Finalists

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking intricately plotted locked-room suspense with a diverse cast of characters, none of whom seem entirely trustworthy. Recommended for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Peter Swanson, and Heather Gudenkauf.
PREMIUM

The Housekeeper

This audio will appeal to listeners looking for an intricately plotted psychological suspense where nothing is as it seems and betrayal abounds. Recommended for fans of Lisa Scottoline, Tarryn Fisher, and David Bell.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?